Subject Specialist Librarian
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies
Best Bets (Databases)
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) is the largest and most comprehensive database covering current scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore. MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) corresponds to the printed annual bibliography of the Modern Language Association.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU has perpetual access to the Arts and Sciences I-XV, Hebrew Journals and Sustainability Collections.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowA searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
- Hispanic American periodicals index This link opens in a new windowHispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) includes information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Topics include: current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, from: articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowOver 36 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic and minority presses in the United States
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowLINGUISTICS AND LANGUAGE BEHAVIOR ABSTRACTS, LLBA (online) provides selective access to the world's literature on language and language behavior. Corresponds to the printed index of the same name.
Special Topics (Databases)
- Latino American Experience. This link opens in a new windowWide-ranging and easy to use, LAE is the first full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Coverage is identical to the expanded edition of the CD-ROM version.
- Hathi TrustCreated by a consortium of research libraries, this digital repository includes alot of public domain archival material. Many of the links lead to publicly accessible full-text, and digitized content searching to the University of Michigan's contributions is very powerful, with full-text only an hour's drive or an interlibrary loan request away.
- Country Studies (Library of Congress, Washington DC)Historical, social, economic, and political analyses of individual countries.
What's an "Academic" Article?
Most databases have a box to check if you want only "Academic" or "Peer-Reviewed" articles. Sometimes you have to decide whether an article fits your Professor's requirements for academic articles. The resources below can help you decide.
- Popular, Trade, or Scholarly? [Handout]A guide to the differences in audience, content and purpose of Popular, Trade and Scholarly publications.
How to Write an Abstract
Although this page from Purdue's OWL is entitled "Writing Report Abstracts," it works just as well for papers:
WSU's College of Liberal Arts and Sciences also has an excellent page on writing Abstracts for students who submit their work to be showcased at the annual Rushton Undergraduate Conference:
MLA Style Tools
- Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style GuideThis resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
- MLA Reference Examples HandoutFrom the Wayne State University Libraries. May be printed and downloaded.
- Citation Style ChartA handy side-by-side comparison of APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
- The Writer's Handbook: MLA Documentation GuideThe University of Wisconsin - Madison provides a quick resource for citing references in papers using the style outlined by the 2009 MLA Handbook.
- Research and Documentation Online: HumanitiesAn online resource for using MLA style.
- Citing Primary Sources: MLALibrary of Congress instructions for and examples of citations of primary source materials: Web Sites, Cartoons, Maps, Photographs, Films, and more.
Special Resources
Short Story Criticism by Call Number: Detroit Public Library, Music, Arts & Literature Reference Call No. 809.31 S559Publication Date: 1988 - presentIntroductory essays are written and entries compiled by professional literature researchers and other subject-matter experts. Each entry includes a set of previously published reviews, essays and other critical responses from sources that include scholarly books and journals, literary magazines, interviews, letters and diaries, carefully selected to create a representative history and cross-section of critical responses.