Adobe Digital Editions
Install Adobe Digital Editions
Adobe Digital Editions is a free download. Create an Adobe ID to authorize your device(s) - including computer - to download ebooks.
BlueFire Reader
Bluefire Reader is a free ereader app for PDF and EPUB content. Can be used by iPad and iPhone users to download titles from EBL, Ebscohost. This free app syncs with Adobe Digital Editions, allowing your device to download and open ebooks. Downloaded ebooks are available for off-line reading.
Calibre
Calibre is a free and open source eBook library management application developed by users of eBooks for users of eBooks. It can be used to convert PDF documents to EPUBS.
eBook Formats
Some platforms allow you to choose the download format. The two most common formats are:
PDF:
Most devices can read a PDF file, but it may be difficult to read on smaller screens.
ePUB:
Text flow is adjusted to fit the screen of your device (this may change the pagination). This format is used by Adobe Digital Editions and can be read on most devices including Apple and Android. an open-standard file format for digital books and one of the most widely supported along with .pdf and .txt. EPUB eBooks also support embedded content, allowing, for instance, a Flash video to be embedded within an ebook.
- Comparison of eBook FormatsFrom Wikipedia.
eBook Providers & Platforms
The Wayne State University Libraries collections include eBooks form a wide range of publishers and providers. They all can be read online. Only some can be downloaded and/or printed. For more information about a specific provider, please select it from the list below:
- Books 24x7
- Cambridge Histories Online
- ProQuest Ebook Central
- EBSCOhost eBook Collection
- JSTOR
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Knovel
- Oxford Reference
- Science Direct
- SpringerLink
Specialized software or apps:
Books 24x7
- Skillsoft Books This link opens in a new windowContains books, book summaries, research reports, and best practices on a variety of topics, including business, engineering, and technology.
Format: HTML
Checkout/Loan Period: N/A
Simultaneous Use: Yes, Unlimited
Download: No, Read Online
Additional Software Needed: N/A
Compatible Devices: Web Browser Needed
Printing: Current Page
Personal Account: Account is connected to your WSU Access ID.
ADA / Accessibility Features: Text-only site available for assistive technologies. More information...
Vendor-Provided Help Resources:
- Books24x7 Knowledge BaseHelpful information on platform features and functions.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection
- EbscoHost eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of electronic books.
Format: PDF or ePUB
Checkout/Loan Period: Varies by title
Simultaneous Use: Varies by title, some limited to one user
Download: Download PDF, the number of pages may vary depending on individual publisher-specified limits.
Additional Software Needed: Varies by title, some require Adobe Digital Editions, BlueFire, or EBSCO eBooks Mobile App for use with eReader
Compatible Devices: Bluefire Reader and iTunes required for iOS devices.
Printing: Print from PDF, page limit varies from unlimited, to 60, to 100.
ADA / Accessibility Features: JAWS and NVDA screen readers; Built-in Text-to-Speech capabilities for HTML content; Large print interfaces; Support for keyboard-only use
Vendor-Provided Help Resources:
JSTOR Books
Format: HTML and PDF
Checkout/Loan Period: N/A
Simultaneous Use: Unlimited
Download: PDF, Unlimited, One chapter at a time
Additional Software Needed:
Compatible Devices: Web browser or PDF Reader
Printing: Unlimited, One chapter at a time
ADA / Accessibility Features: Please follow link below under Help Resources
Vendor-Provided Help Resources:
Knovel
- Knovel Library This link opens in a new windowScience and engineering resources: chemistry and plastics, materials science, environmental science, microelectronics materials, electrical engineering, electronic engineering, chemical engineering, systems engineering, food sciences, and mechanical engineering.
Format: PDF
Checkout/Loan Period: N/A
Simultaneous Use: Yes, Unlimited
Download: PDF, one chapter at a time
Additional Software Needed: N/A
Compatible Devices: Web browser or PDF Reader
Printing: PDF, one chapter at a time
ADA / Accessibility Features: Recommend using ADE
Vendor-Provided Help Resources:
Oxford Reference
Format: HTML
Checkout/Loan Period: N/A
Simultaneous Use: Yes, Unlimited
Download: N/A
Additional Software Needed: N/A
Compatible Devices: Web Browser Needed
Printing: Yes, At article level.
ADA / Accessibility Features: Works with most screen-reading software.
Vendor-Provided Help Resources:
Science Direct
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
Format: PDF
Checkout/Loan Period: N/A
Simultaneous Use: Yes, Unlimited
Download: PDF, one chapter at a time, EPUB and MobiPocket available for some titles
Additional Software Needed: ADE is optional
Compatible Devices: Web browser, PDF Reader, eReaders
Printing: PDF, one chapter at a time
ADA / Accessibility Features: Recommend using ADE
Vendor-Provided Help Resources:
Cambridge Histories Online
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowA historical reference compendium allows instant access to the texts of the Cambridge Histories series
Format: PDF
Checkout/Loan Period: N/A
Simultaneous Use: Yes, Unlimited
Download: PDF, One chapter at a time
Additional Software Needed: N/A
Compatible Devices: Web browser or PDF Reader
Printing: Yes, One chapter at a time
ADA / Accessibility Features: Recommend using ADE
Vendor-Provided Help Resources:
- Cambridge Help Topic: Book LandingTools and options within Cambridge eBooks
Ebook Central (Formerly EBL & Ebrary)
Format: PDF or ePUB
Checkout/Loan Period: Varies by title
Simultaneous Use: Varies by title
Download: Download sections as PDF or, when offered, whole book as Adobe DRM
Additional Software Needed: Adobe Digital Editions or BlueFire Reader
Compatible Devices: Mobile devices; Bluefire Reader required for iOS devices
Printing: Printing from PDF, the number of pages may vary depending in individual publisher-specific limits
ADA / Accessibility Features: Designed for use with screen readers (JAWS and VoiceOver)
Vendor-Provided Help Resources:
- Ebook Central - DownloadsFor each book, there is a limit on the number of pages that can be copied, printed, and page/chapter-downloaded.
- Ebook Central LibGuideIncludes creating an account, annotation, accessibility features, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Format: HTML and PDF
Checkout/Loan Period: N/A
Simultaneous Use: Unlimited
Download: PDF, One chapter at a time
Additional Software Needed: N/A
Compatible Devices: Web browser or PDF Reader
Printing: Print from PDF, One chapter at a time
ADA / Accessibility Features: ReadSpeaker text-to-speech
Vendor-Provided Help Resources:
- Gale Virtual Reference Library Search TipsTips on using search; platform tools and interface.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library and eReader DevicesHow to access content on an eReader -- iPad, iPhone, Kindle, or Nook.
SpringerLink
- SpringerLINK This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to all 400 of Springer's journal titles as well as journals from other publishers. Subjects include life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, and economics.
Format: PDF, sometimes ePUB
Checkout/Loan Period: N/A
Simultaneous Use: Yes, Unlimited
Download: Complete book or by chapter
Additional Software Needed: ADE and BlueFire are optional
Compatible Devices: Web Browser, PDF Reader, eReaders
Printing: Print from PDF
ADA / Accessibility Features: Recommend using ADE
Vendor-Provided Help Resources:
Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094