All libraries remain closed, but we're here to support you remotely: COVID-19 Updates from the Library System

Primary Sources

Newspapers, Archival Documents, Personal Papers, Census Data

Primary Sources at the WSU Libraries

The WSU Libraries collections include multiple primary source materials.  You will find them by searching:

*Electronic resources may require a WSU Access ID and Password.

WSULS Special Collections

WSULS Special Collections serves as a repository for materials regarding the history and development of children's literature; African American literature and culture; Detroit and Michigan history, art and literature; the sciences, including medicine and nursing; Judaica; and historical Michigan law.

Most Special Collections materials do not circulate (leave the library). Users may consult materials in the Richard and Dr. Candace Beutell Gardner Special Collections and Rare Book Room. Because our material is housed offsite, please contact us with your request before visiting.

Gardner Special Collections and Rare Book Room, Walter P. Reuther Library, Archives of Labor and Urban Affairs

5401 Cass Ave
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-6109
spec.collection@wayne.edu

Primary Sources in the Library Catalog

Search for Primary Sources in the Main Catalog by Keyword

You can search the Library Catalog to find direct references to primary source material. Perform a keyword search for your topic and add one of the words from the list of examples below:

  • charters
  • correspondence
  • diaries
  • early works
  • interviews
  • manuscripts
  • oratory
  • pamphlets
  • personal narratives
  • sources
  • speeches
  • letters
  • documents

Search here for books, media, and the titles of journals we own.

Walter P. Reuther Library and Archives

The Walter P. Reuther Library, located on the campus of Wayne State University in Detroit, contains millions of primary source documents related to the history of the labor movement, urban affairs, and the Wayne State University Archives. The building is named for UAW President and Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO) President Walter Reuther.

 

Reading Room Hours:

Monday-Friday: 10:00am-4:00pm
Saturday-Sunday: Closed
Appointments: Reference Archivist

Location:

Walter P. Reuther Library
5401 Cass Avenue
Detroit, MI 48202

photo of the Reuther Library outside