This collaborative project provides keyword searching and page-by-page access to digitized reproductions of Michigan county histories and atlases. It includes 192 county histories in Michigan dating from 1866 to 1926, comprising titles selected from Frances Loomis's Michigan Biography Index (Detroit: Detroit Public Library, 1946), University of Michigan Bentley Historical Library, and the Research Publications microfilm publication County and Regional Histories the Old Northwest.
This definitive index of literature covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. America: History and Life includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals and indexes 1,700 journal titles from as far back as 1910.
Historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Detroit Free Press (1831-1922) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection also includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970. Michigan Only. The Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire maps for over 100 years, repeatedly mapping towns and cities as they changed. The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape, construction materials, height, building use, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, house numbers, and more for cities mapped in the state of Michigan.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitized collection of primary sources related to the nineteenth century. Materials within the collection consist of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Gale's Artemis Primary Source database can also be searched on a trial basis.
Although you can go directly to http://www.cyndislist.com and spend ALOT of time culling through ALOT of information, this guide will help you target your search. With hints for searching specific ethnicities, states, etc., a few minutes with this book is an excellent way to quickly develop a strategy for finding the LAYARS information you need.
The Newspaper Title Directory is derived from the library catalog records created by state institutions during the NEH-sponsored United States Newspaper Program, 1980-2007. Search WorldCat or libraries' online catalogs for current holdings.
"Chronicaling America" includes historic American newspapers, published between 1836 and 1922, selected and contributed by state partners in the National Digital Newspaper Program. [Note: This is NOT a comprehensive list.]
Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Stacks: Z 6945 .U515 (Library Use Only)
Publication Date: 1984 (Washington, DC: Library of Congress)
This volume is arranged geographically by country, then city, so you can find the names of newspapers published in a given locale during specific years. Although produced between 1948 and 1983, this volume includes the retrospective holdings of many large U.S. libraries (including the Library of Congress) prior to 1984. An alphabetical title index starts on page 361. Consult WorldCat, or libraries' online catalogs for holdings. (NOTE: You will have to use Interlibrary Loan to access most of these, so exact dates, etc. for the information you're seeking is helpful).
Publication Date: Washington: Library of Congress. 1984
These volumes are geographically arranged by state, and then city, so you can find the names of newspapers published in a given locale during specific years. Once you have the name of a newspaper, consult WorldCat or other online catalogs for current holdings. (NOTE: You will have to use Interlibrary Loan to access most of these, so exact dates, etc. for the information you're seeking is helpful).
Publication Date: 1994 (Columbia, SC, USA : Camden House)
Prof. Born has provided a phonological, grammatical, and lexical description of a German-American dialect that has never before been studied. It compares the Michigan Frankenmuth dialect with its parent dialect in central Franconia. The town of Frankenmuth was established in 1845 by an unusually homogeneous group of orthodox Lutherans bent on remaining separate from the American mainstream. The settlement history was therefore a significant factor in postponing the shift to American English in Frankenmuth until the middle of this century. This study will be of interest to scholars and students of dialectology, contrastive dialectology, and sociolinguistics.
Publication Date: 1997 (Madison : University of Wisconsin Press)
A Polish wedding dance or a German biergarten in Milwaukee . . . . These are the images included in Wisconsin's land and life, images that evoke a strong sense of place. This book is a series of original essays by Wisconsin geographers that offers an introduction to the state's natural environment, the historical processes of its human habitation, and the ways that nature and people interact to create distinct regional landscapes. To read it is to come away with a sweeping view of Wisconsin's geography and history: the early Native Americans who began to shape the landscape and who established forest trails and river portages; the successive waves of Europeans who came to trade in furs, mine for lead and iron, cut the white pines, establish farms, work in the lumber and paper mills, and transform spent wheatfields into pasture for dairy cattle. Readers will learn, too, about the platting and naming of Wisconsin's towns, the establishment of county and township governments, the growth of urban neighborhoods and parishes, and the role of rivers, railroads, and religion in shaping the state's growth. Abundantly illustrated with photos and maps, this book will richly reward anyone who wishes to learn more about the land and life of the place we know as Wisconsin.
A list of American Memory presentations have items relating to German immigration. Please note that many more items from the Library of Congress can be searched directly at the American Memory Collection (link above) or through the Library of Congress' website at loc.gov
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!