How To Guide to the Foundation Center

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Monique Oldfield
Contact:
Research consultation available by appointment.

134 Purdy/Kresge Library

313-577-5037 (phone)

313-577-3436 (FAX)

What is the Foundation Center Cooperating Collection?

The Purdy/Kresge Library is a Foundation Center cooperating collection. As a cooperating collection our mission is to serve the non-profit community with information on funding sources. There are no fees required to use the Foundation Center collection nor are appointments necessary. Please stop by.

Address and Hours

 

Foundation Directory Online Access

The Foundation Directory Online and Grants to Individuals Online are available on all computers in the Purdy/Kresge Library.

Guest Access computers are available for non-WSU affiliates to use Foundation Directory and Grants to Individuals databases.

 

Online Foundation Center Resources

Foundation Directory Online

The Foundation Directory Online has unique searching capabilities to limit searching to funders within specific geographic boundaries, type of support, field of interest, and much more. Information on selected grants received by non-profits is also provided.


Come in to the Purdy/Kresge Library to access the Foundation Directory Online. Wayne State University students and affiliates may use the student workstations. Members of the Community may use a special workstation to access the Foundation Center Resources or apply for a community access id. Reminder: printing is 11 cents per page and patrons will need to purchase a copy card.

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online

This database is targeted towards applying for assitance for projects as an individual. The search fields may be manipulated to search for scholarships, research, seed money, and more.


Come in to the Purdy/Kresge Library to access Foundation Grants to Individuals Online. Wayne State University students and affiliates may use the student workstations. Members of the Community may use a special workstation to access the Foundation Center Resources or apply for a community access id. Reminder: printing is 11 cents per page and patrons will need to purchase a copy card.

 

Candid’s Go for the Gold promotion

The Candid organization is launching a campaign offering one year free of Foundation Directory Online Essentials for non profits with annual revenue and expenses of less than $1 Million per year.

The Purdy/Kresge Library is happy to promote this offer. Please see the link below to connect with Candid and learn more about this opportunity.

https://help.guidestar.org/en/articles/5541393-go-for-the-gold 

Print Resources

Reference works in the Purdy/Kresge Library Foundation Center collection

The Foundation Directory
AS 911 .A2 F65
The Foundation 1000
HV 97 .F65 F67a
Foundation Grants to Individuals
HV 97 .A3 F58
Guide to U.S. Foundations, Their Trustees, Officers, and Donors
AS 911 .A2 F64
National Directory of Corporate Giving
HG 4028 .C6 N37
The Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing
HG 177.5 .U6 G44 2004
The Foundation Center's Guide to Winning Proposals
HV 41.9 .U5 F67 2003
The Foundation Center's Guide to
HV 41.2 .F68 2003
The Foundation Center's Guide to Grantseeking on the Web
HV 41.2 .F68 2003
Michigan Foundation Directory
HV 98 .M5 M53