E books
Toward Universal Health Coverage and Equity in Latin America and the Caribbean: Evidence from Selected Countries by Call Number: RA418.3 .L29 2015ISBN: 9781464804557Publication Date: 2015This text examines how countries in Latin America have begun to see health as a human right. New programs and reforms are being created to assist those not able to afford health care. Surveys from 54 households in Latin America were studied and results demonstrate that this focus on health benefits the global Latin x community.
Medicine and Public Health in Latin America by ISBN: 9781107023673Publication Date: 2014-12-15Despite several studies on the social, cultural, and political histories of medicine and of public health in different parts of Latin America and the Caribbean, local and national focuses still predominate, and there are few panoramic studies that analyze the overarching tendencies in the development of health in the region. This comprehensive book summarizes the social history of medicine, medical education, and public health in Latin America and places it in dialogue with the international historiographical currents in medicine and health. Ultimately, this text provides a clear, broad, and provocative synthesis of the history of Latin American medical developments while illuminating the recent challenges of global health in the region and other developing countries.
Deinstitutionalization of Psychiatric Care in Latin America and the Caribbean by ISBN: 9789275223017Publication Date: 2021-01-20This technical document is a framework for action. Its objective is to guide the psychiatric care deinstitutionalization process in the context of Latin America and the Caribbean. The essential purpose of deinstitutionalization is to limit the role of psychiatric hospitals by incorporating acute care hospital beds into general hospitals and replace those psychiatric facilities with community-supported housing solutions for people with severe mental illness. At the same time, there must be an efficient network of community-based mental health services. This involves the priority development of effective new community practices and services that protect the rights of people with mental illness. This publication summarizes the facilitators and barriers that will be encountered in the deinstitutionalization process and identifies useful and proven interventions in Latin American and Caribbean countries.
About this Guide
This guide is designed to assist researchers interested in health within the Spanish speaking regions of South America and the Caribbean. One can find information about books, databases, open access journals, scholarly articles, and more. It promotes the idea of thinking about why there should be research and concern about public health. Some of the topics include health coverage, vaccines, obesity, and asthma and more. These are concerns of the region in recent years and decades.
Research tips
When Searching for information about health in the Spanish speaking regions of South America and the Caribbean, searches can be done in English with some of the following:
"Latin America AND health"
"Obesity AND Latin America"
"Asthma AND Latin America"
Searching the name of the health topic with AND Latin America in quotations will help find the two terms.
It is recommended that you begin searching with a broad, general search before specific countries. In many of the studies, multiple countries are mentioned in an article or resource.
Databases
This database is the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. It is a very comprehensive source for those interested in health care.
PubMed is accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts and full text on life sciences and biomedical topics. The United States National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health maintain the database
Journals
- Annals of Global HealthThis open access online journal publishes peer reviewed articles about health issues that concern the world.
- Revista panamericana de salud publicaPan American Public Health Journal: Open access Journal that maintains information about the health issues of the region
Videos
Why is public health in another region relevant? The world is connected by roads, planes, and more. Although Latin America and the Caribbean may be physically separate from Wayne State University, knowledge of what affects the region is still crucial to this local area. These videos explain what public health is and how an individual's health is impacted by their environment. Whether or not asthma affects someone in Latin America could be impacted by the environmental factors of air pollution and urbanization. Obesity is affected because of more processed foods being made available and diets changing. These foods could be coming from another region or country.
Take a few moments and view the videos that shed light on how not just an individual's health is important, but paying attention to the public's health and what impacts it is important.
More E Books
Reassembling Social Security: A Survey of Pensions and Health Care Reforms in Latin America by ISBN: 9780199233779Publication Date: 2008-04-07The reform of social security pensions and healthcare is a key issue for the modern world, and in many ways Latin America has acted as a social laboratory for the reform of these systems. From the reforms that took place in Chile in 1981, most pension and health care systems in the region haveseen reform, and been fully or partially privatized. Many other countries considering reform of their own systems have been influenced by the policies implemented in Latin America.Yet despite the importance and influence of these reforms, until now there has not been an integrated and comprehensive analysis of the changes and their effects. This book is the result of four years of painstaking work, data collection, field research and international collaboration, and so fillsthe vacuum in the literature with a systematic comparison of pension and healthcare reforms in the 20 Latin American countries.It identifies reform models, and elaborates taxonomies to facilitate their understanding and comparison. Some key features of the reforms to emerge are: labour force and population coverage, equity and solidarity, sufficiency and quality of benefits, state regulation, competition and degree ofprivatization, efficiency and administrative costs, social participation in management, financing sources and long-term sustainability. Effects of the reforms on social security principles are measured based on recent standardized statistics and other information. Goals or assumptions of the reformsare contrasted with actual outcomes, and the pros and cons of private versus private provision assessed. Detailed policy recommendations are offered to correct current problems and improve pension and healthcare systems.This is the first book to comprehensively study these influential reforms in Latin America's pension and health care systems, and as such will be of importance to academics and researchers interested in social security and welfare policy, pensions, health care, and public policy; Social security,pension, and health care policy-makers; And social security, pension, and health care consultants and practitioners.
Websites
This resource provides information about health concerns for the general public and is available in both English and Spanish. To navigate the website in Spanish, click on the icon that says Espanol.
MeL resource
This database provides topic-specific reports covering all aspects of health and wellness, including overviews of diseases, conditions, procedures and treatments. Salud en Español is the one-stop resource for evidence-based reports and fact sheets in the Spanish language. A topic can be searched in the Spanish language and lead to prompts to aid conversations with one's doctor and more.
Add Details