Andrew Agelink was Vice President and President of the WSU Gay/Lesbian Union in the early 1990s. Agelink was also actively involved in a number of local gay and political organizations including: Affirmations, The Triangle Foundation, the gay softball league MDSL, and an AIDS activist organization ACT-UP! Detroit. This collection documents his personal story as a young gay man in Detroit and how it fits into the larger gay rights movement.

The Ernest L. Horne Collection documents the activities of the gay and lesbian liberation
movement in Detroit from 1984 through 1996, primarily through the records of three organizations: Association of Suburban People (ASP), South Eastern Michigan Gay and Lesbian Association (SEMGLA), and Detroit Area Gay and Lesbian Council (DAGLC). The collection includes minutes, financial reports, calendars of events, planning and activities, documentation of several years of the annual PrideFest Celebration, and related publications.

The Detroit Gay Liberator was fertile ground for passionate debate between the multifaceted and widely varying groups within the gay liberation movement, a place for manifestos, for changing minds, for radical questioning, and moving society to a better place.

This collection consists of records created by LGBT Detroit, formerly known as KICK- The Agency for LGBT African Americans. These records include: correspondence, meeting minutes, news clippings, and records relating the the development and running of the organization. Publications from Kick Magazine
as well as playbills, fliers, posters, and other ephemera from LGBT Detroit created and sponsored events are also included. In addition: booklets, pamphlets, newspapers, posters,and conference material from other organizations in the Detroit LGBT community are also represented.

The Marvin P. Marks papers consist of documents pertaining to his work with the Detroit Area Gay Lesbian Council and the Motor City Business Forum from about 1980-1996. Documents include bylaws, correspondence, meeting agendas and minutes, newsletters, financial papers, and event planning files.

The Michigan Coalition for Human Rights Records document its operations and activities
between the organization’s formal inception in 1981 and 2003, with some supplemental articles and materials on human rights issues from the period of 1975-1980. Materials
reflect the goal of the MCHR to encourage those in the Detroit-area to participate in events and campaigns promoting better race relations, increased civil liberties, and a greater respect for human rights abroad. Issues including capital punishment, race relations in Detroit, gay rights, children’s rights, apartheid in South Africa, US involvement in Central America, as well as the internal financial operations of the MCHR are documented.

The South Eastern Michigan Gay and Lesbian Association (SEMGLA) was formerly known as the Association of Suburban People (ASP). Primarily a gay male social organization, the group originally held meetings in Berkley, Michigan. Organization activities included fundraising, a political action committee, and collaboration with the Whitman-Brooks foundation to produce a conference called, “Establishing a Positive Gay & Lesbian Identity.” In an effort to recruit more women to the organization, ASP officers encouraged Nita Firestone to join them in a leadership position. By the mid-1980s, with increased visibility in the community, ASP evolved into Michigan’s largest LGBT educational organization and in 1985 changed its name to more accurately reflect its mission.

The Trans Sistas of Color Project is an organization based out of the Detroit area. Its mission centers on creating a safe space for those within the transgender community, particularly within the African American communities across the city.

Memoirs and letters from enslaved women. From the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University.

Online documentation of the CWLU's development of grassroots programs for women while working for long term changes for women in American society. Documentation includes a timeline, blog, memoirs and biographies.

An online exhibit about the key roles Jewish women performed in building and advancing the modern American women's movement. Viewers can follow the timeline, explore themes, and search the collection.

Digitized collections include women's liberation movement print culture, travel diaries, glass lantern slides, and the papers of an African American businesswoman of the late 19th/early 20th century. From the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University.

The collection is an exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented. From Harvard Library.

This archive provides enduring access to resources which illuminate underrepresented perspectives and identities, many of which are not typically found in traditional print resources or in institutions of cultural memory. From the Library of Congress.

"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world."

"Founded in 1985, the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender (GLBT) Historical Society is recognized internationally as a leader in the field of LGBTQ public history."

"The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities."

"LGBTQ digital oral history is an emerging field built by dedicated activists, historians, and archivists across the web. This hub acts as a growing resource for oral histories practitioners and the public." A comprehensive, ever-expanding list of oral histories.

This archive preserves a representative sample of what is being called "The Rainbow Wave," which refers to the previously unprecedented number of LGBTQ+ identified candidates openly running for office. From the Library of Congress.

"The oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers." From the University of Southern California Libraries.

"The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities."