Liaison Librarian
Rhonda McGinnis
Contact:
Rm 134 Purdy/Kresge Library
Wayne State University Library System
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-8568
aa4207@wayne.edu
Wayne State University Library System
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-8568
aa4207@wayne.edu
Websites of Interest
- Center for the Advancement of Social EntrepreneurshipThe Center for the Advancement of Social Entrepreneurship (CASE), based at Duke University's Fuqua School of Business, promotes the entrepreneurial pursuit of social impact through the thoughtful adaptation of business expertise.
Included here are news, reports, and working papers on social entrepreneurship and social enterprise. - Social Enterprise AllianceSocial Enterprise Alliance is the national membership organization and key catalyst for the rapidly growing social enterprise movement in the United States. We provide social enterprises with the resources they need to succeed, support and grow social entrepreneurship on a national scale and serve as a voice for more sustainable social impact.
- Schwab Foundation for Social EntrepreneurshipThe Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship is a not-for-profit, independent and neutral organization, founded in 1998, with the purpose to advance social entrepreneurship and to foster social entrepreneurs as an important catalyst for societal innovation and progress. The Foundation identifies and highlights the world’s leading social entrepreneurs, connects social entrepreneurs to build a thriving community, and seek to develop the next generation of social innovators.
- VentureneerVentureneer provides content, research and training that small businesses and social enterprises need to grow. With a trong focus on female entrepreneurs, this website provides articles and educational opportunities to help start-ups survive and thrive.
- Society for Nonprofit OrganizationsThe Society strives to connect nonprofit professionals throughout the United States and promotes the exchange of information on enhancing the operation of nonprofit organizations. Included on this website are issues of Nonprofit World magazine, funding alerts, educational programs, and job listings
Additional Resources at Wayne State
- Research Guide: Starting a New BusinessThis guide provides links to a wealth of online resources for starting a small business or social enterprise.
- Entrepreneurship and Innovation ProgramWhether you have dreams of running your own business or just want to explore startup culture in Detroit, the Mike Ilitch School of Business offers entrepreneurship and innovation (EI) classes and certificate programs for all Wayne State students.
- OptimizeWayneOptimizeWayne is Wayne State’s social entrepreneurship hub.
It encourages and supports students, alumni, faculty, staff and our community at every stage of their entrepreneurial journey. - Business and Community Law ClinicThe Business and Community Law Clinic (BCLC) at Wayne State University Law School offers free corporate and transactional legal services to qualifying community-based businesses, and for-profit and nonprofit organizations that aspire to create social good and impact to revitalize Detroit and Michigan. The BCLC also seeks to encourage the growth of social enterprise in Detroit and Michigan.
Article Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database includes indexing and full-text articles for over 1000 business journals.
Video Tutorial: Basic Searching in Business Source Complete. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowThis database provides a wide variety of high quality resources on a broad range of subjects
- Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for contact information on over 70,000 foundations, search by grants, or search the full-text of IRS Form 990 for non-profit organizations. This resource is only available on computers in the Purdy-Kresge Library.
Guest Access computers are available for non-WSU affiliates to use Foundation Directory and Grants to Individuals databases.
EBooks at Wayne State
Social Entrepreneurship: What Everyone Needs to Know by In development circles, there is now widespread consensus that social entrepreneurs represent a far better mechanism to respond to needs than we have ever had before--a decentralized and emergent force that remains our best hope for solutions that can keep pace with our problems and create a more peaceful world. This book offers the first general overview of social entrepreneurship in a Q & A format that allows readers to go directly to the information they need.
Social Entrepreneurship: New Models of Sustainable Social Change by 'Social Entrepreneurship' is a term that has come to be applied to the activities of grass-roots activists, NGOs, policy makers, international institutions, and corporations, amongst others, which address a range of social issues in innovative and creative ways. Themed around the emerging agendas for developing new, sustainable models of social sector excellence and systemic impact, Social Entrepreneurship offers, for the first time, a wide-ranging, internationally-focused selection of cutting-edge work from leading academics, policy makers, and practitioners. .
The New Pioneers: Sustainable Business Success through Social Innovation and Social Entrepreneurship by New times create new needs - and new needs require new solutions. The New Pioneers is about the social megatrends that are shaping our lives in new ways and creating a new face of capitalism. And it is about the pioneers paving the way for the new business revolution: social entrepreneurs and social intrapreneurs. With a wide array of cases from all over the world this book explains the key principles of sustainable business success
