The databases below are free to search. Retrieve full-text articles in PubMed Central. 

• PubMed Central 

  Access full-text articles freely in PubMed Central® (PMC), a full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM. PMC makes all content free to read as NLM believes that the best way to ensure the accessibility and viability of digital material over time is through consistent and active use of the archive.

• PubMed
  A premier biomedical database. Twenty million+ citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. Only articles located within the PubMed Central subset are freely available to all. Apply the Nursing Journals Subsets limit to restrict your search to nursing journals.
  • ​PubMed Tutorial

  • PubMed Quick Tour

• ClinicalTrials.Gov
  ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

• ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
  Ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. Contains some free full text. 

• Google Scholar
  Search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites.

  • Google Scholar Help​

• TOXNET
  Provided by NLM. A starting point for finding reliable information on toxicology, hazardous materials, environmental health, and toxic releases.

  • TOXNET FAQ
     
• TRIP Database
  Clinical meta-search engine for evidence-based resources, including evidence-based synopses, systematic reviews, clinical guidelines, and primary research articles.

This is a list of journals and resources that are wholly or partially open access or available for use by institutions not currently eligible for DOCLINE®. This list is provided as a courtesy by the Network of the National Library of Medicine’s DOCLINE Coordinating Committee. It is not a complete list of such resources and should be used as a basic reference for those who may be seeking access to open information and articles. 

https://www.nnlm.gov/about/DOCLINE/OpenAccessResources

• DailyMed
  Provides information from FDA-approved package inserts and new information from the FDA.
• Drugs.com
  A-to-Z drug list; drugs by condition; pill identifier; and more. Advertising enables drugs.com to remain free of charge, but the drug monographs on the site are from Micromedex, Facts & Comparisons, and the FDA.
• Medscape
  Free but registration is required.
• Orange Book
  FDA-approved drug products with therapeutic equivalence evaluations. Search by active ingredient, proprietary name, patent, applicant holder, or application number. Includes a current listing of approved generic products.
• RxList
  Includes pill identifier. Unique feature: top 200 drugs prescribed in U.S. based on number of prescriptions dispensed.

Use reference management tools to help capture, save and organize your biographic citations and references. 

• Endnote Basic Web
  Free, limited online version of EndNote helps you store, organize, share and cite bibliographic citations and references.
• Zotero
  A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
  • Zotero Tutorial
• Mendeley
  A free reference manager and academic social network.
  • Mendeley tutorial