Databases that track citations
These Wayne State University Databases track citations and perform bibliometric analysis.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window"Scopus is the world's largest abstracts database of 13,450 titles from more than 4,000 international publishers with access to over 25 million abstracts (going back to 1966)." Full-text is included for some citations.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThis database is an online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Web of Science
Tutorials on how to use Web of Science to measure and track citation activity.
- Google Scholar CitationsHow to use Google Scholar Citations to track citations. This is useful for faculty who wish to be alerted when a publication is cited in Google Scholar.
- Citation Reports in Web of ScienceFive minute presentation video on creating citation reports in Web of Science.
- Citation Alerts in Web of ScienceHow to set up alerts for when a researcher's articles are cited in Web of Science.
- Cited Reference Searching in Web of ScienceHow to find additional relevant articles based on citation activity in Web of Science.
Scopus
Tutorials on how to use Scopus to measure and track citation activity.
- Cited Reference Searching in ScopusHow to use cited reference searching in Scopus to identify influential articles and find relevant articles based on citation activity.
- How to create alerts in ScopusCreate alerts to notify you when search results are updated or when articles are cited.
- Author and Affiliation Searching in Scopus4.24 minute video tutorial on finding author and institutional articles in Scopus.
- Cited Reference Searching in ScopusHow to use cited reference searching in Scopus
Google Scholar
Tutorials on how to use Google Scholar to measure and track citation activity.
- Google Scholar CitationsHow to set up an author profile to view and track citations in Google Scholar.
- Google Scholar AlertsHow to receive alerts when your articles are cited in Google Scholar.
