(Image credit: National Library of Medicine)
This Lead is Killing Us: A History of Citizens Fighting Lead Poisoning in Their Communities tells the stories of the citizens who have confronted lead industries, housing authorities, and elected officials in order to advocate for and protect themselves and their communities from the dangers of lead. This was a traveling exhibition from January 2023 to July 2024.
The digital collection, gallery, information, and educational resources remain online for anyone to view. To view the online exhibit, follow this link. Also, view a brochure from the exhibit found here.
A History of Lead
Historically, lead has been seen as a valuable metal due to its durability, malleability, resistance to corrosion, and ready availability. Since ancient history, lead has been used in construction materials, pottery, glassmaking, cookware and utensils, cosmetic products, coins, and weapons such as bullets. Ancient Romans even used lead to create plumbing for their cities, and to create sapa, which was made by boiling grape juice in lead pots and then used to ferment into wine or sweeten food.
In the U.S., lead has been mined since 1621 in Virginia, and was primarily used in paint and as an additive to gasoline. While the adverse of affects of lead poisoning were recognized in the 1920's, lead was not regulated until after 1970, when the Occupational Health and Safety Act was enacted in the United States. At the same time, the Clean Air Act would result in the elimination of lead in gasoline by the 1980s, while lead paint was eliminated for use in homes in 1978.
Reuther Library Archival Collections
-
William Fredrick PapersThe papers in this collection reflect Dr. Fredrick's work as an educator first at the University of Michigan (1957-1960) and later at Wayne State University (1960-1976), and his work in the fields of Air Quality (1952-1958, 1966-1975), Industrial Toxicology (1932-1976), and Industrial Hygiene (1943-1976).
-
UAW Conservation and Recreation Department RecordsThe records of the Departments of Conservation and Recreation in this collection consist of intra-departmental correspondence, clippings, legislative testimony and other material on issues and legislation involving the conservation of the natural environment and to a lesser extent, the creation of parks and the protection of the consumer.
-
Thomas W. Stephens PapersThomas Stephens was a founder of the Evergreen Alliance, the Michigan Environmental Justice Coalition and chaired the National Lawyer's Guild's Toxics Committee in his fight for environmental justice in the Detroit area. His papers reflect his interest and legal work in this arena and related issues, particularly lawsuits involving incinerators in Detroit and Flint, MI.
-
UAW Health and Safety Department RecordsSubjects include: occupational safety and health in the auto industry; UAW bargaining on health and safety issues; workplace chemical hazards; reproductive health hazards; OSHA formaldehyde, lead, lockout/tagout, confined space entry standards; gray iron foundry mortality studies; General Motors Occupational Health Advisory Board; Franklin Mirer; UAW Locals 326, 412, 455, 550, 1200
-
Urban Environment Conference (UEC) RecordsThe Urban Environment Conference Collection consists of correspondence, reports, minutes, clippings and publications related primarily to environmental/occupational health issues affecting minorities at home and in the workplace.
Rouge River Archive (Wayne State University Special Collections)
-
Rouge River ArchiveThe Rouge River Archive is a collection of reports, conference proceedings, and other documents related to efforts to remediate and manage the watershed of the Rouge River in Southeastern Michigan. Items in the collection were published by a variety of government agencies and consultants between 1955-1995; the focus of the collection is the period between 1978-1995 when efforts to manage pollution and flooding in the watershed gained momentum.
Sample of Materials from the Collection:
-
Waste Prevention Research Reports
by
Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Rouge River Archive TD 793.9 .W378 2000Publication Date: 2000 -
Segmented Facilities Plan [With Environmental Assessment]: Detroit Waterage and Sewage Department
by
Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Rouge River Archive TD 224 .M5 G54 1978 bk. 1-10Publication Date: 1978
-
Rouge River Area of Concern Action Plan Prototype Baseline Document: Preliminary Draft
by
Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Rouge River Archive TC 977 .M5 E74 1985Publication Date: 1985
