Librarian Liaison
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Cambridge Histories
Try out the Cambridge Histories Online! The Cambridge Ancient History has many volumes that provide historical background on Greece and Rome. This set is a very authoritative source for ancient history.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowThis multivolume set features historical background on multiple topics, including the Classical World. Look for The Cambridge Ancient History and the volumes on Greece and Rome.
Featured Resource
The Oxford Classical Dictionary (3rd Edition) by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Reference (1st Floor): DE 5 .O9 1996ISBN: 019866172XPublication Date: Oxford : Oxford University Press, 1996
Streaming Video Sites
The websites below can be used to search for films you might wish to use in courses. Videos can be requested through the library's Streaming Media (Video and Audio) Request Form. If possible, include the URL for the film you'd like in the Call Number field. When Wayne State University Libraries has acquired licensed access, the video will be accessible through the library's catalog. The Permalink at the bottom of the cataloging record can be given directly to students, and/or embedded in Canvas or other course sites.
- Academic Video Online (Alexander Street)- high-quality educational video content, in DVD and streaming formats.
- Films Media Group- high-quality video on academic, vocational, and life-skills topics.
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new windowKanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- New Day Films- a filmmaker-run distribution company, providing social issue documentaries to educators since 1971.
- Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new windowThe Psychotherapy.net streaming video collection provides access to training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, psychology, and addiction. The majority of the videos show therapists actually conducting therapy and demonstrating clinical skills, along with pre- and post-session discussion.
CLA 2000 Course Text
Anthology of Classical Myth (2nd Ed.) by Call Number: [E-Book]ISBN: 9781624664977Publication Date: 2016 (Hackett Publishing Co.)This new edition of Anthology of Classical Myth offers selections from key Near Eastern texts--the Babylonian Epic of Gilgamesh, Epic of Creation (Enuma Elish), and Atrahasis; the Hittite Song of Emergence; and the flood story from the book of Genesis--thereby enabling students to explore the many similarities between ancient Greek and Mesopotamian mythology and enhancing its reputation as the best and most complete collection of its kind.
Style Guides for Classics
- TAPA Style SheetStyle Sheet for the Transactions of the American Philological Association
- Chicago Manual of Style Quick GuideThis is a handy tool for the basics.
- Purdue OWL Guide to the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Ed.Scan down the left-hand column to explore how to cite a variety of sources using the Notes & Bibliography (NB) system, or the Author Date system, including sample papers.
OCD Abbreviations List
- OCD AbbreviationsNow standard in the field of Classics, this is the navigable and downloadable list of abbreviations used in the digital OCD.
Citation Management Tools
Use a citation management tool to keep track of your sources and to help you format your bibliography. Online training and resources are available for RefWorks, Zotero, EndNote, EndNote Web.
- RefWorksNewly added citation management resource. Use this guide to help you set up a RefWorks account and learn how to manage your research.
- ZoteroA library guide to help you learn how to use Zotero.
- EndNote Training & HelpUse this library guide to learn about EndNote.
- EndNote OnlineOnline videos and help are available for EndNote Web.
Classics @ Wayne State University
Classics, Greek and Latin, is part of the Department of Classical and Modern Languages, Literatures, and Cultures.
Undergraduate Program in Classics
Wayne State University offers undergraduate concentrations in Classical Civilization and in Latin, which lead to a BA in Classics.
MA in Classics
Wayne State University offers a MA degree in Classics with concentrations in: Ancient Studies, Greek & Latin, and Latin.
For more information see the "Undergraduate Programs" and "Graduate Programs" links on the Department of Classical and Modern Languages, Literatures, and Cultures webpage at http://www.clas.wayne.edu/languages/.