Request Permalinks to Library Resources
Submit your course reading list and receive persistent, copyright compliant links for your course. Distribute the links to your students in Blackboard, via e-mail, as embedded links in your syllabus--however you choose.
If you prefer DIY, see our informational page on Creating Permalinks Wayne State Library Resources
- Permalink Request FormClick here to submit your request
Physical Reserves in the Library
- Traditional (Print) Materials on ReserveDescribes procedure and provides online form for placing print materials on reserve.
- Traditional Reserves Request FormUse this form to request traditional print materials be placed on reserve.
Streaming Documentaries and Films
- Kanopy StreamingCall Number: [Database of streaming video resources for classroom and student use]Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- Hulu DocumentariesMany of these documentaries are freely available online. Use the FREE checkbox in the upper right to view those film titles. They have advertising that cannot be suppressed--you will see the "dots" on the timeline where the ads will appear. About 15-20 minutes of ads overall per film.
- Hulu Criterion FilmsFilms from Hulu's Criterion Collection. Any without the green H+ icon in the corner are freely available online. Select the "FREE" checkbox in the upper right corner to see free films available. Free films have advertising that cannot be suppressed--you will see the dots on the timeline that show when ads will play. Many classic foreign films by directors such as Mizoguchi and Naruse.
Digital Resources: Images, Graphs, Charts & More
- Digital Public Library of AmericaAn all-digital library that aggregates metadata and thumbnails for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States
- Flickr Creative CommonsUse the "See More" link following each listed license to find images that can be reused in a copyright compliant way under the Creative Commons license.
Online Games and Game Generators
- Jeopardy!Use this free tool to create a simple online "jeopardy" like game. Freely accessible, students do not need to create accounts to play.
OER Repositories Multidisciplinary
I'm happy to help you search for OER's to use in your online class. Please e-mail me at AQ8554@wayne.edu and tell me the subject, discipline, key words, type (tutorial, games, exposure, etc.), audience, language, and technical format needed (as appropriate).
- PBS Learning MediaYou will need to create a free account to use these resources. Search by subject and media type.
- HippoCampusCreate playlists of content for your own course. The User's Guide contains direct links to subjects and collections.
- Khan AcademyAn extensive library of content, including interactive challenges, assessments, and videos.
- Merlot II (Multimedia Education Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)Merlot II is a free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services. You can search by learning material type and collection. Create an account to create your own collections in Merlot, and use the content builder to create mash-ups of existing materials for your classroom.
- OER CommonsVideos, lesson plans, texts and more. Most Creative Commons licensed. Includes resources like Khan Academy. Includes post-secondary materials.
- Saylor Academy: Course Resource GuidesSearch for open resources by discipline and course level.
- TEDEd LessonsShared repository of lesson plans created using TED Talks.
- The Orange GroveFlorida's digital repository of OER, this link takes you to the listing of Higher Education resources, searchable by discpline.
- YouTube--University Education ChannelsHigher Education YouTube videos, grouped by discipline. You can also search a topic in YouTube, then Filter to Creative Commons, and locate videos that you may modify for your own use.
Social Sciences & Humanities
- Academic EarthA set of curated YouTube video playlists on a variety of topics.
- Library of Congress Classroom MaterialsPrimary source sets, themed resources and lesson plans.
- Annenberg Classroom Resources for Civics EducationVideos, lesson plans and games.
- BritishPathe News ReelsFrom Pathe News. Includes War Archives (military footage and rare war reels from the archive British Pathe), Vintage Fashion and Sporting History.
- Onda Latina The Mexican American Experience226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.
- Teaching with DataAn collaborative ICPSR project that includes lesson plans and activities for data analysis and visualization. Items that are available by subscription will require you to go to the WSU Libraries ICPSR site. If you are accessing subscription resources off-campus, you will need to create an account (free). Also see Teaching and Learning with ICPSR, a set of materials created especially for undergraduate faculty and student.
Science
- National Science Digital LibraryEnvironmental and Geo-science resources for Higher Education. Use the Education Level to limit to Lower Undergraduate, Upper Undergraduate or Graduate Resources.
- PhET SimulationsPhET simulations animate what is invisible to the eye on topics related to biology, physics and more. Searchable by education level and topic.
OER Assessments, Quizzes and Tests
- Learning PodFind and assign question sets for student success.
49,000+ high-quality practice questions.
Question sets ("pods") curated by experts.
Easy-to-use tools for creating questions.
Members-only Common Core pods.
Free for educators and students.
Liaison Librarian
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies
Language Learning Resources
- Defence Language Institute - Foreign Language Center (DLIFLC)To explore availability for public use (and formats available), click on the link to the "Language Materials Distribution System" in the first paragraph.
- British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) - Learning Other LanguagesAlthough only Spanish, French, German and Italian are mentioned on the main website, there are some learning experiences for many additional languages. Observe the "Terms of Use" listed at the bottom of this homepage.
Learn More
Please see the Research Guide for "Scholarly Communications @WSU" for additional information about Copyright.