Databases that Contain Evidence-Based Studies
- PubMed@Wayne This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)--Overview. NLM's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases --Home page.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowConsists chiefly of 7 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE) Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL) Cochrane database of methodology reviews Cochrane methodology register Health technology assessment database (HTA) and NHS Economic evaluation database (NHS EED).
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window"Scopus is the world's largest abstracts database of 13,450 titles from more than 4,000 international publishers with access to over 25 million abstracts (going back to 1966)." Full-text is included for some citations.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowFull text access to select health science textbooks, journals, procedural videos, clinical practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials with particular emphasis on medicine and surgery.
Filtered Databases with High Levels of Evidence
These are databases that contain only high-level evidence especially for use in evidence-based practice. They can be a good place to look if you are getting too many search results on your topic.
- TRIP This link opens in a new windowTRIP is a database of hand-selected articles from journals that meet the database editors' quality criteria for evidence.
- PubMed HealthPubMed Health is a database of hand-selected articles that measure clinical effectiveness of healthcare interventions.
- Center for Reviews and DisseminationUniversity of York. Contains DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects) Reviews, HTAs (Health Technology Assessments), and Britain's NHS EED (National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database). Systematic reviews and economic evaluations of various medical and nursing interventions. Note: DARE has not been updated since spring 2015; new reviews can now be found at the NIHR Dissemination Center.
- AHRQ EPC Reports"The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), through its EPCs, sponsors the development of various reports to assist public- and private-sector organizations in their efforts to improve the quality of health care in the United States. These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies and strategies. The EPCs review all relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics. EPCs also produce technical reports on methodological topics and other types of evidence synthesis-related reports."
- The Community GuideSystematic reviews on a variety of healthcare and policy interventions for health-related issues.
- NIHR Dissemination CenterNIH evidence-based practice dissemination portal.
Subject Guide
Presentation on Finding Evidence Using Library Resources
Evidence-Based Practice E-books
Evaluating Research for Evidence-Based Nursing Practice by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780803614895Publication Date: 2008-08-22Where is the evidence in a nursing research study? What is the evidence? How good is the evidence? And, how is it relevant to providing evidence-based nursing care? Ensure that students can meet the AACN's (American Association of Colleges of Nursing) goal of identifying valid research findings and using them to determine if they are providing care that is supported by evidence.
Implementing Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781935476689Publication Date: 2011-06-01
