Subject Librarian
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies
Urdu-English Dictionaries
Oxford Picture Dictionary: Bilingual Dictionary for Urdu-Speaking Teenage and Adult Students of English by Call Number: [E-book]ISBN: 9780194201513Publication Date: 2009 (2nd Ed.), New York, NY: Oxford University PressArranged by common themes, this book also has English and Urdu indexes (at the back of the book) to increase it's usefulness.
اوكسفرڈ انگلش اردو ڈكشنرى / The Oxford English-Urdu Dictionary by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Stacks: PK 1976 .H36 2003ISBN: 0195793404Publication Date: 2003 (Oxford, Oxford University Press)The Oxford English-Urdu Dictionary is the most comprehensive and authoritative English-Urdu dictionary available today. It is derived from the highly acclaimed Concise Oxford English Dictionary and covers more than 125,000 words and phrases, and 180,000 translations. With thousands of example phrases, pronunciation guidance for every headword, and up-to-date coverage of English as it is used today, this is an essential reference work for anyone living and working in an Urdu-speaking environment, or studying Urdu at school or university. (An additional copy may be requested from UGL Storage).
We are working on identifying an online dictionary soon!
Learn Urdu
- Basic Urdu by Rajiv Ranjan (Michigan State University)Basic Urdu is a theme-based, interactive open-source online textbook for the true novice learners of the Urdu language. The book uses mixed pedagogical approaches to language teaching to match diverse teaching and learning styles. It aims to help learners achieve intermediate low to mid-proficiency levels set by the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL).