TOCS-IN
- TOCS-INFrom the U of Toronto, this site provides the tables of contents of a selection of over 200 Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. 1992-on.
Open Access Journals
- Greek, Roman, and Byzantine Studies (GRBS)New open-access journal from Duke University
Online Journals
- Society for Classical Studies Listing of Online Journals in ClassicsAccording to the SCS this is "a list of journals in Classics that have a substantial on-line presence." Included are titles that the WSU libraries have subscriptions or access to through Project MUSE or other database.
Some of the links lead to journal websites and do not allow access to the journal. Be sure to search the library catalog or ejournals for the title to determine if we have print copies or online access.
Recommended Article Databases & Journal Collections
- Annee Philologique on the Internet This link opens in a new windowA database of over 600,000 bibliographic records related to topics on the history, language, literature and civilization of ancient Greece and Rome. The online version currently covers the years 1949 to 2005 with thousands of new records added each year. Over 1,500 periodicals are analyzed as well as articles in collections and conference papers each year. Publication information and a brief abstract are provided for articles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Classics journals such as Classical Bulletin, Classical Quarterly, American Journal of Philology, Transactions of the American Philological Assocation, and the Bulletin of the American Society of Papyrologists are included among many others. Good for interdisciplinary topics.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU has perpetual access to the Arts and Sciences I-XV, Hebrew Journals and Sustainability Collections.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProject Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Focus is on current coverage from the last 5 years but varies by title. In the area of Classics, Project Muse provides searchable full text for American Journal of Philology, Arethusa, Hesperia, and Transactions of the American Philological Association.
Search Google Scholar
Searching Google Scholar through the library's connection provides you free access to our full-text articles.
Library of Antiquity Blog
- Library of Antiquity BlogAuthored by academics, this helpful blog offers research strategies, best practices and tips for undergraduates doing research in Classics, such as why library databases are useful, how to search L'Annee, and other topics.
What is a scholarly article?
View this short video to get a quick overview of what a scholarly article looks like. And be sure to Ask-a-Librarian if you need some help deciding whether a source is scholarly.
Journal & Abbreviations Help
- Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new windowContains information on currently published as well as discontinued periodicals. Includes magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, conference proceedings, and electronic publications. Gives information whether a periodical is peer-reviewed.
- Journal citation reports This link opens in a new windowAn essential, comprehensive, and unique resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Provides journal impact factor.
To access Journal Citation Reports: from main Search Page, "Select a Database" tab then click on the Journal Citation Reports.
Where are the print journals?
Print issues of journals are located on the second floor of the Kresge wing of the Purdy-Kresge Library. They are arranged alphabetically by title.
Check the library catalog to see whether a journal is available in print or online.