Federal Laws
- U. S. CourtsContains links to official court forms, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure & Evidence, and a federal court finder tool.
- U. S. Supreme Court, "Opinions of the Court"Official opinions here, dating back to 1991. (Earlier opinions can be found at the Law Library of Congress' "U.S. Reports" collection.)
- U. S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, OpinionsRecent opinions of the Sixth Circuit (covering Michigan, Ohio, Kentucky, & Tennessee) can be found at this website. Older opinions can be found for free on Google Scholar.
- Eastern District of Michigan Federal CourtOfficial website of the Eastern District of Michigan, with courts in Ann Arbor, Bay City, Detroit, Flint, and Port Huron.
- Western District of Michigan Federal CourtOfficial website of the Western District of Michigan federal court, with courts in Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo, Lansing, and Marquette.
- PACERWebsite run by the U.S. Courts; users can download case dockets, orders, and opinions from all federal bankruptcy, district, and appellate courts.
Users must set up an individual accounts and *FEES ARE CHARGED* to download materials.
- Code of Federal Regulations, e-CFRMost up-to-date version of the Code of Federal Regulations is through this official U.S. government website.
- Regulations.govCan monitor proposed regulations and submit comments.
- Executive OrdersCurrent Executive Orders, available on the official White House website.
- Federal RegisterContains notices, proposed rules, text of newly-changed rules, and Presidential documents including Executive Orders back to 1994.
- Attorney General OpinionsInformation on opinions issued by the U.S. Attorney General on a variety of legal issues. Website coverage is from 1993 - present.
- U. S. CodeOfficial electronic version of the U. S. Code, published by the House of Representative's Office of the Law Revision Counsel.
- Congress.govThe official website of the United States Congress. A wealth of materials are available here, including texts of bills, the "Congressional Record", videos of House & Senate hearings, and Congressional Resarch Service reports.
- Law Library of CongressExtensive collection of historic materials (under "Digital Collections") including U.S. Code, Congressional Record, U.S. Supreme Court opinions. Website also has many good subject-based research guides for the public.
- The Constitution of the United States (National Archives)Contains both text and digital images of the U.S. Constitution and its 27 Amendments, as well as background information on the document and its passage.
- "Constitution Annotated," Library of CongressA comprehensive online collection of U.S. Constitutional documents on the Library of Congress' website, with very good supplemental resources.
- "Constitution of the United States: Analysis and Interpretation"Comonly known as the "Constitution Annotated" this online version of the print book indexes Constitutional cases in yearly supplements. *Coverage back to 1992.
Michigan Laws
- Michigan CourtsOfficial website of Michigan's Courts of Appeals and Supreme Court. Site also has Michigan court rules, official forms, and selected case opinions.
- Google ScholarProvides case opinions of Michigan federal cases at the District, Circuit, and Supreme Court levels, as well as Michigan state cases at the Court of Appeals and Supreme Court levels.
- Michigan Rules of Professional ConductPDF of official document for attorney rules of professional conduct, published by the Michigan Courts.
- Administrative CodeThe official home of the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs' Administrative Code for Michigan. Searchable by Department, then Bureau name within that or by rule number.
- Executive OrdersExecutive Orders of the Governor, by year and with number / title.
- Attorney General OpinionsDating back to 1963, this searchable database contains official opinions of the Michigan Attorney Generals.
- Michigan (Legal Information Institute)Links to Cornell University's Legal Information Institute's page on Michigan; includes links to statutes, regulations, and the Michigan Constitution.
- Michigan LegislatureOfficial website of the Michigan Legislature. Contains Michigan statutes, bills, and some legislative analysis, as well as all versions of the Michigan Constitution.
- Michigan (Legal Information Institute)Links to Cornell University's Legal Information Institute's page on Michigan; includes links to statutes, regulations, and the Michigan Constitution.
- Michigan ConstitutionSearchable collection of current and all past Michigan Constitutions back to 1835, available on the Michigan Legislature website.
- Michigan (Legal Information Institute)Links to Cornell University's Legal Information Institute's page on Michigan; includes links to statutes, regulations, and the Michigan Constitution.
Civil Rights & Employment Discrimination
- Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (US Dep't of Justice)Overview of the law prohibiting discrimination on the basis of race, color, and national origin of persons taking part in programs and activities receiving federal assistance, plus related regulations and statutes
- Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (EEOC)Text of the Act itself, plus updates.
- Civi Rights Act of 1968Document from the Federal government's Govinfo.gov website with official text of the Civil Rights Act of 1968.
- Civil Rights Act of 1991 (EEOC)Updates portions of the 1964 Act to reflect changes to strengthen protections for employees and allow for compensatory damages
- Education and Title VI (US Dep't of Education)Information on Title VI 's anti-discrimination laws in educational institutions.
- Michigan Department of Civil RightsInformation on asking for investigations, filing civil rights complaints, and a collection of relevant state and federal laws.
- Elliott-Larsen Civil Rights Act (Michigan)Link to the state-level Civil Rights law, located at the Michigan Legislature's website.
- Age Discrimination (EEOC)Links to reports, statutes, regulations, and information on filing complaints about age-based discrimination.
- Age Discrimination (U.S. Dep't of Labor)General information on the topic, with links to relevant federal age-based anti-discrimination statutes and regulations.
- Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (EEOC)Text of the updated statute
- Older Workers Benefit Protection Act (Congress.gov)Official text of law, along with progress of law in Congress + later amendments.
- Elliott-Larsen Civil Rights Act (Michigan)Link to the state-level Civil Rights law, located at the Michigan Legislature's website.
- ADA.govOfficial website on the Americans with Disabilities Act, though the Department of Justice's Civil Rights Division. Contains opinions, laws, and technical materials.
- Americans with Disabilities Act (U.S. Dep't of Labor)Useful information for both employers and employees on the ADA. Includes information on job accommodation and hiring.
- Disability Discrimination (EEOC)Information includes definitions, links to laws, and filing EEOC complaints.
- Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (EEOC)Text of the statute + updates
- Your Legal Disability Rights (USA.gov)Geared towards the general public, this federal website combines all relevant federal disability rights laws, with easy-to-understand explanations.
- Elliott-Larsen Civil Rights Act (Michigan)Link to the state-level Civil Rights law, located at the Michigan Legislature's website.
- Persons With Disabilities Civil Rights Act (Michigan)Link to the state of Michigan's civil rights laws for persons with disabilities; located on Michigan Legislature's website.
- Sex-Based Discrimination (EEOC)Information on filing EEOC complaints. links to relevant statutes and regulations, + definitions.
- Equal Pay Act of 1963 (EEOC)Text of the statute + updates to law.
- Equal Pay Act of 1963 + Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act of 2009 (EEOC)Technical assistance document, explaining both laws in terms easily understood by the public.
- Equal Pay / Compensation Discrimination (EEOC)Definitions and links for filing complaints for gender-based pay discrimination.
- Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act of 2009 (Congress.gov)Official text of law, bills, and timeline of law's progress through Congress.
- Pregnancy Discrimination (EEOC)Information on pregnancy discrimination, temporary disability, harassment, and parental leave.
- Sexual Harassment (EEOC)Information defining sexual harassment, links to relevant statutes and regulations, and how to file EEOC complaints.
- Title IX and Sex Discrimination (U.S. Dep't of Education)Information on the Title IX amendments to the Civil Rights Act preventing gender-based discrimination in education.
- Sexual Orientation & Gender Identity Discrimination (EEOC)Information with definitions, filing complaints, & what to do if there has been discrimination.
- Elliott-Larsen Civil Rights Act (Michigan)Link to the state-level Civil Rights law at the Michigan Legislature's website. *Currently only explicitly covers gender-based discrimination, not discrimination based on sexual orientation or identity.
- Race / Color Discrimination (EEOC)Definitions, links to Civil Rights Act, and information on filing complaints.
- National Origin Discrimination (EEOC)Information on national origin / citizenship discrimination, relevant statutes, and filing complaints.
- Elliott-Larsen Civil Rights Act (Michigan)Link to the state-level Civil Rights law on the Michigan Legislature's website.
- Religious Discrimination (EEOC)Includes definitions, accommodations, and information on filing EEOC complaints.
- Elliott-Larsen Civil Rights Act (Michigan)Link to the state-level Civil Rights law on the Michigan Legislature's website.
Employee Benefits, Taxes, & Unemployment
- ERISABrief explanation of what ERISA is, with links to related websites, from the U.S. Department of Labor.
- Employer Information (Social Security Administration)Host of useful information for employers relating to filing of W-2s, including Filing Handbook, videos, and newsletters.
- Family and Medical Leave ActOfficial Department of Labor website on FMLA; includes laws & regulations, fact sheets, and forms.
- Affordable Care Act, Health & Human ServicesThis official site contains full text of the ACA; with links to current rules, related tax provisions, and benefit limits.
- Continuation of Health Care Coverage (COBRA)Collection of related websites, through the U.S. Department of Labor.
- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid ServicesOfficial website for Medicare & Medicaid; includes manuals, regulations, and forms.
- Health Insurance (HHS)Official site of the Department of Health & Human Services; includes information on laws including HIPAA, the Affordable Care Act, and mental health insurance coverage requirements.
- Wages & Fair Labor Standards Act (Dep't of Labor)Official information on minimum wages and overtime pay in both private and government sectors, recordkeeping requirements, and laws on child labor.
- Unemployment Insurance Agency (Michigan)Official information for both employers and the unemployed.
- Worker Adjustment & Retraining Notification Act (Michigan)Information on the Federal WARN Act, with links for submitting information on plant closures to the State of Michigan, with fact sheets.
Immigration, Labor Relations, and Worker Health & Safety
- E-VerifyOfficial federal site for electronic verification of citizenship status for employees.
- I-9 Statutes & Regulations (USCIS)Links to all laws and regulations regarding the filing of I-9 forms by employers.
- National Labor Relations BoardOfficial website of the NLRB; contains filings, recent decisions, information about the Act and the Unfair Labor Action process.
- WARN Act Compliance Assistance (U.S. Dep't of Labor)Official site outlining the Worker Adjustment & Retraining Notification Act, with guidance for workers and employers. In English and Spanish.
- WARN Act Fact Sheet (U.S. Dep't of Labor)Up-to-date, easy guide for understanding the WARN Act.
- Employee Polygraph Protection Act (U.S. Dep't of Labor)The official federal website on the act; includes the statute, fact sheets, and posters.
- Michigan Employment Relations CommissionContains decisions, publications, forms, relevant statutes and rules on Michigan employment law.
- Freedom to Work (Michigan)Answers to FAQ's on Michigan's "Freedom to Work" laws from the state's Licensing and Regulatory Affairs website.
- Occupational Safety & Health Administration (Dep't of Labor)Information on current OSHA standards, filing reports, and requesting enforcement investigations.
- Laws & Regulations (EPA)Environmental laws by employment sector, regulations, guidance by topic, and information on compliance.
- National Institute for Occupational Safety & Health (CDC)Clearinghouse for research and publications on workplace safety and health from the Center of Disease Control's NIOSH unit.
- Worker's Disability Compensation Act of 1969 (Michigan)Link to Michigan Legislature statutes; updated as needed.
- Michigan Workers (Dep't of Attorney General)Information about multiple worker protection laws available through the state of Michigan.
- Michigan Occupational Health & Safety AdministrationOfficial website of MiOSHA; contains links to request workplace inspections, information on filing complaints, and reporting workplace accidents or injuries.
- Workers' Disability Compensation Agency (Michigan)Official state website contains rules, manuals, and allows uploads of forms and applications.
Federal Employees, Contractors, & Veterans
- Civil Service Reform ActText of the statute, available through the U.S. Federal Labor Relations Authority's (FLRA) website.
- Department Appeals Board (HHS)Information on filing administrative law appeals with Health& Human Services agencies.
- Federal Employee Compensation ActA workers' compensation program for federal civilian employees injured or killed on the job or their survivors.
- Telework Enhancement Act of 2010Provides guidance and information for federal employees who have telework options.
- Davis-Bacon Act & Related Acts (Dep't of Labor)Laws relating to the use of contractor and subcontractor labor in federally-funded public works projects.
- Davis-Bacon Act (Dep't of Labor)Amended, current version of the Davis-Bacon Act for the payment of public works contractors.
- Drug-Free Workplaces Act of 1988SAMHSA outlines legal requirements for federal contractors to ensure a drug-free workplace.
- McNamara-O'Hara Service Contract ActThis Department of Labor website provides relevant statutes and regulations, fact sheets, and guidance about ensuring that federal contractors are paid at the same wage and benefit range as as the prevailing rate in those communities.
- Walsh-Healey Public Contracts ActThe official website, via the U.S. Dep't of Labor, provides information for those working on federal contract projects.
- Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights ActOfficial website of the U.S. Dep't of Labor's website on the rights of veterans in hiring and the workplace.
- Veterans' Reemployment RightsInformation from the U.S. Dep't of Labor on the rights of those who leave employment for military service purposes.
General Free Legal Research Websites
- Wayne State University Library SystemHome page for WSU University Libraries; includes links to Article Databases, information on Law Library, and access to online catalog and e-books.
- Michigan E-Library (MeL)Links to statewide catalog of materials, and databases free to Michigan residents.
- Michigan Legal HelpAn excellent resource that clearly explains many areas of legal practice for the public . Topics include Employment, Income Tax, + links to "Self-Help" Centers for those representing themselves in court or researching the law.
- Google ScholarContains state court opinions at the appellate and Supreme Court levels, and federal opinions at the district, appellate, and Supreme Court levels.
- Govinfo.govA "one stop shop" of U.S. federal government information including current and historic resources from the Executive, Judicial, and Legislative branches. *Recommend using the "A-Z" category button to find materials most easily.
- Legal Information InstituteSponsored by Cornell Law School, LII is a good source for state and federal statutes, regulations, and constitutions,
- OYEZEducational resources on the U.S. Supreme Court; includes links to oral arguments and case opinions.
- Model Rules of Professional Conduct (American Bar Association)Official website of the American Bar Association's "Model Rules of Professional Conduct".
Selected Federal & HR Law Books
These books are at the Law Library for in-library use.
- United States Code ServiceAnnotated code; statutory law + legislative history, summaries of related court opinions, and secondary sources.
Administrative Law of Health Care in a Nutshell by Call Number: Law Library Reserves: KF 3821 .K566 2017Publication Date: 2016*Available as free e-book for MSL program students in West Study Aids- Americans with Disabilities Act byISBN: 9781579114411Publication Date: 2012 --E-book available via LexisNexis Digital Library at Law Library and online to MSL program students.
Civil Rights in the Workplace by Call Number: Law Library Reserves: KF 3464 .P48 2020ISBN: 9781543824506Publication Date: 2020 w/2021 supplement- Employee Fringe and Welfare Benefit PlansCall Number: Law Library Reserves: KF 3512 .E47 2021Publication Date: 2021
Federal Law of Employment Discrimination in a Nutshell by Call Number: Law Library Reserves: KF 3464 .P584 2021ISBN: 9781684676163Publication Date: 2020*Available as free e-book for MSL program students in West Study Aids
Health Care Law and Ethics in a Nutshell by Call Number: Law Library Reserves: KF 3821 .H353 2020Publication Date: 2020*Available as free e-book for MSL program students in West Study Aids- How Arbitration Works, 6th ed. byCall Number: Law Library Reserves: KF 3424 .E53 2003Publication Date: 2003*Newest edition available on Bloomberg Law database for MSL students.
- Larson's Employment Discrimination byISBN: 9781422480168Publication Date: 2012--E-book available via LexisNexis Digital Library at Law Library and online to MSL program students.
- National Labor Relations Act: Law & Practice byISBN: 9781579118006Publication Date: 2012--E-book available via LexisNexis Digital Library at Law Library and online to MSL program students
Principles of Employment Discrimination Law by Call Number: Law Library Reserves: KF 3464 .C53 2019Publication Date: 2019*Available as free e-book for MSL program students in West Study Aids
Principles of Employment Law by Call Number: Law Library Reserves: KF 3455 .S65 2018Publication Date: 2018*Available as free e-book for MSL program students in West Study Aids
Michigan Law Libraries
The following libraries are open to the public for legal research. Please check the libraries' websites before visiting for current COVID-19 protocols for guests.
- Arthur Neef Law Library, Wayne State UniversityOpen to the Wayne State University community and the general public. Legal research books and databases are available for in-library use.
- Detroit Public LibraryThe Woodward Avenue ("Main") branch has both books and databases available to visitors.
- Library of Michigan: Law LibraryAlthough focusing on Michigan law, federal materials are also available. It is the home to Michigan Legal Help's Self-Help Center of Ingham County, open M-F, 10am-5pm.
- Raymond W. Fox Law Library, Kalamazoo Public LibraryThe Kalamazoo Public Library hosts a dedicated, staffed, and comprehensive collection of legal materials for the public.
- Schaefer Law Library, Michigan State UniversityMSU's Law Library has books, databases, and Michigan-specific books available for in-library use by the public.
- University of Michigan Law LibraryCollection contains state and federal materials in print for use by the public.
- WMU Cooley Law LibraryCooley Law School's Lansing library has books, databases, and Michigan legal research sources for visitors.
Selected Michigan & HR Law Books
The Michigan encyclopedia and code are available in print and online through LexisNexis Digital Library. The remaining titles are available in print at Law Reserves for in-library use only.
- Michigan Compiled Laws ServicePublication Date: 2001--Annotated code; statutory law + legislative history, summaries of related court opinions, and secondary sources.
- Michigan Law & Practice Encyclopedia, 2d ed.Publication Date: 1998--Updated annually, and arranged by alphabetical topic, this set helps give a basic overview of Michigan law.
- Employment Law for Michigan Employers, 3d ed. byCall Number: KFM 4534 .E576 2021Publication Date: 2021@Law Library Course Reserves.
- Employment Litigation in Michigan, 2d ed.Call Number: KFM 4534.5 .E55 E542Publication Date: 2020@Law Library Course Reserves.
- Michigan Worker's Disability Compensation Act and Administrative RulesCall Number: KFM 4542 .M52Publication Date: 2015@Law Library Course Reserves.
- Worker's Compensation in Michigan: Law and PracticeCall Number: KFM 4542 .W4523Publication Date: 2021@Law Library Course Reserves.
Subject Guide
Michelle LaLonde
She / Her / Hers
Contact:
Michelle M. LaLonde
1315 Arthur Neef Law Library
474 Gilmour Mall
Detroit, MI 48202
1315 Arthur Neef Law Library
474 Gilmour Mall
Detroit, MI 48202
313.577.9381