Subject Librarian
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
About the TED7000 Library Guide
This library guide will introduce the library resources and services you should use to locate peer-reviewed scholarly and practitioner articles for your Master's Project.
To begin, watch the re:Search videos
You need to complete the six online lessons in re:Search, a set of 6 introductory lessons to library research.
Click this link to access the re:Search Online Library Lessons
Instructional Modules
This guide is designed to step you through an introduction to library resources and services that will support your research for TED7000.
For the optimum learning experience, please go through the modules in the order presented below.
Module 1: Research Resources in Your Content Area
Explore this Education Research Guide for your content area (Science, Mathematics, Reading, Social Studies, etc.) by selecting the content area on the left navigation bar of this page.
The guide provides access to library databases that have books, articles databases and websites related to the content area.
Module 2: Citation and Writing Resources
- Video Presentation: Basics of APA StyleWatch this linked video Basics of APA Style for an introduction to APA Style, including how to format your manuscript, insert in-text citations and build your list of references.
Additional Resources
Following are more resources to help you with writing your papers and citing your sources.
- Library Guide: How to Cite References Using APA StyleThe library maintains a helpful guide that provides examples of many types of APA citations, links to APA resources, such as the tutorial you watched above, and other helpful sites. This library guide is also linked on the Instructional Technology Research Guide.
- Need Help With Writing, Research or Technology?The Wayne State WRT Zone (Writing, Research and Technology) is located in the Adamany Undergraduate Library, and can help you with editing, proofreading and more, both in-person and online. By appointment only.
Module 3: Types of Information Sources and Identifying Empirical Research
- Popular, Trade, or Scholarly? [Handout]A guide to the differences in audience, content and purpose of Popular, Trade and Scholarly publications. In the field of Education, Trade publications are also referred to as "Practitioner" journals.
What is Peer Review?
Peer review is a process designed to assess the validity, quality and often the originality of articles for publication. Its ultimate purpose is to maintain the integrity research publications and mitigate bias. Authors of articles published in peer reviewed journals are not compensated for their writing. Peer reviewed publications are the way scholars "talk" to one another.
Watch the video below for a brief explanation of the peer review process.
What is Empirical Research?
Empirical research is research based on observed and measured phenomena. Using empirical research articles as sources for your papers strengthens your arguments. Additionally, you may have assignments that require the use of empirical research articles from scholarly journals.
Review the following Powerpoint presentation on the components of an empirical research article.
Locating Empirical Research Articles
- Locating Empirical Research Articles [Handout]This handout explains how to locate empirical research articles in several library databases, including PsycINFO and ERIC.
Module 4: Beginning Your Research
There are strategies you can employ that will help make your research efficient and effective.
Watch the following video for an explanation of one way to develop an efficient search strategy for your research topic.
- Search Strategy WorksheetYou can download a copy of the Search Strategy Worksheet used in the video, which will help you identify the main concepts in your topic, develop alternate terms, and develop a keyword search.
Module 5: Searching Library Databases
Once you have identified your search terms using a search strategy development process like the search strategy worksheet in Module 4, you can employ Connector (Boolean) search strategies to increase the precision of your search in information discovery tools such as library databases and Google Scholar.
Watch the following video for an explanation of Connector (Boolean) searching.
Before you begin exploring ERIC, watch the following video to understand how to use the 360 link to full-text button to access or order full-text when it is not immediately available in your ERIC search results.
Using the ERIC Database
ERIC stands for Educational Resources Information Center. It is a database sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the US Department of Education. It provides a comprehensive database to education research and information, including articles published in scholarly journals. Searching ERIC through a library database platform like ProQuest provides access to Wayne State University library full-text resources.
Using your Search Strategy Worksheet, access the ERIC database and see if you can:
- Find the Advanced Search
- Limit the date range of your search results
- Identify how to limit your search results to peer-reviewed journal articles
- Identify how to limit your search results to Scholarly journal articles
- Locate the selection that will allow you to email your search results
- Locate the tool that will create an APA citation for you
- ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
Want to search more?
You can use SUMMON, a library discovery system, to search all of the library's full-text articles, books, ebooks and more at one time.
- SummonSummon is a library discovery tool. It allows you to search almost all of the library's full-text resources simultaneously. Summon can be a good place to start your search.
Searching Google Scholar
You can use the Google Scholar link on the library homepage to search Google Scholar and link to directly to the library's online holdings. Remember, you should never pay for articles or other resources. Use Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan to request materials that are not immediately available in full-text. Having trouble? Use HELP on the library homepage to CHAT with a librarian 24x7.
Module 6: Finding Articles and Other Information Sources When You Have a Citation
The library databases and Google Scholar are just a starting point for researching a topic. In many cases, articles and other information sources you find will contain substantial reference lists, which you can use to identify other sources of information for your research.
Watch the following video, which demonstrates wayns you can find an article when you have a citation.
Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
Other Relevant Guides
- Instructional Technology Library Research GuideA general guide to resources to support your research in Instructional Technology, including resources on Design, Books24x7 (video tutorials and handbooks for software like Adobe Creative Suite), and Handbooks and Encyclopedias on special subjects like simulation and gaming.