Fashion and Costume Images
"Three Princes", 16th c. French master
Costume image from the WSU "History of Costume" digital collection.
For more costume images, click on the link below.
__________
COSTUME IMAGES ON THE WEB
The Costume Institute at the MET
Includes almost 35,000 images from their collection.
__________
FASHION AND COSTUME IMAGES IN WSU DIGITAL COLLECTIONS
- History of CostumeSTYLE THROUGH THE AGES
These images of costume and dress span 5,000 years, from 3100 B.C. to 1992 A.D.
Includes 1,500 color images with notes, sketches, and commentaries. Digital license from Slide Presentations. - Digital Dress: 200 Years of Urban StyleSTYLE IN OUR LOCAL MUSEUMS
A collaborative photographic project with the WSU Libraries, the Detroit Historical Museums, Henry Ford Museum & Greenfield Village, and Meadow Brook Hall.
This multi-institutional collection of 5,000 digital images of men's, women's, and children's clothing and accessories represents fashion during this period of urban transformation. - Dorothea June Grossbart Historic Costume Collection19TH AND 20TH CENTURY STYLE
Provides digital images and descriptions of a collection of 400 garments and accessories from the 19th and 20th centuries. It is curated by the Fashion Design and Merchandising Area of the Department of Art and Art History in the College of Fine Performing, and Communication Arts (CFPCA) at Wayne State.
Shakespeare Images Online
Folger Shakespeare Library - Digital Image Collection
35,000 beautifully displayed images include costumes, manuscripts, playbills, etc.
Uses Luna Insight database software. Easy searching by Keyword.
You may need to install the software on your computer.
Follow the instructions on their web site.
http://titania.folger.edu/browse
Shakespeare images from the Bridgeman Art Library
Includes over 700 images. The Bridgeman database is not licensed by WSU but you can
browse the images and download large scale preview images.
Greek and Roman Imagery
- Perseus Digital Library Project: Art & Archaeology Artifact BrowserThe project as a whole covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
This collection includes images of buildings, coins, gems, sculpture, sites and vases.
WSU Licensed Image Databases
- Visual Resources Collection This link opens in a new windowThe WSU Visual Resources Collection houses over 100,000 images relevant to the study of art, architecture, history, literature, anthropology, science and more. Powered by Luna software, Visual Resources Collection gives users the ability to create and save presentations and slideshows for classroom use, embed images and presentations in Blackboard, and search images from the popular photo-sharing site Flickr.
Three of the most often used image databases are:
- Amica Art Library This link opens in a new windowThe AMICA Library contains over 114,000 works of art from the collections of contributing museums worldwide. Cultures and time periods range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works. Types of works include paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, and photographs, as well as textiles, costumes, jewelry, decorative art, and books and manuscripts.
- Art images for college teaching This link opens in a new windowOpen-access collection of art and architectural images photographed by Allan T. Kohl. Publicly available
- WSU General Art Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of textbook and other images that support faculty teaching at WSU.
ADDITIONAL IMAGE DATABASES LICENSED BY THE LIBRARIES:
Set Design Images on the Web
SET DESIGN IMAGES
Proofsheet
Colorful images of theatre productions from 16 theatre companies, including Joseph Papp Public Theater, the Guthrie Theater, theatre de la Jeune Luna, the Minnesota Opera, etc.by noted stage photographer Michael Daniel.
SET DESIGNERS' IMAGE GALLERIES
Best of the Web
Includes links to the work of over 50 contemporary set designers.
Open Directory Project
Many, but not all, of the links on this web site are the same as the "Best of the Web" (above.)
The Society of British Theatre Designers
Images are listed by title of show.
Joseph Urban Stage Design Models & Documents
The Collection Guide links to images from his work in New York - with the Metropolitan Opera, Ziegfield Productions and New York Theater as well as work on film productions etc.
IMAGES FOR INSPIRATION
American Memory Project
From the Library of Congress. A searchable collection of images, prints, maps etc. that document historical events, people, places.
New York Public Library: Digital Gallery
A searchable database of 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
DIGITAL IMAGE LIBRARIES
Bridgeman Art Library
Digital images for purchase. WSU owns some of them which are available via the Visual Resources Collection. For those images that we have not purchased, it is still possible to search the database and download large preview images. Includes an "Arts and Entertainment" section which includes numerous theater related images including a Shakespeare image section.
Art History
Metropolitan Museum: Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History: Works of Art
A very rich resource. The link above opens at the "Works of Art" page. Beautifully photographed images are searchable by Time Period, Geographical Region or Thematic Category as well as by Artist and Title of Work. Another tab opens to the Timelines, which include Overviews, Key Events and link to related works of art.
Art History Resources on the Web
Very comprehensive site that includes art historical images from Prehistory to 20th century. Also includes numerous links to museum collections around the world as well as links to photographic work. From Art History professor Chris Witcombe at Sweet Briar College in Virginia.
Smithsonian Archives of American Art
Since 1954, the Archives has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America.
Streaming Video: Multidisciplinary Subjects
- Kanopy Streaming VideoKanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Theatre in Video Database
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new windowAn online streaming video database. Contains more than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video—more than 500 hours in all. These definitive performances, by leading actors and directors, have been licensed from a wide range of copyright holders.
Featured Online Image Collection
Yale University now provides FREE ACCESS AND USE of 250,000 images from across its collections. Includes images from the Peabody Museum, Center for British Art, University Art Gallery, University Library Map Collection, and the Lewis Walpole Library of Prints and Drawings.
Architecture
Includes 12,000 images of buildings and cities throughout the world. Searchable by architect, style, city, country, date. From the University of Washington libraries.
Furniture and Decorative Arts
Herman Miller Furniture Consortium
Part of the WSU Digital Collections.
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
Includes links to image collections and virtual exhibits of vintage furniture, ceramics and prints from the 17th to 19th century.
Photography
Virtual Motor City
Part of WSU's Digital Collections. Includes images from the Detroit News photo archive.
Advertising and Posters
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
Over 9,000 images relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. From Duke University libraries.
New York Public Library (NYPL) Digital Gallery
Includes images of posters, advertisements, and other printed matter.
General Images on the Web
- Flickr photo sharingTo use Flickr, you will need to sign up for an account.