Plagiarism: how to avoid it
When to Cite Sources
Whenever you quote, paraphrase, summarize, or otherwise refer to the work of another, you are required to cite your source and provide a complete reference for your source in a bibliography, list of references or works cited.
APA Style Guides
- APA Style Guide, 7th Ed.This is the website for the 6th edition of the APA Style manual with features including:
- Excelsior OWL: APA Formatting & Style GuideThis resource offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
More APA information
Your Liaison Librarian
Flipped Classroom Activity
Flipped Classroom Activity - Understanding information sources
Please review the materials in this box (4 short videos and 1 short PowerPoint) and complete the Flipped Classroom Quiz on Canvas.
Read through the PowerPoint on empirical research articles below:
Searching with Boolean Operators
KIN3000 Library Session Handouts
Power Searching
- PICO Search Strategy WorksheetThis worksheet can be used to help develop a strategy for searching using the PICO method and to keep track of keywords and synonyms used in searches. If the worksheet is downloaded, the fields can be filled out and saved for later.
- Power Searching ToolsA collection of tools that may be used to make your searches in PubMed and Google Scholar more effective.
Search Google Scholar
Searching Google Scholar through the library's connection provides you free access to our full-text articles.
Finding Empirical Research Articles
You can find articles in lots of different journals and magazines by using an Article Database, Summon, or Google Scholar. Using the Advanced search options can help you limit your search to empirical research articles.
- PubMed@Wayne This link opens in a new windowA service of the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health, and a great resource for finding research in the medical fields.
- Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new windowRecords are indexed and classified from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. Coverage includes physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is a nursing and allied health database, but its interdisciplinary focus makes it one of the best sources for KHS-related research.
Using Article Linker to Access or Request Full-Text Articles
Hierarchy of Evidence
