Despite advancements in conventional medicine over the past 30 years, patients with cancer have continued to seek out different forms of healing. Complementary (also termed as integrative) and alternative therapies have grown so popular that nurses working in oncology need to have an understanding of them. Handbook of Integrative Oncology Nursing: Evidence-Based Practice provides a reliable resource for nurses looking for information on the types of therapies their patients with cancer may be using outside of their care. Written by Georgia M. Decker and Colleen O. Lee, this new guide defines complementary and alternative medicine (CAM), examines the issue of making integrative assessments, identifies commonly used therapies, and takes a close look at how symptoms ranging from anxiety to pain can be managed using CAM therapies.

This book explores the historical, social, political and cultural facets of integration between complementary and alternative medicine and nursing/midwifery. Itexamines the ever-expanding integration in relation to: the role and conceptualization of the patient the role and responsibilities of different professional healthcare providers (nurses, midwives, alternative therapists, etc) the future provision and approach of nursing and midwifery practice the challenges and opportunities currently facing healthcare systems as a result of integration. This innovative book provides the first critical overview of this important field of health research. It is important reading formedical sociologists, nurses and other health professionals - as well as students in these areas - with an interest in complementary and alternative medicine."

Can magnets relieve arthritis pain? Does the scent of lavender calm the nerves? Is St. John's Wort a mood enhancer? Authoritative, objective and in tune with the subjects that matter to students and researchers, Gale presents four volumes of current, unbiased information on alternative and complementary medical practices. Covering all aspects of the subject through more than 800 entries, The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine identifies types of alternative medicine being practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy. For the practitioner or interested patient, there are current training requirements, listings of organizations, as well as descriptions of treatments. Information on recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases and medicinal uses for plants and herbs are balanced by conclusions of studies on efficacy and analysis of current levels of acceptance by traditional scientists and doctors. Biographies of pioneers in the field -- including Deepak Chopra, Edward Bach and David Palmer --appear as sidebars through the text. Included in each entry are glossary sidebars that define key terms. The four volumes contain more than 800 entries, approximately 400 color images, and many informative illustrations and charts pertaining to herbs and flowers, therapies and procedures, nutrition, and diseases and conditions. More than 50 new entries were added, on topics ranging from cherry juice, modified citrus pectin, oleander, and horticultural therapy; most existing entries were reviewed and updated, and many new images, charts and illustrations were added. *Among the 50 new entries is one on how the Affordable Care Act will work with Alternative Medicine practices, which is very timely and important for this new edition, as medical changes are imminent in the United States. *75 new tables, charts and illustrations show important procedures and statistics. *Biographies of 39 important figures in the field of Alternative Medicine are included and have been updated for this edition. *Approximately 400 cross references steer readers to topics that might be known under other names

The first edition of "Alternative Medicine and Multiple Sclerosis" quickly became the single source for accurate and unbiased information on a wide range of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) approaches that can aid both in the management of multiple sclerosis symptoms and in promoting general health and wellness. The second edition of this authoritative book continues to offer reliable information on the relevance, safety, and effectiveness of various alternative therapies. "Complementary and Alternative Medicine and Multiple Sclerosis, 2nd Edition" is completely updated throughout, and reflects the advances in the field since the first edition's publication in 2001. There is a new chapter on low-doseNaltrexone and a pivotal section on integrating conventional and alternativemedicines. Therapies are organized alphabetically so that readers can readily pinpoint a specific treatment and learn about its origins, merits, and possible uses in MS. They will find in-depth discussions on topics that include acupuncture, biofeedback, chiropractic medicine, cooling therapy, yoga, diets and fatty acid supplements, the use of herbs, vitamins and minerals, and much more. With this book, readers will be able to: Find other options that may provide symptomatic relief when conventional therapies are limited Learn about potentially dangerous interactions between CAM therapies and medical treatments used in the management of MS Identify CAM therapies that are effective, low risk, and inexpensive Recognize ineffective, dangerous, or costly alternative therapies

The field of Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) is expected to grow tremendously in the next few years. In addition to an increase in the general population, the baby-boomer generation is quickly entering retirement and will likely take advantage of CAM increasingly as it ages. Although CAM research as applied to aging is just beginning and health professionals receive no special training in CAM and aging, the United States population still continues to employ it. For diagnoses that accompany aging such as cancer, neurological diseases, psychiatric disorders, and physical disabilities, CAM has often been used in addition to or in place of unsuccessful conventional methods of treatment. This new and up-to-the-minute compendium of reliable and authoritative information on complementary and alternative therapies seeks to provide information that older adults may use as they seek to improve their health and quality of life. Covering dietary means; physical, mental, and spiritual methods of treatment; and various types of therapies, this handbook is the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource on complementary and alternative medicine available today. Each chapter or article includes: Brief definition of modalityAnecdotal reports of usefulness Discussion of scientific evidence for and against modalityList of resources that reader can use to find further information Examples of therapies covered include: Art & MusicMassageAcupuncture Meditation Homeopathy Ayurveda Aromatherapy

In order to examine the importance of alternative medicine to the African American population, this book focuses on the African American health belief system and the treatment strategies often used and documented. This book includes a cultural-historical view of alternative medicine's use within the African American community and shows how it was an integral part of African American culture. The author highlights a number of studies that examine alternative and complementary therapies associated with specific diseases among African Americans. Case studies are presented to show the types of alternative and complementary medicines used for specific diseases and to determine whether the alternative and complementary therapy was effective or not. Moreover, the cultural perceptions of the specific disease are presented to provide reasons why African Americans tend to use the particular alternative and complementary medical therapy for the disease. The book serves as a resource guide for students, healthcare professionals, researchers, policymakers, and the general public.

Integrative Medicine, by Dr. David Rakel, provides the practical, evidence-based guidance you need to safely and effectively integrate complementary and alternative medical treatments into your practice. This medical reference book lays the framework for making the best use of these therapeutic modalities and understanding the mechanisms by which these interventions work, keeping you at the forefront of the trend toward integrative health care. Incorporate therapeutic integrative medicine modalities into clinical practice through the "Tools for Your Practice" section that offers how-to application for recommending mediation, prescribing probiotics, and how to do an elimination diet. Apply integrative treatments for a full range of diseases and conditions including autism, stroke, chronic fatigue syndrome, and various forms of cancer...see how to advise patients on health maintenance and wellness...and get valuable advice on topics such as meditation, diet, and exercises for back pain. Avoid potential complications with recommended dosages and precautions. Enhance patient care with therapy-based guidance and printable patient education guides. Implement proven integrative treatments for various diseases thanks to an evidence-based therapeutic approach. Weigh the likely effectiveness of various treatments vs. their potential harm with helpful icons based on the SORT (Strength of Recommendation Taxonomy) method. Validate potential interventions through the latest research in genomics and advanced imaging technologies, such as MRI. Access the full text, image bank, downloadable Patient Education Guides, and video collections online at www.expertconsult.com. Rakel provides evidence-based guidance to apply integrative medicine in clinical care.

Pain is the most common complaint amongst all patients seeking care from all types of health practitioners. It is estimated that 40% of patient visits to health care practitioners are for the management of pain. The problem of pain and other functional complaints is an ever larger proportion of the practice of integrative medicine. Complementary and alternative medical modalities have much to offer in managing pain and functional complaints, as well as presenting new and unique perspectives on the phenomenon of pain. This book is also unique in taking into account cultural, historical and social factors in pain and pain management. While not a topic in itself (with the exception of the introductory chapter) it is a perspective that infuses all the topics of the book.

Elena J. Ladas is the Director of the Integrative Therapies Program at Columbia University. She has provided guidance on integrative therapies to individuals with cancer for over 12 years. Elena serves as an advisory member to the National Cancer Institute's PDQ editorial boards on Complementary/Alternative Medicine and Supportive Care and holds positions in both national and international research groups in these fields. Elena has published numerous articles and has lectured nationally and internationally on the topics of nutrition and integrative medicine. Elena is a registered dietician and is completing her doctoral education in nutrition at Columbia University. Dr. Kara Kelly is the Medical Director of The Integrative Therapies Program and is an Associate Professor of Clinical Pediatrics at Columbia University Medical Center. Dr. Kelly is a pediatric oncologist with clinical expertise in the treatment of children with leukemia, lymphoma and histiocytic disorders. She currently serves as a member of several research consortiums including the Children's Oncology Group and the Dana Farber Cancer Institute Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia Consortium. Dr. Kelly is a member of the National Cancer Institute's PDQ Complementary and Alternative Medicine Editorial Board. She is also a member of the Board of Directors of the Society of Integrative Oncology. Dr. Kelly has lectured extensively on the topics of oncology and integrative medicine nationally and internationally.

Women have made it clear that they desire a broader, integrative approach to their care. Here, for the first time, Integrative Women's Health weaves together the best of conventional treatments with mind-body interventions, nutritional strategies, herbal therapies, dietary supplements, acupuncture, and manual medicine, providing clinicians with a roadmap for practicing comprehensive integrative care. Presenting the best evidence in a concise, accessible format, and written exclusively by female clinicians, this text addresses many aspects of women's health, including feminine perspectives on aging, spirituality and sexuality, specific recommendations for the treatment of cardiovascular disease, rheumatoid arthritis, HIV, headaches, multiple sclerosis, depression, anxiety, and cancer, as well as integrative approaches to premenstrual syndrome, pregnancy, menopause, fibroids, and endometriosis. Homeopathic, Ayurvedic and traditional Chinese medicine practitioners provide insight into the ways in which these systems manage reproductive conditions. As leading educators in integrative medicine, editors Dr. Maizes and Dr. Low Dog demonstrate how clinicians can implement their recommendations in practice, but they also go beyond practical care to examine how to motivate patients, enhance a health history, and understand the spiritual dimensions of healing.

Contemporary psychiatry is a field that is especially conducive to the principles of integrative medicine. With the exception of a few disorders, such as schizophrenia, most psychiatric disorders respond to interventions other than drugs. Patients who have not tolerated or not responded optimally to traditional treatments are also good candidates for integrative treatments. Additionally, herbals such as St. John's wort for the treatment of depression and ginkgo for the treatment of memory impairment in dementia have been found effective in traditional clinical trials. Patients' use of alternative and complementary therapies in psychiatry has created a need for physicians to become informed about these treatments, to advise patients on their efficacy, and to be able to make judgments on integrating these therapies into existing regimens, including discussions of such issues as potential drug-herb interactions. In this volume in the Weil Integrative Medicine Library, the authors describe a rational and evidence-based approach to the integrative therapy of mental disorders integrating the principles of alternative and complementary therapies into the principles and practice of conventional psychiatry and psychology. The authors will examine what works and what doesn't, and offer practical guidelines for physicians to incorporate integrative medicine into their practice and to advise patients on reasonable and effective therapies. The text discusses areas of controversy and identifies areas of uncertainty where future research is needed. Chapters also cite the best available evidence for both the safety and the efficacy of all therapies discussed. The information is presented in accessible and easy-to-read formats, including clinical pearls and key points, with a second text color for highlighting key information.

There is ample evidence that children and adolescents in large numbers are actively using integrative (complementary and alternative) therapies. Various studies now indicate that over 50% of pediatricians surveyed would refer a patient for integrative therapy, and they would welcome morenatural therapies for children provided they were safe and effective. However, there has been little training for pediatricians in this area. Integrative Pediatrics addresses these issues and provides guidelines for pediatricians, parents, and general audiences in a balanced, evidence-based manner. In this volume in the Weil Integrative Medicine Library series, the authors describe a rational and evidence-based approach to the integrative therapy of childhood disorders and well-child care, integrating the principles of alternative and complementary therapies into the principles and practice ofconventional pediatrics. The authors examine what works and what doesn't and offer practical guidelines for physicians to incorporate integrative medicine into their practice and how to advise patients and their parents on reasonable and effective therapies. The text also covers areas of controversyand identifies areas of uncertainty where future research is needed. Chapters also cite the best available evidence for both safety and efficacy of all therapies discussed. The series editor is Andrew Weil, MD, Professor and Director of the Program of Integrative Medicine at the University of Arizon. Dr. Weil's program was the first academic program in the US and he is the major name in integrative medicine in the US, and well-known around the world. His program'sstated goal is "to combine the best ideas and practices of conventional and alternative medicine into cost effective treatments without embracing alternative practices uncritically."

People facing a new diagnosis of cancer are unsettled by their prognosis and treatment options, and they often seek to integrate complementary modalities into their conventional care plan, hoping to improve their chances of cure and decrease side effects. Many do so without informing their oncologist, for fear of alienating them or not convinced that their physician would be informed about complementary therapies. Integrative Oncology, the first volume in the Weil Integrative Medicine Library, provides a wealth of information for both practitioners and consumers on the emerging field of integrative oncology. Noted oncologist Donald Abrams and integrative medicine pioneer Andrew Weil and their international panel of experts present up-to-date and extensively referenced chapters on a wide spectrum of issues and challenges, bound in one comprehensive, reader-friendly text in a format featuring key points, sidebars, tables, and a two-color design for ease of use. It is destined to emerge as the definitive resource in this emerging field.