Subject Specialist Librarian
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies
All About Words
- WordnikFounded by lexicographer Erin McKean, this site uses technology to collect words and definitions from blogs, newsfeeds and other writing on the Internet. No attempt is made to edit, only to present what it finds. A descriptive rather than prescriptive tool. A snapshot of current usage is a plus, but critics recommend it not be used to select "correct" usage.
- The Corpus of Contemporary American English, 1990-2011 (COCA)Mark Davies, a professor of linguistics at Brigham Young University, has assembled a collection of over 400 million words compiled over the last three years. The collection offers information on word frequency and discourse context (e.g., conversation or formal academic writing). Nearby words can also be examined.
- Word Warriors"Bringing Back Great Words" is the subtitle and goal of this Wayne State University website devoted to creating interest in reviving the use of words "of style and substance." An annual list of the "Top Ten" words is a feature of the site.
Redefining the Dictionary
Erin McKean, one of the youngest lexicographers, talks about the changing nature of the dictionary in a lively and entertaining presentation.
Famous Dictionaries
Besides the Oxford English Dictionary (see description to the left), there are some other notable dictionaries. See some of these examples below:
- Samuel Johnson’s Dictionary: Sources and EditionsView this online exhibit from Vassar College to see examples from Johnson's A Dictionary of the English Language.
- A Dictionary of the English Language (1755) by Samuel JohnsonA digital edition of Samuel Johnson's 1755 classic dictionary
- A Dictionary of the English Language (1768) by Samuel JohnsonFrom Google Books, you can view the entire 3rd edition (1768).
- Noah Webster and America's First DictionaryFrom the Merriam-Webster site, this article describes how Noah Webster created the first American English dictionary.
- An American Dictionary of the English Language by Noah Webster (1848)The 2nd edition of Webster's work (from Google Books).
Word of the Day from the OED
Loading ...
The Oxford English Dictionary
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowElectronic version of: Oxford English dictionary, 2nd ed., New York: Oxford University Press, 1989.
Searching for English Language Dictionaries
English language dictionaries can be found in the PE call number area of the reference and stack areas of the libraries.
The search term for English language dictionaries is "English language dictionaries." Use the "Advanced Search" and select "search by Subject" using those terms. The library system has over 450 English language dictionaries.
Word Games
- freerice.comIncrease your vocabulary (yes, Latin and Greek origins help) and contribute free rice at the same time.
- Jumble JongOne of serveral word games from the Merriam-Webster site.