Introduction: What is an "Executive Order"?
An "Executive Order" is defined in Black's Law Dictionary as "[An order issued by or on behalf of the President, usually intended to direct or instruct the actions of executive agencies or government officials, or to set policies for the executive branch to follow." The term covers a wide variety of presidential pronouncements and promulgations. To be valid, an executive order must first be published in the Federal Register.
This guide covers information on how to research the 2025 Trump administration's Executive Orders, related legislation, and commentary on executive orders by legal experts.
NOTE: This is a "work in progress" and not intended to be comprehensive. If you would like your favorite resources for researching current Executive Orders added, please email us below.
Books on Executive Orders in U.S. Law
Calling the shots : the President, Executive Orders, and Public Policy by Call Number: e-BookPublication Date: 2017
The Courts and the President : Judicial Review of Presidential Directed Action by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2024
Executive Orders and the Modern Presidency by Call Number: e-BookPublication Date: 2006Adam Warber offers an in-depth look at how modern presidents use this weapon in their arsenal of authority. Warber systematically analyzes the strategic nature of close to 5,500 executive orders issued since 1936.
Take up Your Pen by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2013Graham G. Dodds explores the constitutional and historical development of unilateral presidential directives--the ability of presidents to bypass the legislative process and set public policy via their own executive orders.
With the Stroke of a Pen by Call Number: e-BookPublication Date: 2022In this first-ever in-depth study of executive orders, Kenneth Mayer shows how presidents have used a key tool of executive power to wield their inherent legal authority and pursue policy without congressional interference. By analyzing presidents' use of executive orders and the relationship of those orders to the presidency as an institution, Mayer describes an office much more powerful and active than the one depicted in the bulk of the political science literature.
Executive Orders
- White House (Official), "Presidential Actions"Landing page for all Trump 2025 Executive Orders, as well as related fact sheets, remarks, and statements.
- National Archives, "Federal Register"Publication of the U.S. government published every business day, except federal holidays. Contains proposed federal administrative rule changes, information on public comment periods, and is the official publication site for Presidential Executive Orders.
- Federal Register, "Presidential Documents"Arranged by President; goes back to second administration of President Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1937.
- Govinfo, "Executive Orders from 1933 to Present"Comprehensive collection of all U.S. Presidential Executive Orders from President Franklin D. Roosevelt's first term to the present.
**Tip: Use tools at the left side of page to narrow results by date, topic, President, etc.
2025 Executive Orders Trackers
- Foundation for Defense of Democracies, "Trump Administration Foreign Policy Tracker"*Organized by month and Presidential administration.
- Just Security.org, "Collection: Just Security’s Coverage of Trump Administration Executive Actions"News story collection of articles about Trump's Executive Orders.
- Lawfare, "Trump's First 100 Days"List of Executive Orders, with links, arranged chronologically in reverse by date issued.
- Littler, "Executive Order Tracker"Tracker put together by law firm; organized by date and topic.
- MayerBrown, "Trump 2.0: Executive Order Tracker"Law firm website has "Relevant Legal Updates" (with summaries) and Executive Orders, organized by topic.
- NBC News, "Tracking Trump's Executive Orders"Links to Executive Orders by topic.
Executive Order Litigation Trackers, 2025 -
- Bloomberg Law, "Tracking Trump in Court: The Scope of Executive Power Tested"*One of the best litigation trackers; with excellent visual rendering of the multiple lawsuits against the administration, parties involved, and outcomes.
*May require sign-on to personal Bloomberg Law accounts; available only to Law School faculty, J.D. and masters students, and staff. - Civil Rights Litigation ClearinghouseIncludes sections on "Challenges" and "Litigation and Investigations by the Second Trump Administration"
- Court Watch News, "Lawsuits Related to Trump Admin Actions"*Contains case docket information and documents available for to download for free.
- Just Security, "Litigation Tracker: Legal Challenges to Trump Administration Actions"Well-organized, comprehensive collection of litigation relating to President Trump's 2025 Executive Orders, with summaries and links to some litigation documents.
- Law360, "Trump's Legal Battles"**One of the best litigation trackers; lists by topic of EO's, then by lawsuits related to the orders.
- Trump Litigation BotWith real-time updates from Bots Law - Free Law Project.
Selected Law Review & Journal Articles
Archived Data Sets, Finding "Lost" Data, & Related Information Sources
- Data Rescue Project, "Resources"Includes extensive "Existing Alternative Data Sources" section for finding alternative sources and collections of purged federal agency data across multiple disciplines.
- "GovWayback" toolAccess historical versions of U.S. government websites from before January 20, 2025 by taking any .gov URL and add wayback.com after .gov . You'll be redirected to the Wayback Machine's archived version of the page.
- The Venn Diagram of Trump's Authoritarian ActionsBlog by Professor Christina Pagel (University College London), with Venn diagram, charts, and links to information connecting the second Trump administration's actions with authoritarian government behavior.
Subject Librarian
Michelle LaLonde
She / Her / Hers
Contact:
Michelle M. LaLonde
1315 Arthur Neef Law Library
474 Gilmour Mall
Detroit, MI 48202
1315 Arthur Neef Law Library
474 Gilmour Mall
Detroit, MI 48202
313.577.9381