Strategies to find articles
- Article DatabasesIf you do not have the name of a database in mind, use the "By Subject Area" dropdown box to select a subject area. "Best Bets" will be listed, and you can click the "All" button if you would like even more databases.
- General & Multidisciplinary databasesThese databases have broad coverage of many scholarly topics, and are a good place to begin your research. You can press the "All" button for even more databases.
- Subject GuidesThis subject listing is for academic subjects taught at Wayne State University. Many Guides list databases that have been selected by the Librarian who specializes in that area.
Best Bets
These "Best Bets" are large academic databases and include citations on most topics. Skip to the boxes below for more subject-specific options, such as History, Humanities, Newspapers, Social Sciences, etc.
- ArticleFirst This link opens in a new windowThis database contains the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals, mostly in the English language. Many entries link to the full-text of articles. Include the name of a language or country to get articles about it.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from ethnic and minority presses in the United States. The dropdown box can be used to search within a specific ethnic group.
- ISI Web of KnowledgeArts & Humanities, Science, and Social Science Citation Indexes are all searched through this single interface, with links to full-text from most citations.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA large and in-depth database that includes the full-text of back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines.
- OCLC FirstSearch electronic collections online This link opens in a new windowFull-text searching for a growing journal collection in a variety of subject areas.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowAn excellent database for gathering pro and con viewpoints on current controversial topics.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals published primarily by university presses.
- ProQuest Multisearch This link opens in a new windowSearch across multiple ProQuest databases at one time.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowOver 36 million records of items catalogued in libraries around the world. This database contains books, journal titles, electronic resources, videos, recordings, etc.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSelective access to the world's literature on language and language behavior.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive database which covers the modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
History
- Gale Primary Sources Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowEvery significant English- and foreign-language title printed in the UK during the 18th century, and thousands of important works from the 18th century Americas.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowDigital facsimile page images of almost every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere, from 1473-1700.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present.
- Humanities & social sciences index retrospective, 1907-1984. This link opens in a new windowImportant journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907, including content from H.W. Wilson’s International Index.
- Iter bibliography This link opens in a new windowAn index to literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal articles, essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
- Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowIndexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Currently includes the years 1963 through 1982. The complete database will eventually cover the years 1890 through 1982, and will reflect the history of 20th century America.
Humanities (Literature, Art, Music, Film, etc.)
- ARTFL project, University of Chicago This link opens in a new windowThe Subscription and Public Databases, as well as the ARTFL Reference Collection, all contain specialized reference tools.
- British Humanities Index This link opens in a new windowInternational in scope, this index includes abstracts for research in language and literature.
- FIAF international film archive database This link opens in a new windowIndexes film and television periodicals from the 1970's to the present.
- Iter Italicum This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. An essential tool for classical, medieval, and Renaissance scholars.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive database which covers the modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- Music index. This link opens in a new windowIndex of 725 international music periodicals from over 40 countries and in 23 languages. Covers all styles and genres of classical and popular music, sorted by subject and geographic location.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowAudio tracks of classical music, historical recordings, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music.If you are prompted for a user name, Wayne's maximum number of users has been reached, and you will have to try again later.
- RILM abstracts of music literature This link opens in a new windowThis index to international music is produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale. It includes all data from the RILM printed year 1969 to the present.
- Visual Resources Collection This link opens in a new windowOver 100,000 images relevant to the study of art, architecture, history, literature, anthropology, etc. Users can create and save presentations and slideshows for classroom use, embed images and presentations in Blackboard, and search images from the popular photo-sharing site Flickr.
- WSU General Art Collection This link opens in a new windowOne of the largest and most important image archives for the teaching of art history, this collection includes important works from over one hundred museums, including the Louvre, the Musée d'Orsay, the Uffizi, the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches Museum in Vienna, the National Museums in Athens, Rome, and Stockholm, and museums in Berlin. Users can easily create presentations and slideshows with these images.
Newspapers
- New York Times Historical Full-Text This link opens in a new windowConsidered "the U.S. newspaper of record," the New York Times includes international news. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Note that advertisements can also provide important insights into history.
- New York Times - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
Social Sciences (Law, Political Science, etc.)
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new windowA large archive of machine-readable social science data, training facilities in basic and advanced techniques of quantitative social analysis, and resources that facilitate the use of advanced computer technology by social scientists.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowA broad range of news, business, legal and reference information.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes of statistical information from the U.S. government, state and private sources, and international organizations. Some full-text and weblinks are provided.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1963 to the present.
- Legal scholarship network This link opens in a new windowDatabase of published research papers in pdf format in various area of law.
- United Nations Official Document System This link opens in a new windowOfficial full-text repository for documents published by the United Nations dating back to 1992 in all official languages of the United Nations - Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish. The UN Documentation database includes documents back to 1992 and the UN Resolutions database includes resolutions back to 1946.
- Urban studies abstracts This link opens in a new windowBibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies all over the world, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other relevant topics.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations with abstracts of journal articles appearing political science journals from 1975 to the present.
Finding Journals in Your Academic Discipline
It's possible to search WSU's eJournals or databases such as Ulrich's, WorldCat to find specific journal titles (especially if you already know the name of the journal). Searching across many journals at once by using a database is highly recommended. Use Chat or consult a librarian if you need help.
Example:
Professional/Trade Journals:
Cancer: diagnosis treatment research
ISSN: 0008-543X (Academic; Scholarly)
Academic Research Journals:
American Journal of Clinical Oncology (Academic, Scholarly)
Tutorials (How to . . . )
- Locating Empirical Research Articles [Handout]This online tutorial explains how to find articles that describe original research studies, experiments, etc. For "Scholarly" or "Peer-reviewed" articles that do not necessarily have to be 'empirical research' articles, you can frequently just check a box while searching in the database, or click a display tab at the top that says "Scholarly" or "Peer-reviewed" after your results are displayed.
- re:SearchAn online tutorial that has six modules (listed across the top) that walks you through the research and paper-writing process.
Liaison Librarian
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies