Librarian Liaison
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies
Background: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new windowProvides a summary of the myth and help with identifying Classical sources.
- The Encyclopedia of Ancient HistorySummarizes the myth and leads to ancient sources
- Encyclopedia of Greek & Roman MythologyUse this work to help identify the Classical sources for your myth.
- Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography : Themes Depicted in Works of Art / editor, Helene E. Roberts.Purdy-Kresge Library Reference N 7560 .E53 1998 OVERSIZE (PRINT)
"Answers to how various mythological, Biblical, and literary themes have been treated in literature, art, music, and the performing arts can be found in this work. It provides an analysis of over 100 selected themes that reflect the increasingly interdisciplinary nature of scholarly and academic work through the use of various iconographical sources. The alphabetical arrangement facilitates browsing, while the six indexes provide multiple access by considering, among others, references to the Bible; Judeo-Christian personages, places and concepts; and artists and works of art".--"Outstanding Reference Sources : the 1999 Selection of New Titles", American Libraries, May 1999. Comp. by the Reference Sources Committee, RUSA, ALA.
Recommended Databases
- Annee Philologique on the Internet This link opens in a new windowA database published by the Societe Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, under the direction of Eric Rebillard, with the American Philological Association and the Database of Classical Bibliography, Dee L. Clayman, General Editor, with the support of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (France) et du National Endowment for Humanities (USA). 600,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to 2004, with 12,500 new records added each year.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) is the largest and most comprehensive database covering current scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore. MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) corresponds to the printed annual bibliography of the Modern Language Association.
- Art Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers more than 250 key international, English-language arts publications, includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition and award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, film reviews, and so forth.
- Oxford Music Online / Grove Music This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text with ongoing updates of The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians, 2nd ed., The new Grove dictionary of opera, and The new Grove dictionary of jazz, 2nd ed. Access limited to three simultaneous users.
CLA 2000 Course Text
Anthology of Classical Myth (2nd Ed.) by Call Number: [E-Book]ISBN: 9781624664977Publication Date: 2016 (Hackett Publishing Co.)This new edition of Anthology of Classical Myth offers selections from key Near Eastern texts--the Babylonian Epic of Gilgamesh, Epic of Creation (Enuma Elish), and Atrahasis; the Hittite Song of Emergence; and the flood story from the book of Genesis--thereby enabling students to explore the many similarities between ancient Greek and Mesopotamian mythology and enhancing its reputation as the best and most complete collection of its kind.
CLA 3999/6260 Course Texts
Anthology of Classical Myth by
This volume is designed as a companion to the standard undergraduate mythology textbooks or, when assigned alongside the central Greek and Roman works, as a source-based alternative to those textbooks. In addition to the complete texts of the Homeric Hymns and Hesiod's Theogony , this collection provides generous selections from over 50 texts composed between the Archaic Age and the fourth century A.D. Ancient interpretation of myth is represented here in selections from the allegorists Heraclitus, Cornutus and Fulgentius, the rationalists Palaephatus and Diodorus of Sicily, and the philosophers and historians Plato, Herodotus and Thucydides. Appendices treat evidence from inscriptions, papyri and Linear B tablets and include a thematic index, a mythological dictionary, and genealogies. A thoughtful Introduction supports students working with the primary sources and the other resources offered here; an extensive note to instructors offers suggestions on how to incorporate this book into their courses.
Call Number: Ebook Available OnlineISBN: 0872207218Publication Date: 2004-12-15
Internet Resources
- Greek Mythology LinkFrom the website: "The Greek Mythology Link is a collection of the Greek myths written by Carlos Parada, author of the book Genealogical Guide to Greek Mythology (published in 1993 by Astrom Editions, available at Amazon).." Helpful for locating the Classical sources and also images.
Images
- Amica Art Library This link opens in a new windowThe AMICA Library contains works of art from the collections of prominent museums worldwide. Cultures and time periods range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works. Types of works include paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, and photographs, as well as textiles, costumes, jewelry, decorative art, books and manuscripts. This is a subscription based collection.
Books from WSU Libraries
Classical Mythology by
Building on the bestselling tradition of previous editions, Classical Mythology, Tenth Edition, is the most comprehensive survey of classical mythology available - and the first full-color textbook of its kind. Featuring the authors' clear and extensive translations of original sources, itbrings to life the myths and legends of Greece and Rome in a lucid and engaging style that incorporates a dynamic combination of poetic narratives and enlightening commentary to make the myths come alive for students. Offering historical and cultural background on the myths (including evidence fromart and archaeology) they also provide ample interpretative material and examine the enduring survival of classical mythology and its influence in the fields of art, literature, music, dance, and film.
Call Number: BL 723 .M67 2014 (RESERVES @ Undergraduate Library)ISBN: 9780199997329Publication Date: 2013-12-02
Defining Classics
- Society for Classical Studies (SCS) Annual MeetingUse the listing of conference sessions from the 2015 Annual Meeting of the Society for Classical Studies to explore and understand the depth and breadth of Classical Studies.
- Library of Congress ClassificationMost academic libraries are organized using the Library of Congress Classification system. Call numbers for books are assigned according to the subject matter of the book. The arrangement and numbering are related to areas of study.