Entries in this volume are enhanced with photographic sections, as well as appendices which include maps of the Islamic world, Mecca and the Hajj; Genealogical Tables, The Branches of Islam, and a Chronology.
Subtitled "A reference work on the history, faith, culture, and peoples of Islam," this volume is arranged in thematic parts and chapters that broadly span the Islamic world. Well-indexed, it also contains black and white illustrations throughout the text, and a glossary of Islamic terms.
Brief entries on names, movements, and concepts in islam. A chronology (through 2000) and general Introduction preface brief entries, and a broadly themed bibliography appears at the end of this volume.
Signed entries with suggested further readings about topics in Islamic culture, ethnicity, identity, immigration, media, organizations, religious beliefs and practices, women and gender, etc. Volume 2 also includes the full text of significant writings, articles and documents by and about Muslims in the United States.
This 4-volume set covers Islam worldwide from the end of the eighteenth century to 1995. Several hundred scholarly articles with detailed bibliographies are thoroughly indexed. Useful to scholars and general readers.
Articles by international scholars on thematic topics, such as "Hospitality and Courtesy," "A'isha bint Abi Bakr," etc. Bibliographies of other works follow each entry, and Volume 6 includes indexes such as Proper Names, Arabic Words and Phrases, and Qur'an Citations.
This ongoing, open source project is a richly annotated linguistic resource for researchers which shows the Arabic grammar, syntax and morphology for each word in the Holy Quran. A contextual interlinear translation in English for each Arabic word is also given. The "English Translation" section shows up to seven parallel translations for each verse.
Original translations and contextualized interpretations of the three most renowned mada'ih nabawiyyah, which span Islamic history (dating from the lifetime of the Prophet - 7th c. ce.; from the medieval Mamluk period - late 13th c.; and during the modern colonial period - 1910).
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!