This policy pertains to Digital Collections projects undertaken by Wayne State University Library System ("WSULS") for the purpose of providing the campus and the public with access to digitized materials. It applies to the digitization of material held in our special collections and archives; academic and historical resources in various media formats used for teaching, research, and scholarship; and licensed materials from publishers. Projects created through through partnerships with cultural and educational institutions are also included. Though Digital Collections may contained licensed resources from partners, the collections as a whole are differentiated from non-unique bulk collection materials licensed from vendors, e.g. e-journals and e-books that form the basis of most modern research collections.

WSULS develops Digital Collections in several ways:

• Digitizing unique or special analog collection materials from its holdings
• Curating born-digital collection materials from its holdings
• Collecting or licensing the usage of openly-accessible collections of primary source material that have strategic connections to existing collections or curriculum, or contain materials of regional significance
• Collaborating with campus, cultural, and educational partners to curate, digitize, or otherwise make available materials which fit into the overall collection policy and priorities of WSULS, or otherwise fill curricular needs of the Wayne State University ("WSU") academic community and the larger world

In addition to general policies guiding collection development across WSULS, and policies specific to Special Collections and Walter P. Reuther Library when appropriate, the following criteria will be considered when developing digital collections:

• The collection enriches the existing body of primary or secondary source materials available on the web
• The collection has high use or high potential for use
• The collection documents the experiences, history, memories or voices of underrepresented communities
• Collection materials are unique or rare
• Collection materials are at risk because of fragility, chemical instability, etc
• It can be demonstrated that WSULS is the copyright holder, has permission, or that publication falls within the boundaries of Fair Use
• The collection includes appropriate metadata or a plan is in place to produce it (e.g. the content is identified or identifiable)
• Funding for digitization is available, or there is potential to secure future funding

Selection criteria language inspired by similar policies from University of Virginia, Colorado State University, and Grand Valley State University.

Best practice in collection management includes deaccessioning materials, including digital collections. Sunset of digital collections may constitute actions along a continuum, from removal of online access to complete deaccession and deletion. Removal or sunset of a digital collection will be considered in relation to a number of factors, including but not limited to: resources available for support of collections, changing copyright or privacy requirements, and changes in general collection development priorities. When removing a digital collection, the libraries commit to transparent communication to stakeholders along a reasonable timeline.

WSULS respects the intellectual property rights of others and makes the best effort to identify materials subject to copyright, trademark, and privacy restrictions. We limit access to such materials as appropriate. In some instances, rights statuses may be difficult or impossible to determine. Where appropriate, the libraries will take advantage of Fair Use provisions in the copyright law to provide access to materials, or effect specific licenses that allow us to do the same.

If you are a rights holder and have found material in WSULS’ Digital Collections that is displayed without your permission and/or contains sensitive or private information, or if you believe our inclusion of the material violates your rights, please contact digitalcollections@wayne.edu.

Please include the following in your message:

1. Identification of material and information sufficient to permit us to locate it (like a url)
2. Your contact information (address, telephone number, and/or e-mail address)
3. A statement that you are the owner or are authorized to act on behalf of the owner, and explanation of any claims to rights for the material

All requests will be reviewed by relevant WSU stakeholders, who may ask for additional information to better understand the issue and its consequences. Removing materials may result in the library ceasing to provide long-term preservation resources to the content. After the review process is complete, the decision will be communicated to the requestor and the claim will be saved as documentation of the library’s ruling.

Takedown language inspired by similar policies from Baker Library, University of Michigan, and Grand Valley State University.

In the process of developing Digital Collections, WSULS will prioritize compliance with technical standards of compliance identified in the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines ("WCAG") 2.0, Level A and AA .

To give accessibility feedback, please use this form.

Related links:

• Accessibility in WSULS
• University accessibility
• Student Disability Services