Subject Specialist Librarian
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies
Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
Databases - Best Bets!
- CAIRNThis open-access database includes fulltext to many French-language journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- ARTFL project, University of Chicago This link opens in a new windowFull-text retrieval databases of classical French writings, reference resources, bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, periodicals, pamphlets, and ARTFL newsletters. Databases include literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises. Coverage starts with 12th century.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU has perpetual access to the Arts and Sciences I-XV, Hebrew Journals and Sustainability Collections.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) is the largest and most comprehensive database covering current scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore. MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) corresponds to the printed annual bibliography of the Modern Language Association.
- PASCAL and FRANCIS Bibliographic Databases (-1972)FRANCIS focuses on the human and social sciences and PASCAL has bibliographic references in science, technology, and medicine. This searchable archive of the two databases combined indexes articles through 1972. You will need to search Summon/Catalog for Wayne State's holdings of these journals. Many of the articles from these European academic journals will need to be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
- PerseeOpen access articles in the sciences and humanities
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowA searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
Databases to Explore
- Dissertations and Theses - Full TextDoctoral dissertations (and some masters theses) from all over the world. Full text frequently available. Excellent bibliographies.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Coverage is identical to the expanded edition of the CD-ROM version.
- Humanities & social sciences index retrospective, 1907-1984. This link opens in a new windowThis database offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907. Coverage also includes content from H.W. Wilson's International Index. Combine this valuable resource with other Wilson databases such as Humanities Full Text and/or Social Sciences Full Text for a century of research in hundreds of journals.
MLA Style Tools
- Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style GuideThis resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
- MLA Reference Examples HandoutFrom the Wayne State University Libraries. May be printed and downloaded.
- Citation Style ChartA handy side-by-side comparison of APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
- The Writer's Handbook: MLA Documentation GuideThe University of Wisconsin - Madison provides a quick resource for citing references in papers using the style outlined by the 2009 MLA Handbook.
- Research and Documentation Online: HumanitiesAn online resource for using MLA style.
- Citing Primary Sources: MLALibrary of Congress instructions for and examples of citations of primary source materials: Web Sites, Cartoons, Maps, Photographs, Films, and more.
Reference Resources
Grand dictionnaire universel [du xix siecle] francais, historique, geographique, biographique, mythologique, bibliographique, litteraire, artistique, scientifique, etc. by Call Number: Storage Oversize: 333006-333022 (15 tomes et 2 supplements)Publication Date: Paris : Administration du Grand dictionnaire universel, [1865-1878]Le GDU est la plus precieuse des encyclopedies, pour les sujets d'etudes anterieurs a la deuxieme moitie du XIXe siecle.La Grande encyclopédie, inventaire raisonné des sciences, des lettres et des arts, par une société de savants et de gens de lettres by
Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Stacks: AE 25 .G72 (32 vols.)Publication Date: Paris : Societe anonyme de la grande encyclopedie, [1886-1902]Fournit des renseignements plus precis que ceux que l'on trouve dans le GDU.La Grande encyclopédie (20 vols, 1 supplement, 1981) by
Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Oversize (4th Floor): AE 25 .G69Publication Date: Paris : Larousse, 1971-78Articles moins nombreux, mais plus developpes que dans les deux encyclopedies precedentes.
Encyclopædia universalisCall Number: Purdy-Kresge Oversize (4th Floor): AE 25 .E48 (20 vols)Publication Date: Paris : Encyclopædia universalis France, c1968, 1974-1975 printing.
French Literature: A very short introduction by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780199568727Publication Date: Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2010The first great works of this repertory were written in the twelfth century in northern France, and now, at the beginning of the twenty-first century, include authors writing in many parts of the world, ranging from the Caribbean to Western Africa. French Literature: A Very Short Introduction introduces this lively literary world by focusing on texts - epics, novels, plays, poems, and screenplays.
The Feminist Encyclopedia of French Literature by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 0313296510Publication Date: Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999The earliest known literary productions by women living in Europe were probably written by French writers. As early as the 12th century, women troubadours in the south of France were writing poems. The volume begins with a feminist history of French literature and concludes with a selected, general bibliography and a chronology of women writers.
La litterature francaise (Reperes Pratiques) by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Stacks: PQ 116 .L434 2006ISBN: 9782091609638Publication Date: Paris: Nathan, 2006
Les Genres Litteraires by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Stacks: PN 45.5 .S72 1997ISBN: 2100035649Publication Date: Paris: Dunod, 1997
Chronologie commentee de la litterature francaise by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Stacks: PQ 101 .C57 1993ISBN: 2091881031Publication Date: Editions Nathan, 1993
Explicating French texts: poetry, prose & drama by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library: PQ 53 .K35Publication Date: New York: Harper & Row, 1970Texts and sample explications in French. This volume also includes a list of Practical Critical Terms in the front, and a Literary Lexicon at the back, both in French.
Enseigner la litterature par les genres: pour une approche theorique et didactique de la notion de genre litteraire by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Stacks: PQ 53 .C25 1999ISBN: 2804130436Publication Date: Bruxelles: De Boeck Duculot, 1999
Grand Larousse en 5 volumesCall Number: Purdy-Kresge Oversize (4th Floor): AE 25 .G638 1987Publication Date: Paris: Larousse. 1987
Catalogs (Books, Films, DVD's, Journal Titles, etc.)
- WSU Library CatalogElectronic and print titles from the WSU collections. Includes films, images, scores, journal titles, etc.
- MeLCat (Michigan Electronic Library Catalog)Michigan's shared library catalog allows you to request loans from other libraries. When they arrive, you'll be contacted by e-mail to come pick them up. There can be many records for the same item and you may have to look through several to find an "available" item to request.
- WorldCatA large shared catalog of items in libraries all over the world. Including one of the following subject phrases (or descriptors) can help you find materials ABOUT a work or author (rather than the work itself):
Criticism and Interpretation
Critique et interpretation
Criticism, interpretation, etc.
History and criticism.
To request an item, click on "Get It@WSU," then the big blue "Request Full Text" button, then login to ILLiad with your WSU AccessID and Password, and the data describing your request will appear in the form (which you must complete and submit).
You can also use French Subject Headings in WorldCat!
For example: Change the dropdown "Keyword" to "Subject Phrase" in all three search lines. Then enter:
litterature francaise
16e siecle
histoire et critique
in each of the three search boxes.
Some other subject phrase searches that work well are:
Flaubert, Gustave (i.e. an author's name)
Critique et interpretation (French languge subject heading)
History and criticism (English subject heading ABOUT the work; rather than the work itself)
Overall Strategy to get Books and Articles
Books:
1. Search Title of Book in WSU's Catalog
- Print & E-Books
2. Click on MeL button
- Request through MeL
- Start Over searching MeL by Title or Author
- there may be other records!
3. ILLiad to Interlibrary Loan Books
Articles:
When articles won't link, check to be sure WSU really
doesn't have access:
1. Search Journal Title in WSU's Catalog
- reveals all holdings by year/volume
2. Search database Google Scholar from Library's
homepage by Article Title
3. If still not found, you can "Request this item" be
delivered to you
- click through from database citation, or
- use Citation Linker (under Resources)
- Interlibrary Loan (login to ILLiad and fill in fields)
NOTE: Must register first time only
Websites
- Portail: Litterature (wikipedia)Excellent framework for French Literature by genre -- be sure to scroll down the page, even to the very bottom!
Litterature francaise
Les formes breves by Call Number: PUrdy-Kresge Stacks: PN 45.5 .M66 1992ISBN: 2010195523Publication Date: 1992 (Paris: Editions Hachette)Alain Montandon est professeur de Litterature generale et comparee a l'Universite Blaise Pascal (Clermont-Ferrand) et directeur du Centre de recherches sur la litterture moderne et contemporaine.
Les Grands Genres Litteraires by Call Number: PN 45.5 .G73 2001ISBN: 9782745303400Publication Date: 2001 (Paris: Honore Champion Editeur)Dr. Mortier est un professeur de litterature comparee a l'Universite de Rouen.- Les Genres Litteraires by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Stacks: PN 45.5 .S72 1997ISBN: 2100035649Publication Date: 1997 (Paris: Dunod)Agrege de lettres modernes, docteur es lettres, Stalloni enseigne en class de premiere superieure a Toulon.
Dictionnaire des lettres françaises. by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Oversize (4th Floor): PQ 41 .D53 (5 vols. in 7)Publication Date: Paris : A. Fayard, 1951-Entrees aux noms d'auteurs, aux titres d'oeuvres anonymes et aux realites litteraires importantes, selon le siecle envisage (ex. il ya a un article 'tragedie' dans le volume du XVIIe). Donne, pour chaque auteur, une courte bibliographie des oeuvres et des principales etudes critiques.
Dictionnaire des Litteraires de Langue Francaise by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Oversize (4th Floor): PQ 41 .B4 1994 (4 vols)Publication Date: Paris : Bordas, c1994.Interessants panoramas de thematiques, d'epoques et de courants litteraires.