Brainstorming Tools
- Mind 42A mindmapping tool to help with your brainstorming process. Requires registration for a free account.
Create a Research Plan
- The Assignment PlannerThis time management tool can generate a schedule for your long-term assignments like research papers or reports and proposals. You can receive reminders via email or text message. Try it!
- General SourcesTry finding an overview of your subject using one of the following:
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Evaluating Your Sources
Whether you are using a book, article, or web resource, ask yourself these questions about its suitability for your project.
Research & Scholarship
Use these subject guides developed by WSU librarians to find recommended databases and other resources for research in a wide array of subjects from Art to Women's Studies.
- Research Guides / Library GuidesThese guides are designed by Wayne State librarians to lead you to databases, books, and quality web-based resources. Select a subject area related to your research topic.
Database Best Bets
Use the library Guides to find recommended databases for all subject areas. Below are some recommended starting points.
Engineering
See the Engineering Village homepage and Compendex information page for an overview of the commercial site and Compendex. Then use the Compendex database (included in Engineering Village 2, link below) from the library's website for your research.
Trade Publications
What is a trade publication? A trade publication reports news about an industry or profession. Some examples of trade publications are Chemical Week, Aviation Week, and Advanced Materials & Processes.
Locating trade publications:
The multidisciplinary database, Proquest Research Library, contains articles from trade journals, as well as scholarly research articles and magazine articles. Search results are sorted and tabbed by type (Scholarly, Magazines, Trade).
The business database, Business Source Complete, contains articles from many trade journals in a wide range of industries and professions.
To find a list of trade journals for a profession or industry, use the Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory database. Do an Advanced Search and use the profession (ex., civil engineering) or industry (ex., advertising) as a "subject" and "trade" as "Media & Document type."
Subject Specialist Librarian
Using the Library
Use the library system and its resources to advantage. Articles from library databases and books from the stacks offer a competitive edge over random websites and listings from Google.
This guide is to help lead you to resources (library and web-based) that will assist you in the ENG 3050/3060 course and its assignments.
Searching the Internet
Search Engines
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Citing Sources
The following resources can help with citing your sources using APA style:
- How to Cite using APA SourcesUse this library-developed guide to creating APA citations!
Help with Graphics
Below are some web-based resources to help you in incorporating usability and design in your assignments:
- Microsoft TemplatesUse a wide variety of freely available templates from Microsoft. Included is an extensive list of business forms, such as memos and job application letters, as well as calendars, diagrams and flowcharts.