M1 Recommended Readings
Make It Stick by
The international bestseller that has helped millions of students, teachers, and lifelong learners use proven approaches to learn better and remember longer. "We have made Make It Stick a touchstone for our instructors and support ... to gain a real advantage for our learners as they tackle some of the toughest work in the world." --Carl Czech, former Senior Instructional Systems Specialist/Advisor, US Navy SEALs Are you tired of forgetting what you learn? This groundbreaking book, based on the latest research in cognitive science, offers powerful strategies to boost memory and learning. To most of us, learning something "the hard way" means wasted time and effort. Good teaching, many believe, should be tailored to the different learning styles of students and should use strategies that make learning easier. Make It Stick turns fashionable ideas like these on their head. Drawing on recent discoveries in cognitive psychology and a 10-year collaboration among some of the world's leading experts on human learning and memory, the authors explain what really drives successful learning. With clear, real-world examples, they show how we can confidently hone our skills and learn more effectively. Many common study habits simply don't work. Underlining, highlighting, rereading, cramming, and single-minded repetition of new skills create the illusion of mastery, but gains fade quickly. Science shows that more durable learning comes from self-testing, introducing certain difficulties in practice, waiting to re-study new material until a little forgetting has occurred, and interleaving the practice of one skill or topic with another. Make It Stick breaks down these proven approaches in compelling ways and offers concrete techniques for becoming more productive learners. Full of eye-opening and inspiring stories for students, educators, and parents, Make It Stick is an indispensable guide to all those interested in the challenge of lifelong learning and self-improvement.
ISBN: 9780674419377Publication Date: 2014-04-14
Medical Apartheid by
Medical Apartheidis the first and only comprehensive history of medical experimentation on African Americans. Starting with the earliest encounters between black Americans and Western medical researchers and the racist pseudoscience that resulted, it details the ways both slaves and freedmen were used in hospitals for experiments conducted without their knowledge-a tradition that continues today within some black populations. It reveals how blacks have historically been prey to grave-robbing as well as unauthorized autopsies and dissections. Moving into the twentieth century, it shows how the pseudoscience of eugenics and social Darwinism was used to justify experimental exploitation and shoddy medical treatment of blacks, and the view that they were biologically inferior, oversexed, and unfit for adult responsibilities. Shocking new details about the government's notorious Tuskegee experiment are revealed, as are similar, less-well-known medical atrocities conducted by the government, the armed forces, prisons, and private institutions. The product of years of prodigious research into medical journals and experimental reports long undisturbed, Medical Apartheidreveals the hidden underbelly of scientific research and makes possible, for the first time, an understanding of the roots of the African American health deficit. At last, it provides the fullest possible context for comprehending the behavioral fallout that has caused black Americans to view researchers-and indeed the whole medical establishment-with such deep distrust. No one concerned with issues of public health and racial justice can afford not to read Medical Apartheid, a masterful book that will stir up both controversy and long-needed debate.
ISBN: 9780767915472Publication Date: 2008-01-08
Principles of Medical Biochemistry by
For nearly 30 years, Principles of Medical Biochemistry has integrated medical biochemistry with molecular genetics, cell biology, and genetics to provide complete yet concise coverage that links biochemistry with clinical medicine. The 4th Edition of this award-winning text by Drs. Gerhard Meisenberg and William H. Simmons has been fully updated with new clinical examples, expanded coverage of recent changes in the field, and many new case studies online. A highly visual format helps readers retain complex information, and USMLE-style questions (in print and online) assist with exam preparation. Just the right amount of detail on biochemistry, cell biology, and genetics - in one easy-to-digest textbook. Full-color illustrations and tables throughout help students master challenging concepts more easily. Online case studies serve as a self-assessment and review tool before exams. Glossary of technical terms, both in print and online. Clinical Boxes and Clinical Content demonstrate the integration of basic sciences and clinical applications, helping readers make connections between the two. New clinical examples have been added throughout the text. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes access -- on a variety of devices -- to the complete text, images, and references from the book.
ISBN: 9780323296168Publication Date: 2016-11-28
Medical Biochemistry: the Big Picture by
Get the BIG PICTURE of Medical Biochemistry - and target what you really need to know to ace the course exams and the USMLE Step 1 300 FULL-COLOR ILLUSTRATIONS Medical Biochemistry: The Big Picture is a unique biochemistry review that focuses on the medically applicable concepts and techniques that form the underpinnings of the diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment of medical conditions. Those preparing for the USMLE, residents, as well as clinicians who desire a better understanding of the biochemistry behind a particular pathology will find this book to be an essential reference. Featuring succinct, to-the-point text, more than 300 full-color illustrations, and a variety of learning aids, Medical Biochemistry: The Big Picture is designed to make complex concepts understandable in the shortest amount of time possible. This full-color combination text and atlas features: Progressive chapters that allow you to build upon what you've learned in a logical, effective manner Chapter Overviews that orient you to the important concepts covered in that chapter Numerous tables and illustrations that clarify and encapsulate the text Sidebars covering a particular disease or treatment add clinical relevance to topic discussed Essay-type review questions at the end of each chapter allow you to assess your comprehension of the major topics USMLE-style review questions at the end of each section Three appendices, including examples of biochemically based diseases, a review of basic biochemical techniques, and a review of organic chemistry/biochemistry A Doody's Core Title for 2022!
ISBN: 9780071637916Publication Date: 2012-03-09
Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry: A Clinical Approach, 6th Edition links biochemistry to physiology and pathophysiology, empowering students to confidently apply fundamental concepts to the practice of medicine -- from diagnosing patients to recommending effective treatments. This proven, application-centered approach builds biochemical coverage around related clinical concepts to anchor students' understanding to a clinical context from day one. Intuitively organized chapters center on hypothetical patient vignettes to emphasize clinical applications, and helpful icons, images, and review questions make complex concepts easier to grasp. New Genetics chapter instills a foundational understanding of this essential topic without the need for a separate resource. More than 700-chapter review questions -- including over 200 new questions -- with answers and explanations prepare students for success on USMLE exams and others. The Waiting Room clinical case studies at the beginning of each chapter emphasize the clinical relevance of biochemical concepts and enable students to practice applying knowledge to real-world clinical scenarios. Clinical Notes and Method Notes in the chapter margins help students hone their critical thinking and laboratory application skills. Chapter Summaries and Key Content lists that detail essential chapter takeaways at a glance allow students to study more efficiently. Clinical Comments and Biomechanical Comments, throughout the text, allow students to make a smooth transition to practice. Additional Online Features: New End-of-Section Exams- totaling 100 questions Animations Supplemental text, tables, and figures Disease links Disease methods Full patient profiles
ISBN: 9781975150143Publication Date: 2022-08-25
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021, 2022 and 2023! Praised by faculty and students for more than two decades, Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry is the long-established go-to resource for mastering the essentials of biochemistry. This best-selling text helps students quickly review, assimilate, and integrate large amounts of critical and complex information, with unparalleled illustrations that bring concepts to life. Like other titles in the popular Lippincott® Illustrated Review Series, this text follows an intuitive outline organization and boasts a wealth of study aids that clarify challenging information and strengthen retention and understanding. This updated and revised edition emphasizes clinical application and features new exercises, questions, and accompanying digital resources to ready students for success on exams and beyond. NEW! Clinical Application boxes train students to confidently apply biochemistry in clinical scenarios. NEW! Cross-references to other Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews titles help students grasp how biochemical concepts relate to other basic sciences. UPDATED! Vibrant illustrations and detailed tables clarify complex biochemical concepts. NEW and UPDATED! Study Questions and Answers for each chapter test students' retention and strengthen their test-taking confidence. UPDATED! Integrative Case Studies with Review Questions familiarize students with commonly encountered clinical scenarios and alert them to potential widespread implications of presenting issues. NEW! Animations enhance students' understanding of biochemical concepts and processes with vivid detail and accuracy.
ISBN: 9781975155063Publication Date: 2021-04-20
Medical Biochemistry - an Essential Textbook by
The perfect biochemistry study tool for the classroom and examinations! Medical Biochemistry: An Essential Textbook, Second Edition by Sankhavaram Panini covers the clinically relevant biochemistry facts and concepts necessary for success in the classroom and on board examinations. This clear and concise new edition includes an expanded number of clinical questions, revised tables, diagrams, images focused on high-yield information, and an updated design. Key Highlights More than 350 full-color illustrations of biochemical pathways highlight associated disorders and drug targets The succinct, bullet-point format focuses on must master information Approximately 400 color-coded boxes connect biochemical concepts with basic science and clinical conditions About 365 board-style self-testing questions with answers and explanations are ideal for exam practice This is an invaluable resource for biochemistry courses and will greatly benefit medical students seeking a robust board prep for the USMLE® Step I or COMLEX Level I exams. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
ISBN: 9781626237445Publication Date: 2021-01-04
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle. UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations. UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter.
ISBN: 9781496398178Publication Date: 2020-08-26
The Developing Human by
Extensively revised to incorporate recent research and current clinical practice, The Developing Human: Clinically Oriented Embryology, 11th Edition, covers all aspects of normal and abnormal embryonic and fetal development. In a clear, concise manner and lavishly illustrated throughout, this textbook is designed to successfully meet the needs of medical and health sciences profession students, as well as those in graduate programs. It provides an easy-to-digest, comprehensive review of what can be a complex and challenging subject. BONUS online features such as multiple-choice questions and narrated animations further support student success. Guides readers month by month and stage by stage through embryo and fetal organ and systems development, using full-color photographs of clinical cases, relevant modern medical imaging, and numerous high-quality supportive figures. Includes many new 3D HD color rendered images of embryos and fetuses, as well as 3D reconstructions of whole embryos. Provides clinically-oriented problems for each chapter, with corresponding answers and explanations designed to facilitate discussion and learning. In addition, multiple-choice questions and answers are available online for supportive self-assessment. Features 18 exceptional color animations, now with narration, to help students as they explore and learn the complexity of embryological development. Provides the knowledge base needed for today's examinations, including USMLE Step 1, as well as for future clinical practice. Thoroughly updated information includes new annotations on fundamental molecular events during embryogenesis, now required for many professional examinations. Includes enhanced clinical material in all chapters, with updated tables, Clinical Case highlights and a critical chapter on common signalling pathways during development that covers gene editing (CRISPR/Cas9), induced pluripotent stem cells (iPS), a revision of the sonic hedgehog signalling pathway; and more. Details how molecular biology has affected clinical practice, including techniques such as recumbent DNA technology and stem cell manipulation. Includes an Enhanced eBook version with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323611541Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Langman's Medical Embryology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2023! Concise, clearly written, and vibrantly illustrated, Langman's Medical Embryology, 15th Edition, makes complex embryology concepts approachable to help you build the clinical understanding essential to your success in medical practice, nursing, or other health professions. Hundreds of full-color illustrations clarify the stages of embryonic development with rich detail, and engaging learning features, clinical examples, and online review questions ready you for the challenges ahead on your exams and in clinical practice. NEW! Medical Embryology Animations, now included with the purchase of the print book, allow users to visualize the stages of human development and master the corresponding anatomical relationships. UPDATED! Clinical Correlates boxes reinforce clinically relevant content through realistic case-based scenarios you're likely to encounter in practice. UPDATED! More than 400 full-color illustrations, micrographs, and clinical images clarify key aspects of embryonic development in vivid detail. UPDATED! Clinical vignette and USMLE-style multiple-choice questions, available via digital access, with answers provide valuable self-assessment and strengthen your test-taking confidence. Problems to Solve boost your critical thinking capabilities. End-of-Chapter Summaries detail key stages of development, terms, and clinical conditions for each chapter at a glance.
ISBN: 9781975179960Publication Date: 2023-01-13
Human Embryology and Developmental Biology by
Completely revised from cover to cover, Human Embryology and Developmental Biology, 6th Edition, helps you master complex concepts on every aspect of normal and abnormal human development. Dr. Bruce M. Carlson provides authoritative, readable coverage of today's scientific knowledge in this fast-changing field, keeping you up to date with what you need to know for coursework, exams, and clinical practice. Features an extensive, full-color illustration program, with hundreds of superb clinical photos and embryological drawings - more than 50 new to this edition. Presents information in an integrated, easy-to-follow manner, incorporating molecular, experimental, and morphological material into each relevant area of the text. Includes numerous new, high-quality photos of congenital malformations. Provides major updates to many topics, including neuroembryology, early embryology, fetal imaging techniques, somite formation, and craniofacial development. Newly added series of animations for visualization of complex embryological processes. Offers helpful bonus material online, including the animations, there is also self-assessment questions, up-to-date references, and much more. Helps you understand the molecular basis of embryology, including the processes of branching and folding - essential knowledge for determining the root of many abnormalities. Features clinical vignettes and Clinical Correlations boxes to help you better understand the clinical manifestations of developmental abnormalities. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323881685Publication Date: 2023-12-05
Gray's Anatomy for Students by
Concise, readable text and an outstanding art program make Gray's Anatomy for Students, 5th Edition, your go-to text for essential information in human anatomy. This fully revised volume focuses on the core information medical students need to know, in an easy-access format and with additional multimedia content to facilitate effective study and mastery of the material. A team of expert authors share a wealth of diverse teaching and clinical experience-all enhanced by more than 1,000 innovative, original illustrations by renowned illustrators Richard Tibbitts and Paul Richardson, who capture anatomical features with unrivalled clarity. Helps you understand the practical applications of anatomical concepts through unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies. Contains increased representation of diverse population groups throughout, incorporating a wider range of skin tones and important clinical considerations related to transgender and intersex individuals. Presents anatomy logically by body region - as well as bonus updated eBook chapters for each major body system to facilitate learning from a different perspective. Includes new and improved online materials such as self-assessment questions, medical and physical therapy clinical cases, a unique Interactive Surface Anatomy tool, and more. Provides fully revised and updated clinical content including numerous new In the Clinic boxes, images, and correlates throughout that reflect the latest advances seen in clinical practice. New and updated Clinical Cases are included in the accompanying enhanced eBook. Features an updated neuroanatomy eBook chapter, so you can learn key aspects of this challenging topic in the context of general anatomy. Improves comprehension of complex cranial nerves with a visual map summarizing cranial nerve distribution and function. Offers schematic drawings for key structures and topics in every chapter, providing an additional, simplified approach to introduce each topic-ideal for quick initial understanding and as a guide for your own anatomy drawings. Enables you to quickly review the basic concepts from each chapter with Conceptual Overviews. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Evolve Instructor site with a downloadable image bank is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at https://evolve.elsevier.com.
ISBN: 9780323934237Publication Date: 2024-01-01
Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy by
Renowned for its comprehensive coverage and engaging, storytelling approach, the bestselling Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy, 9th Edition, guides students from initial anatomy and foundational science courses through clinical training and practice. A popular resource for a variety of programs, this proven text serves as a complete reference, emphasizing anatomy that is important in physical diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. The 9th Edition reflects the latest changes in the clinical application of anatomy as well as preparation for the USMLE while maintaining the highest standards for scientific and clinical accuracy. NEW! Sex and gender content clarifies important gender considerations and reflects an equitable focus on female as well as male anatomy. Updated medical imaging and integrated surface anatomy within each chapter clearly demonstrates the relationship between anatomy, physical examination, and diagnosis. Extensively revised Clinical Blue Boxes highlight the practical applications of anatomy, accompanied by helpful icons, illustrations, and images that distinguish the type of clinical information covered. Updated introduction establishes the foundational understanding of systemic information and basic concepts essential to success from the classroom to the dissection lab. Revised comprehensive surface anatomy photographs ensure accurate, effective physical examination diagnoses with integrated natural views of unobstructed surface anatomy and illustrations superimposing anatomical structures with landmarks for more accurate physical examination. Insightfully rendered, anatomically accurate illustrations, combined with many photographs and medical images, strengthen comprehension of anatomical concepts and retention of "mental images" of anatomical structures. Bottom Line boxes provide detailed summaries at a glance and underscore the "big-picture" perspective. Illustrated tables clarify complex information about muscles, veins, arteries, nerves, and other structures for easy study and review. Chapter outlines help students find key information quickly and efficiently.
ISBN: 9781975209544Publication Date: 2023-04-06
Netter's Clinical Anatomy by
Offering a targeted, concise approach to clinical anatomy, Netter's Clinical Anatomy, 5th Edition, is a portable, easy-to-read text that bridges normal anatomy to common clinical conditions. It features nearly 600 superb illustrations by Drs. Frank H. Netter and Carlos Machado that provide essential descriptions of anatomy, embryology, and pathology to help you understand their clinical relevance. Authored by John Hansen, PhD, an Honored Member of the American Association of Clinical Anatomists, this visually stunning text covers and reviews the sizable area of human anatomy and pathology in a quick, easy-to-grasp format. Nearly 600 Netter and Machado illustrations provide essential depictions of anatomy, embryology, and pathology to help you quickly learn and understand through visuals. Every clinical correlation is illustrated-more than 200 in all. Clinical Focus boxes present hundreds of illustrated clinical correlations that bridge anatomy to pathophysiology, and Features and Characteristics boxes explain the relation between structure and function. Muscle/Ligament/Joint tables summarize attachment points, actions, and other key information related to each structure. Uses updated terminology based on the second edition of the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, and content is aligned with Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy, 8th Edition. Both USMLE-style review questions and short answer questions online help you gauge your mastery of the material and assess areas in need of further study. Other study tools include bonus clinical focus boxes, and 3D models. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evolve Instructor site with an image bank of clinical correlates is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at https://evolve.elsevier.com.
ISBN: 9780323826624Publication Date: 2022-03-03
Histology: a Text and Atlas by
Combining a reader-friendly textbook and a rich, full-color atlas, Histology: A Text and Atlas: With Correlated Cell and Molecular Biology, 9th Edition, equips medical, dental, health professions, and undergraduate biology and cell biology students with a comprehensive grasp of the clinical and functional correlates of histology and a vivid understanding of the structural and functional details of cells, tissues, and organs. The 9th Edition of this bestselling resource reflects the latest advances in cellular and molecular biology and relevant imaging techniques, accompanied by large, high-resolution illustrations and full-color photomicrographs that clarify microanatomy in vibrant detail. System chapters align conveniently with curricula units and emphasize a clinical context, making this proven approach ideal for integrated curricula as well as standalone histology courses. To accommodate reviewers' suggestions, the ninth edition integrates new information in cell biology with clinical correlates, which readers will see as new clinical information items highlighted in blue text and in clinical boxes (called "Folders"). For example, the last few years of the COVID-19 pandemic has sparked interest about the changes in normal tissue when infected by the severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) virus. Several chapters contain descriptions of these changes with underlying explanations of cellular and molecular mechanisms and clinical features presented by patients. Additional changes include the following: A new discussion on the mononuclear phagocytic system and the cell biology of resident tissue macrophage has been added. The latest research findings in immune cell activation have been incorporated. Updated cellular biology topics include beige adipose tissue, the epithelial-mesenchymal transition, conjunctiva- associated lymphatic tissue, biogenesis and function of peroxisomes, and microsomes as the newest discovered form of cell-to-cell communication. New, more detailed information about the histology of the female and male external genitalia has been included. The skin chapter has been supplemented and updated with many new additions, including of skin color and aging. With the constant improvement in microscopic methods, a new basic discussion on three-dimensional (3D) microscopy methods was incorporated in the methods chapter.
ISBN: 9781975181512Publication Date: 2023-09-15
Wheater's Functional Histology by
Now in its seventh edition, Wheater's Functional Histology is designed to give students a working knowledge of histology, including the basic histological structures, tissue types and organ systems. You will learn to recognise the microscopic structure of normal human tissues and understand how this relates to function. The book shows you how to apply histology in a clinical context through coverage of common clinical conditions in each chapter. This must-have book is written clearly and concisely, designed for those studying histology for the first time. Packed with a wealth of illustrations and learning aids, it is a must-have for every medical and health science student. Concise and easy to digest text - easy to follow for those new to histology More than 900 high quality histology images and illustrations, plus detailed explanations to support understanding End of chapter review tables summarising important points Self-assessment questions and rationales to support exam preparation Appendix outlining the basics of microscopy and histological staining techniques Basic glossary An enhanced eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud More clinical correlation boxes More clinical images More questions added
ISBN: 9780702083341Publication Date: 2023-05-15
Histology and Cell Biology: an Introduction to Pathology by
Linking basic science to clinical application throughout, Histology and Cell Biology: An Introduction to Pathology, 5th Edition, helps students build a stronger clinical knowledge base in the challenging area of pathologic abnormalities. This award-winning text presents key concepts in an understandable, easy-to-understand manner, with full-color illustrations, diagrams, photomicrographs, and pathology photos fully integrated on every page. Student-friendly features such as highlighted clinical terms, Clinical Conditions boxes, Essential Concepts boxes, concept mapping animations, and more help readers quickly grasp complex information. Features new content on cancer immunotherapy, satellite cells and muscle repair, vasculogenesis and angiogenesis in relation to cancer treatment, and mitochondria replacement therapies. Presents new material on ciliogenesis, microtubule assembly and disassembly, chromatin structure and condensation, and X chromosome inactivation, which directly impact therapy for ciliopathies, infertility, cancer, and Alzheimer's disease. Provides thoroughly updated information on gestational trophoblastic diseases, molecular aspects of breast cancer, and basic immunology, including new illustrations on the structure of the T-cell receptor, CD4+ cells subtypes and functions, and the structure of the human spleen. Uses a new, light green background throughout the text to identify essential concepts of histology - a feature requested by both students and instructors to quickly locate which concepts are most important for beginning learners or when time is limited. These essential concepts are followed by more detailed information on cell biology and pathology. Contains new Primers in most chapters that provide a practical, self-contained integration of histology, cell biology, and pathology - perfect for clarifying the relationship between basic and clinical sciences. Identifies clinical terms throughout the text and lists all clinical boxes in the table of contents for quick reference. Helps students understand the links between chapter concepts with concept mapping animations on Student ConsultT - an outstanding supplement to in-class instruction. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323673211Publication Date: 2019-06-10
Fundamental Neuroscience for Basic and Clinical Applications by
Using a rigorous yet clinically-focused approach, Fundamental Neuroscience for Basic and Clinical Applications, 5th Edition, covers the fundamental neuroscience information needed for coursework, exams, and beyond. It integrates neuroanatomy, pharmacology, and physiology, and offers a full section devoted to systems neurobiology, helping you comprehend and retain the complex material you need to know. Highlights clinical content in blue throughout the text, helping you focus on what you need to know in the clinical environment. Presents thoroughly updated information in every chapter, with an emphasis on new clinical thinking as related to the brain and systems neurobiology. Features hundreds of correlated state-of-the-art imaging examples, anatomical diagrams, and histology photos - nearly half are new or improved for this edition. Pays special attention to the correct use of clinical and anatomical terminology, and provides new clinical text and clinical-anatomical correlations.
ISBN: 9780323396325Publication Date: 2017-10-13
Health Systems Science by
The first textbook devoted to this emerging area, Health Systems Science now brings you fully up to date with today's key issues and solutions. This increasingly important branch of health care explores how health care is delivered, how health care professionals work together to deliver that care, and how the health system can improve patient care and health care delivery. Along with basic and clinical sciences, health systems science is rapidly becoming a crucial 'third pillar' of medical science, with an emphasis on understanding the role of human factors, systems engineering, leadership, and patient improvement strategies that will help transform the future of health care and ensure greater patient safety. In this 2nd Edition, new chapters, new exercises, and new information help you acquire the knowledge and skills you need for success in today's challenging healthcare system. The first comprehensive text for mastering health systems science, offering practical coverage of all of the factors in the lives of patients that influence their well-being, the structures and processes of the health system itself, societal factors, communication, and information technology. NEW to this edition: New content on systems thinking and ethics and legal issues further define and address this new important component of health care education; additional exercises; and expanded information on the patient experience and private practice. Complete coverage of patient safety, quality improvement, value in health care, teamwork, stewardship of health care resources, population health, clinical informatics, care coordination, leadership, and health care financing/reform. Patient improvement strategies incorporate checklists, information technology, team training, and more. A consistent chapter template provides clear coverage of each topic, including Learning Objectives, Chapter Outline, Core Chapter Content, Summary, Questions for Reflection, and Annotated Bibliography and References. Developed by the American Medical Association's Accelerating Change in Medical Education Consortium, and authored by a team that includes AMA staff members working with individuals from the Consortium member schools. StudentConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RA 410.53 .H453 2021ISBN: 9780323694629Publication Date: 2020-05-19
Social and Behavioral Science for Health Professionals by
Health professionals'' interest in social and behavioral science is rapidly increasing due to the growing recognition that social factors such as income, education, race, gender, and age all impact individuals'' health. These and other social conditions also shape patients'' illness experiences, the ways that they interact with health care providers, and the effectiveness of with which health professionals provide care. Understanding these social determinants and applying them to clinical practice is a major challenge for healthcare providers, which is why programs and accrediting bodies have been including more social and behavioral science content into the curricula for medical, nursing, and allied health programs. Social and Behavioral Science for Health Professionals provides in-depth coverage of the social determinants of health and how to directly apply these insights in clinical practice, thereby enhancing clinicians'' ability to engage their patients and more effectively render care. Broken into four parts, the book opens with the foundations of social science and health, including the shifting landscape of health and healthcare. The authors then cover the way in which social determinants of health shape large-scale features of health and illness in society, how they influence interactions between patients and providers in clinical settings, and how they shape health care systems and policies. Threshold concepts in each chapterfocus on conceptual and transformative learning while learning objectives, activities, and discussion questions provide instructors and students with robust sets of learning aids that intentionally focus on practical clinical, epidemiological, and policy issues. Ideal for students, educators, and professionals in health care, medical sociology, public health, and related fields, Social and Behavioral Science for Health Professionals is the only introduction available that clearly articulates why social and behavioral science matter in clinical care. New to This Edition: New Chapter 13 on Comparative Health Care Systems covers four models of health care systems and expands the global focus of the book Greater emphasis on the LGBTQ+ community provides coverage of how gender expression and sexual orientation influence health and quality of care received New coverage of current issues such as the opioid crisis and vaccine hesitancy that have been rendered especially important by the COVID-19 pandemic Added discussion questions at the end of every chapter strengthen students'' critical thinking skills and abilities to apply new insights to practical, real-world examples. e. Broken into four parts, the book opens with the foundations of social science and health, including the shifting landscape of health and healthcare. The authors then cover the way in which social determinants of health shape large-scale features of health and illness in society, how they influence interactions between patients and providers in clinical settings, and how they shape health care systems and policies. Threshold concepts in each chapterfocus on conceptual and transformative learning while learning objectives, activities, and discussion questions provide instructors and students with robust sets of learning aids that intentionally focus on practical clinical, epidemiological, and policy issues. Ideal for students, educators, and professionals in health care, medical sociology, public health, and related fields, Social and Behavioral Science for Health Professionals is the only introduction available that clearly articulates why social and behavioral science matter in clinical care. New to This Edition: New Chapter 13 on Comparative Health Care Systems covers four models of health care systems and expands the global focus of the book Greater emphasis on the LGBTQ+ community provides coverage of how gender expression and sexual orientation influence health and quality of care received New coverage of current issues such as the opioid crisis and vaccine hesitancy that have been rendered especially important by the COVID-19 pandemic Added discussion questions at the end of every chapter strengthen students'' critical thinking skills and abilities to apply new insights to practical, real-world examples. l care. New to This Edition: New Chapter 13 on Comparative Health Care Systems covers four models of health care systems and expands the global focus of the book Greater emphasis on the LGBTQ+ community provides coverage of how gender expression and sexual orientation influence health and quality of care received New coverage of current issues such as the opioid crisis and vaccine hesitancy that have been rendered especially important by the COVID-19 pandemic Added discussion questions at the end of every chapter strengthen students'' critical thinking skills and abilities to apply new insights to practical, real-world examples. e. Broken into four parts, the book opens with the foundations of social science and health, including the shifting landscape of health and healthcare. The authors then cover the way in which social determinants of health shape large-scale features of health and illness in society, how they influence interactions between patients and providers in clinical settings, and how they shape health care systems and policies. Threshold concepts in each chapterfocus on conceptual and transformative learning while learning objectives, activities, and discussion questions provide instructors and students with robust sets of learning aids that intentionally focus on practical clinical, epidemiological, and policy issues. Ideal for students, educators, and professionals in health care, medical sociology, public health, and related fields, Social and Behavioral Science for Health Professionals is the only introduction available that clearly articulates why social and behavioral science matter in clinical care. New to This Edition: New Chapter 13 on Comparative Health Care Systems covers four models of health care systems and expands the global focus of the book Greater emphasis on the LGBTQ+ community provides coverage of how gender expression and sexual orientation influence health and quality of care received New coverage of current issues such as the opioid crisis and vaccine hesitancy that have been rendered especially important by the COVID-19 pandemic Added discussion questions at the end of every chapter strengthen students'' critical thinking skills and abilities to apply new insights to practical, real-world examples. e. Broken into four parts, the book opens with the foundations of social science and health, including the shifting landscape of health and healthcare. The authors then cover the way in which social determinants of health shape large-scale features of health and illness in society, how they influence interactions between patients and providers in clinical settings, and how they shape health care systems and policies. Threshold concepts in each chapterfocus on conceptual and transformative learning while learning objectives, activities, and discussion questions provide instructors and students with robust sets of learning aids that intentionally focus on practical clinical, epidemiological, and policy issues. Ideal for students, educators, and professionals in health care, medical sociology, public health, and related fields, Social and Behavioral Science for Health Professionals is the only introduction available that clearly articulates why social and behavioral science matter in clinical care. New to This Edition: New Chapter 13 on Comparative Health Care Systems covers four models of health care systems and expands the global focus of the book Greater emphasis on the LGBTQ+ community provides coverage of how gender expression and sexual orientation influence health and quality of care received New coverage of current issues such as the opioid crisis and vaccine hesitancy that have been rendered especially important by the COVID-19 pandemic Added discussion questions at the end of every chapter strengthen students'' critical thinking skills and abilities to apply new insights to practical, real-world examples. l care. New to This Edition: New Chapter 13 on Comparative Health Care Systems covers four models of health care systems and expands the global focus of the book Greater emphasis on the LGBTQ+ community provides coverage of how gender expression and sexual orientation influence health and quality of care received New coverage of current issues such as the opioid crisis and vaccine hesitancy that have been rendered especially important by the COVID-19 pandemic Added discussion questions at the end of every chapter strengthen students'' critical thinking skills and abilities to apply new insights to practical, real-world examples. l care. New to This Edition: New Chapter 13 on Comparative Health Care Systems covers four models of health care systems and expands the global focus of the book Greater emphasis on the LGBTQ+ community provides coverage of how gender expression and sexual orientation influence health and quality of care received New coverage of current issues such as the opioid crisis and vaccine hesitancy that have been rendered especially important by the COVID-19 pandemic Added discus
ISBN: 9781538127834Publication Date: 2019-12-30
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 15e by
Master key pharmacological concepts and practices with the most comprehensive, authoritative guide available Doody's Core Titles for 2023! Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. This edition has been extensively updated to provide expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs Delivers the knowledge and insight needed to excel in every facet of pharmacology!. Encompasses all aspects of medical pharmacology, including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs Major revisions of the chapters on immunopharmacology, antiseizure, antipsychotic, antidepressant, antidiabetic, anti-inflammatory, and antiviral drugs, prostaglandins, and central nervous system neurotransmitters New chapter on the increasingly relevant topic of cannabis pharmacology Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information Revised full-color illustrations provide more information about drug mechanisms and effects and help clarify important concepts Trade Name/Generic Name tables are provided at end of each chapter for easy reference when writing a chart order or prescription Includes descriptions of important new drugs released through May 2019 New and updated coverage of general concepts relating to recently discovered receptors, receptor mechanisms, and drug transporters
ISBN: 9781260452310Publication Date: 2020-12-05
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by
A Doody's Core Title for 2023! The landmark pharmacology reference--updated to reflect the latest research and developments in the field For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics has represented the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. The text's careful balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. This Fourteenth Edition includes five new chapters, 600+ illustrations, and important content from 53 new contributors. More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice. Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Fourteenth Edition features: Five NEW chapters on: -Pharmacovigilance -The blood-brain barrier -Cannabis -Antibodies, immune checkpoint inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other biological agents -Gastrointestinal microbiome and drug response Expanded coverage of the use of genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies Revised and expanded chapter on pharmacodynamics and the molecular mechanisms of drug action 600+ color illustrations Drug Fact Tables summarizing clinical pharmacology Content Outline and Abbreviation List at the beginning of each chapter 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions 53 NEW contributors NEW online updates
ISBN: 9781264258079Publication Date: 2022-11-01
Costanzo Physiology by
Through six highly regarded editions, students and instructors alike have come to appreciate Dr. Linda Costanzo's clear, helpful writing style, logical organization, and easy-to-follow presentation of a challenging and complex topic in medical education. Costanzo Physiology, 7th Edition, retains the step-by-step, to-the-point approach that makes this text ideal for coursework and USMLE preparation. Complex concepts are presented in a simple, easy-to-digest manner, and are accompanied by well-designed figures and tables that provide handy visuals for procedures or physiologic equations. Fully updated throughout, this edition remains the students' choice for concise, clear instruction and a strong foundation in human physiology. Offers a comprehensive and consistent overview of core physiologic concepts at the organ system and cellular levels, making complex principles easy to understand. Presents information in a short, simple, and focused manner - the perfect presentation for success in coursework and on exams. Provides step-by-step explanations and easy-to-follow diagrams clearly depicting physiologic principles. Contains new coverage of SARS CoV-2 physiology, renal handling of uric acid, delta/delta analysis is acid-base physiology, endolymph physiology, respiratory distress syndrome, compensatory bronchiolar constriction, and more. Includes high-yield online features such as student FAQs with thorough explanations, animations, and video tutorials from Dr. Costanzo. Integrates equations and sample problems throughout the text. Features chapter summaries for quick overviews of important points, boxed Clinical Physiology Cases for a more thorough understanding of application, and end-of-chapter questions to reinforce understanding and retention. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323793339Publication Date: 2021-11-15
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by
"This is a comprehensive textbook of medical physiology"--
ISBN: 9780323672801Publication Date: 2021-01-01
M2 Recommended Readings
Pathophysiology of Disease: an Introduction to Clinical Medicine by ISBN: 9781260026504Publication Date: 2018-11-26
Kaplan and Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Accurate, reliable, objective, and comprehensive, Kaplan & Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry has long been the leading clinical psychiatric resource for clinicians, residents, students, and other health care professionals both in the US and worldwide. Now led by a new editorial team of Drs. Robert Boland and Marcia L. Verduin, it continues to offer a trusted overview of the entire field of psychiatry while bringing you up to date with current information on key topics and developments in this complex specialty. The twelfth edition has been completely reorganized to make it more useful and easier to navigate in today's busy clinical settings. A revised table of contents moves the most clinically relevant material to the beginning of the book, including sections on diagnosis, psychopathology and psychiatric conditions, treatment across the lifespan, and therapy and other interventions. Reformats clinical chapters to include clearer section headings and easy-to-digest summaries of important information, all with the goal of helping you find information quickly and easily locate answers to specific problems. Includes numerous case studies to enhance the learning experience. Presents the most current treatment methods including descriptions of all modern psychotherapeutic techniques. Includes descriptive tables for all relevant DSM-5 and ICD-10 diagnoses and an up-to-date psychopharmacology section organized according to mechanisms of action. Carries on the tradition of excellence established by Drs. Benjamin J. Sadock and Virginia A. Sadock, with Dr. Pedro Ruiz returning as Consulting Editor. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975145569Publication Date: 2021-04-22
Board Review Series Collection (LWW Health Library)
WSU Library System subscribed Board Review Series Collection on behavioral science, biochemistry, molecular biology, genetics, BRS pathology, cell biology and histology, embryology, gross anatomy, microbiology and immunology, neuroanatomy, pharmacology, physiology. Click here to access BRS eBooks
Major E-Book Collections
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowA repository of medical knowledge from internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. Continuously expanding, all databases in the repository contain the latest editions of selected medical titles.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowFull text access to select health science textbooks, journals, procedural videos, clinical practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials with particular emphasis on medicine and surgery.
- LWW Health Library This link opens in a new windowLWW Health Library contains ebooks, procedural videos, images, cases, and quiz banks. WSU library provides access to various LWW Health Libraries including medical education, clinical rotation, medical specialties, pharmacy, etc.
- MedOne Education This link opens in a new windowMedOne Education comprehensively covers the medical school curriculum with resources including Ebooks, videos, and images for study, review, and test-prep. The images can be downloaded and re-used in teaching materials and course packs. The resource also includes videos of physical therapy manipulation techniques. There is also MedOne App available for mobile devices. The app is cost free to download and use. Patrons have access to the full platforms via the MedOne App and can download full books for use off-line.
Dictionaries
Concise Medical Dictionary (Oxford Reference) by ISBN: 9780199557141Contains 12,500 authoritative entries on all aspects of medical science.
Womenshealth.govFrom the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Also available in Spanish.
