MLA Examples
APA Examples Handout
Available for print or download.
Chicago Style Examples Handout
Available for print or download.
AI Disclaimer
Do not use AI to suggest references to read/cite
Please be aware that ChatGPT and other AI services can produce incorrect, made-up references that cannot be sourced. While some individual parts of an AI-generated reference may be accurate (such as the journal name, article or book title or an author) the whole reference does not usually exist so cannot be found by our library team.
If you have a reference that you cannot find, our team may ask where it came from so that we can ensure it is legitimate before attempting to find it. If you need assistance, please use our 24/7 library chat service.
When to Cite Sources
Whenever you quote, paraphrase, summarize, or otherwise refer to the work of another, you are required to cite your source and provide a complete reference for your source in a bibliography, list of references or works cited.
Create a Citation Now!
- ZoteroBibZoteroBib creates a bibliography in the style you need, including APA, MLA and Chicago/Turbaian. Just enter the from URL, title, DOI and other information, select your style and Zotero will compile a formatted citation list.
General Citation Guides
- https://owl.excelsior.edu/citation-and-documentation/The Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides resources for citing sources in a variety of styles.
- The Writer's Handbook: Introduction to Documentation StylesThe University of Wisconsin - Madison provides a quick resource for citing references in papers using a variety of styles.
MLA Style Guides
- Excelsior OWL: MLA Formatting and Style GuideThis resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
- The Writer's Handbook: MLA Documentation GuideThe University of Wisconsin - Madison provides a quick resource for citing references in papers using the style outlined by the 2009 MLA Handbook.
- Citing Primary Sources: MLALibrary of Congress instructions for and examples of citations of primary source materials: Web Sites, Cartoons, Maps, Photographs, Films, and more.
APA Style Guides
- APA Style Guide, 7th Ed.This is the website for the 6th edition of the APA Style manual with features including:
- Excelsior OWL: APA Formatting & Style GuideThis resource offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Chicago/Turabian Style Guides
- Chicago Manual of Style Online, 17th ed.The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format. It is the indispensable reference for writers, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers, informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice.
- Excelsior OWL: Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Ed.This resource contains information on the Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation.
- Turabian Quick GuideKate L. Turabian’s Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations presents two basic documentation systems: bibliography style and reference list style. These are essentially the same as those presented in The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, with slight modifications for the needs of student writers.
- Citing Primary Sources: ChicagoLibrary of Congress instructions for and examples of citations of primary source materials: Web Sites, Cartoons, Maps, Photographs, Films, and more.
Harvard Style Guides
- Harvard Format Citation GuideThis comprehensive and easy-to-use guide to Harvard Style in-text and reference list citations makes citing any source quick and easy.
- Free Harvard Citation Generator and GuideAlong with providing an interactive Harvard style citation generator for the most commonly used type of materials, this site also provides examples for a wide variety of materials and explains the principles of this style.
- Harvard Referencing Style--A Practical GuideThis Guide from the University of York provides excellent straight-forward advice on how to create in-text and bibliographic citations in Harvard style and provides concrete examples for citing a WIDE variety of materials.
NOTE: "Harvard Style" is a misnomer as there is no actual connection between the institution and citation style. In general, "Harvard Style" refers to the use of author/date in-text citations e.g. (Robbins 1987) Some Harvard faculty were simply among the first to do so in the late 19th century, and the name stuck, particularly in the British Commonwealth.