PubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)--Overview. NLM's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases --Home page.

EMBASE (Excerpta Medica Database) covers worldwide literature, especially from Europe, in the field of biomedical and health sciences with special emphasis given to drug research, pharmacology, pharmacy, pharmacoeconomics, toxicology, basic biological research, etc.

Lectures in Biomedical Engineering is comprised of 75- to 150-page publications on topics from the field of biomedical engineering, from the atom and molecule to large diagnostic equipment. Each lecture covers the fundamental principles of the topic, develops underlying concepts needed for sequential material, and progresses to more advanced related topics. Computer software and multimedia is included for simulation, computation, visualization and design where appropriate.

Provides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature, including Compendex, Georef, Knovel, NTIS, Geobase and Inspec as well as patents, standards and handbooks. A product from Elsevier.

Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.

"Scopus is the world's largest abstracts database of 13,450 titles from more than 4,000 international publishers with access to over 25 million abstracts (going back to 1966)." Full-text is included for some citations.

This database is an online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).