This revised edition covers all aspects of public health informatics and discusses the creation and management of an information technology infrastructure that is essential in linking state and local organizations in their efforts to gather data for the surveillance and prevention. Public health officials will have to understand basic principles of information resource management in order to make the appropriate technology choices that will guide the future of their organizations. Public health continues to be at the forefront of modern medicine, given the importance of implementing a population-based health approach and to addressing chronic health conditions. This book provides informatics principles and examples of practice in a public health context. In doing so, it clarifies the ways in which newer information technologies will improve individual and community health status. This book's primary purpose is to consolidate key information and promote a strategic approach to information systems and development, making it a resource for use by faculty and students of public health, as well as the practicing public health professional. Chapter highlights include: The Governmental and Legislative Context of Informatics; Assessing the Value of Information Systems; Ethics, Information Technology, and Public Health; and Privacy, Confidentiality, and Security. Review questions are featured at the end of every chapter. Aside from its use for public health professionals, the book will be used by schools of public health, clinical and public health nurses and students, schools of social work, allied health, and environmental sciences.

Over the years, medical informatics has matured into a true scientific discipline. Fundamental and applied aspects are now taught in various fields of health, including medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, nursing and public health. Medical informatics is also often included in the curricula of many other disciplines, including the life sciences, engineering and economics. Medical informatics is a complex and rapidly changing discipline. Relatively few books have been published on the subject, and they rapidly become obsolete. This book is the fruit of a collaborative effort between authors teaching medical informatics in France and others who are conducting research in this field. In addition, an international perspective was pursued, as reflected in the inclusion of various developments and actions in both the USA and Europe. This book is divided into 18 chapters, all of which include learning objectives, recommendations for further reading, exercises and bibliographic references.

Data availability is surpassing existing paradigms for governing, managing, analyzing, and interpreting health data. Big Data and Health Analytics provides frameworks, use cases, and examples that illustrate the role of big data and analytics in modern health care, including how public health information can inform health delivery. Written for health care professionals and executives, this is not a technical book on the use of statistics and machine-learning algorithms for extracting knowledge out of data, nor a book on the intricacies of database design. Instead, this book presents the current thinking of academic and industry researchers and leaders from around the world. Using non-technical language, this book is accessible to health care professionals who might not have an IT and analytics background. It includes case studies that illustrate the business processes underlying the use of big data and health analytics to improve health care delivery. Highlighting lessons learned from the case studies, the book supplies readers with the foundation required for further specialized study in health analytics and data management. Coverage includes community health information, information visualization which offers interactive environments and analytic processes that support exploration of EHR data, the governance structure required to enable data analytics and use, federal regulations and the constraints they place on analytics, and information security. Links to websites, videos, articles, and other online content that expand and support the primary learning objectives for each major section of the book are also included to help you develop the skills you will need to achieve quality improvements in health care delivery through the effective use of data and analytics.

Like the three editions that preceded it, this new edition targets markets in health care practice and educational settings. It addresses practicing nurses and nursing students, together with nursing leadership and nursing faculty. It speaks to nursing informatics specialists and--in a departure from earlier editions of this title--to all nurses, regardless of their specialty, extending its usefulness as a text as noted below. In recognition of the evolving electronic health information environment and of interdisciplinary health care teams, the book is designed to be of interest to members of other health care professions (quality officers, administrators, etc.) as well as health information technology professionals (in health care facilities and in industry). The book will include numerous relevant case studies to illustrate the theories and principles discussed, making it an ideal candidate for use within nursing curricula (both undergraduate and graduate), as well as continuing education and staff development programs. This book honors the format established by the first three editions by including a content array and questions to guide the reader. This 4th edition also includes numerous brief case studies that help to illustrate the theories and practices described within the various chapters. Most of these "mini-cases" are provided by members of professional nursing organizations that comprise the TIGER Initiative. These mini-cases are listed in the front matter and highlighted via formatting throughout the text.

Intended as a primer for those just beginning to study nursing informatics, this text equally provides a thorough introduction to basic terms and concepts, as well as an in-depth exploration of the most popular applications in nursing practice, education, administration and research. The Third Edition is updated and expanded to reflect the vast technological advances achieved in health care in recent years. Readers will learn how to use computers and information management systems in their practices, make informed choices related to software/hardware selection, and implement computerized solutions for information management strategies.

Health institutions are investing in and fielding information technology solutions at an unprecedented pace. With the recommendations from the Institute of Medicine around information technology solutions for patient safety, mandates from industry groups such as Leapfrog about using infor mation systems to improve health care, and the move toward evidence based practice, health institutions cannot afford to retain manual practices. The installation of multi-million dollar computerized health systems repre sents the very life blood of contemporary clinical operations and a crucial link to the financial viability of institutions. Yet, the implementation of health information systems is exceptionally complex, expensive and often just plain messy. The need for improvement in the art and science of systems implemen tation is clear: up to 70-80% of information technology installations fail. The reasons are multi-faceted, ranging from the complexity of the diverse workflows being computerized, the intricate nature of health organizations, the knowledge and skills of users to other reasons such as strategies for obtaining key executive support, weaving through the politics peculiar to the institution, and technical facets including the usability of systems. Thus, the art and science of successfully implementing systems remains deeply layered in elusiveness. Still, given the pervasiveness of system implementa tions and the importance of the outcomes, this is a critical topic, especially for nurses and informatics nurse specialists.

This comprehensive text reviews the concepts and applications of nursing informatics. Starting with an introduction to nursing informatics, the contents proceed from Unit One which covers computer basics to Unit Five which examines skills and techniques for using the end product of informatics: data. Other units review the effects that the Internet is having on healthcare, the ins and outs of using personal productivity software, and informatics in the clinical area. This text also comes with a suite of ancillary resourcs for both faculty and students!