Subject Librarian
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Resource Unit and Lesson Plan
This library guide will support your search for information, resources and classroom activities to support the development of your Resource Unit and Lesson Plan.
Before you begin your library research, create your Interlibrary Loan account. This will allow you to request articles we do not have available online for delivery to your email. This service is free and takes 1-2 business days.
Click here to link to Interlibrary Loan
Take a Look at the following articles. These might help you identify the learning styles of your ethnic group.
Searching for Ethnic Groups, Learning Styles and Teaching Strategies
Using appropriate and recognized search terms can help you locate articles related to the learning styles and preferences of your ethnic groups. Following are suggestions, based on the ERIC (Education Resources Information Sources) thesaurus, a list of recognized search terminology. Using quotes as indicated will keep your search terms together as a phrase when you search.
| "alaska natives" | cubans | jews |
| "american indians" | "filipino americans" | "korean americans" |
| "african americans" | haitians | mexicans |
| "anglo americans" | hawaiians | muslims |
| arabs | "hispanic americans" | "pacific americans" |
| "asian americans" | indochinese | "pacific islanders" |
| "chinese americans" | "italian americans" | "puerto ricans" |
| "japanese americans" | "samoan americans" |
You may also find you need to search other terms, such as: blacks, latinos, latinas, or rural, or create your own construction, such as "cuban americans"
You can also try some broader terms, to find articles that perhaps discuss multiple ethnic groups, such as ethnicity or minority groups.
Pair your ethnic group search term with one of the following terms, which are concepts related to learning preferences.
| "learning styles" | "cognitive development" | "educational philosophy" |
| "learning modalities" | "learning processes" | "cultural influence" |
| "learning strategies" | "culturally relevant education' |
Or, you can pair your ethnic group search term with one of the following terms that relates to a teaching strategy
| "cultural competence" | "culturally responsive" | "cross-cultural teaching" |
| "authentic materials" | "authentic texts" |
SEARCHING THE ERIC DATABASE
Select the ERIC (ProQuest) link below to search the ERIC database. You can also access the ERIC (ProQuest) database, and other databases, by going to the library homepage and selecting the Article Databases link on the left under Quicklinks.
- ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowERIC is a database you can search for articles about learning preferences for your ethnic group. You can also search ERIC for classroom activities and learning units aligned with your ethnic group's identified style.
You can also search ERIC for teaching and learning activities. Use a term that describe a particular learning style or activity that you have found as a preference for your ethnic group, such as:
| "cooperative learning" | "discovery learning" | "experiential learning" |
| "active learning" | "problem based learning" | "observational learning" |
Or search your ethnic group paired with one of the following search terms:
| "resource units" | "activity units" | "learning modules" |
| "units of study" | "learning activities" |
Help with Finding and Requesting Full Text
Finding Quality Lesson Plans and Classroom Activities on the Internet
Search for lesson plans by grade level and curriculum area. Many of these resources show alignment with standards or common core.
- CurrikiFree, high-quality curricula and education resources. Select MORE OPTIONS or SEARCH BY STANDARD from the bottom right of the search box to narrow your search. Select Curated Collections from the Resource Library drop-down menu to get to subject based quality lesson plans and activities.
- Detroit Historical Society Lesson Plan ClearinghouseLesson plans focused on Michigan and Detroit themes. All disciplines, searchable by grade level and subject.
- Discovery Education Lesson Plan LibraryBrowse by grade level and content area.
- edSITEment: Best of Humanities on the WebLesson plans for Art, Foreign Languages, History and Social Studies, Literature and Language Arts. Searchable by standards, grade level and resource type.
- ExemplarsLesson plans that have been reviewed by the EQuIP Rubrics and quality review process set out by Achieve.org to evaluate the instructional materials for Common Core State Standards alignment and quality. Searchable by grade, type and content area.
- Gale School ToolkitChoose any of the tools areas to find lesson plans, activity sheets and more, using GALE databases, many of which are available through Wayne State libraries and mel.org (the Michigan Electronic Library)
- Hot Chalk Lesson PlansBy teachers, for teachers. Searchable by Common Core standard, content area and grade level.
- Library of Congress Teachers (Classroom Materials)Search for lesson plans and activities by standards, grade level and content area.
- MiTechKidsDigital Age Teaching and Learning Resources for K-5 provided by REMC Association of Michigan
- National Geographic Teacher ResourcesSelect from Teaching Resources menu at the top of the page to find Lessons, Activities and Units by grade level and content area.
- NSDL Common Core StandardsFree online lesson plans and activities from the National Science Digital Library, searchable by standard, education level, subject area and more.
- OpenEdOpenEd's assessments, videos, games, and homework are accurately aligned to standards and sorted by their proven efficacy.
- PBS Learning MediaSearch lesson plans and other resources by grade and subject. Create a free account and use Teacher Productivity Tools to access a lesson builder, quiz maker and storyboard.
- Project Based LearningA curated list of project based learning activities searchable by subject, common core and grade level.
- Share My LessonBy teachers, for teachers. You will need to create a free account to download and view lesson plans. Searchable by grade level, content area and type of resource. Hosted by AFT.
- Smithsonian Learning LabCreate your own collections and customizing resources to fit your needs using the Learning Lab platform and the Smithsonian's vast resources. You can also add your own resources or those from other sources, annotate the objects you collect, develop your own quizzes and more. Create complete lessons or artistic collections.
- TeAch-nologyWorksheets, lesson plans, rubrics and more.
Course Texts
Teaching Strategies for Ethnic Studies by Call Number: Purdy Library E 184.A1 B24 2003ISBN: 0205337201Publication Date: 2002The Purdy Library has the 7th Edition of this text.
Guns, Germs, and Steel by Call Number: Undergraduate Library HM 206 .D48 1997ISBN: 0393038912Publication Date: 1997"Why did Eurasians conquer, displace, or decimate Native Americans, Australians, and Africans, instead of the reverse? In this groundbreaking book, evolutionary biologist Jared Diamond stunningly dismantles racially based theories of human history by revealing the environmental factors actually responsible for history's broadest patterns.
Multicultural Education in a Pluralistic Society, 6th Ed. by Call Number: Undergraduate Library and Purdy Library LC 1099.3 .G65 2002ISBN: 0130196185Publication Date: 2001This book presents social class, ethnicity and race, gender, exceptionality, religion, language, and age as micro-cultures to which students and teachers belong.
Black Children by Call Number: Undergraduate Library and Purdy LibraryLC 2771 .H34 1986ISBN: 0801833833Publication Date: 1986Argues that since black children grow up in a distinct culture, they require 'an educational system that recognizes their strengths, their abilities, and their culture, and that incorporates them into the learning process'.
Unbank the Fire by Call Number: Undergraduate Library and Purdy Library LC 2771 .H34 1986ISBN: 0801848210Publication Date: 1994In Unbank the Fire, Hale asks a new question: What sorts of extraordinary measures are needed to overcome differences and let black children reach their full potential in school and beyond? Her answer: none. "I named this book Unbank the Fire," Hale writes, "because I do not believe that extraordinary measures are called for to assist African American children in reaching their potential. All that is necessary is for this society to remove the ashes that historically and presently stunt their development."
Learning While Black by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0801867754Publication Date: 2001In this study, Janice Hale critiques existing initiatives for improving the education of African-American children. She maintains that the current focus of school reform movements - teacher training and testing, child testing, child retention, and one-size-fits-all models of parent involvement - amount to the same old thing.
