African American Culture: Historical and Aesthetic Roots
Search for Articles, Books, & More
Book Not @ Wayne?
- MeLCatGet books not at WSU quickly through this statewide network of libraries.
Finding a Specific Article
Use this when you are looking for a specific article you locate from the reference list of sources you find. You'll need its Title, the Publication it appeared in, and other citation information, and then you can enter that information into our Citation Linker to see if Wayne State has a copy of it.
Getting down to the basics and beyond
A database provides articles and other information from sources like magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers. After you click a link below, on the next page, look for where it reads click to access database to get to the database. Give these a try!
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowAn online collection on African American life, The African American Experience is an electronic research tool for African American history and culture. The two primary goals: to provide rock-solid information from authorities in the field, and to allow African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU has perpetual access to the Arts and Sciences I-XV, Hebrew Journals and Sustainability Collections.
History and Sociology
- America: history and life This link opens in a new windowOnline version of: America: history and life. Includes full-text of hundreds of journals originally published in paper.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Coverage is identical to the expanded edition of the CD-ROM version.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1963 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Race Political Science and Urban Studies
- Urban studies abstracts This link opens in a new windowUrban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Getting the 'other side of the story'
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic and minority presses in the United States
Literature
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU has perpetual access to the Arts and Sciences I-XV, Hebrew Journals and Sustainability Collections.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) is the largest and most comprehensive database covering current scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore. MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) corresponds to the printed annual bibliography of the Modern Language Association.
Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
Annotated Bibliography
An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to resource such as books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited. The link below will give you more information from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL).
- Purdue Owl-Annotated BibliographyUse this website to help you learn more about creating an annotated bibliography. There is a lot of other useful information here as well such as citation information for MLA.