ALA on Censorship
The American Library Association on the First Amendment and Censorship
- ALA: First Amendment and CensorshipSite includes statements, documents, and history of First Amendment, Censorship, and the Freedom to Read.
Books on Censorship
You Are Being Lied To by Call Number: PN 4784 .O24 Y6 2001 Purdy/Kresge LibraryISBN: 0966410076Publication Date: 2001-04-01A collection of articles that ruthlessly destroy the distortions, myths, and outright lies that are fed to us by the government, the media, corporations, history books, organized religion, science and medicine, and society in general. No one is spared, and all sacred cows are candidates for the grinder.
You Are STILL Being Lied To by Call Number: D 10 .Y68 2009 Undergraduate LibraryISBN: 9781934708071Publication Date: 2009-01-01A battering ram against the distortions, myths and lies that have been showered down on the world by governments, media, organised religion, the scientific establishment and others who want to keep the truth from the people. The classic Disinformation anthology, now updated with new insights into the workings of truth and information. A refreshing and refreshed look at how nothing and everything has changed.
Beacon for Freedom of Expression
An international bibliographic database with nearly 50,000 titles of censored works and literature on censorship and freedom of expression.
Norway presented this database as a gift to the Library of Alexandria in 2003. Today the National Library of Norway hosts the database. Their Mission:
- Document historic and current censorship in a global perspective through the international bibliographic database.
- Provide a collaborative learning resource for researchers, students and activists.
- Facilitate dialogue about censorship, freedom of expression and human rights through its website and programs.
- Beacon for Freedom of ExpressionBeacon for Freedom of Expression is an international censorship database that preserves information about historic and current censored media in a global perspective.
What is Censorship?
Censorship is suppression of speech or other communication which may be considered objectionable, harmful, sensitive, or inconvenient to the general body of people as determined by a government, media outlet, or other controlling body.
- Censorship in AmericaWebsite about the organization with definitions and resources.
NCAC
- National Coalition Against CensorshipTheir mission is to promote freedom of thought, inquiry and expression and oppose censorship in all its forms.