Connect with the Libraries
Have an idea for Subject of the Month?
December's Subject of the Month
History of Fashion
Selector: Maria Nuccilli
"Fashion is part of the daily air, and it changes all the time, with all the events. You can even see the approaching of a revolution in clothes. You can see and feel everything in clothes." - Diana Vreeland
Interested in fashion? Make sure to check out the Fashion Design & Merchandising research guide for more resources!
Featured Digital Collection
Digital Dress Collection
Wayne State University Libraries' Digital Dress Collection contains images of clothing worn in Michigan during the eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries, offering insight into Michigan life and society. The Digital Dress Collection is comprised of four subcollections, each showcasing items held in the physical collections of the Detroit Historical Society, Wayne State University's Department of Art and Art History, The Henry Ford, and Meadow Brook Hall.
Above: Items from Wayne State University Libraries Digital Dress Collection
Other Digital Collections
Victoria and Albert Museum Fashion Collection
Spanning five centuries, this collection is the largest and most comprehensive collection of dress in the world. Subcollections of note include 60s Fashion, Shoes, Costume, Underwear, Hats, and Glasses.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Online Costume Collection
The MET's Costume Institute collection of more than thirty-three thousand objects represents seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
Black Fashion Museum Online Exhibition
Founded in 1979, the Black Fashion Museum collected and exhibited the creations of numerous designers of color, and is now part of The Smithsonian’s National Museum of African American History and Culture. View the collaborative exhibit above, or browse on the NMAAHC website.
The Museum at FIT Fashion Collection
Fashion Institute of Technology's museum has a permanent collection of more than 50,000 garments and accessories dating from the eighteenth century to the present, a portion of which are viewable online.
The Kyoto Costume Institute Digital Archives
The Kyoto Costume Institute maintains an archive of over 13,000 items, most which are only viewable onsite. Their digital archive features a portion of the collection, including pieces from Japanese Designers and the Pop Art Era.
New York Public Library Fashion Collections
NYPL's digitized holdings feature fashion illustrations from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
eBooks & Books in Print
American Runway by ISBN: 9781683350989Publication Date: 2018-02-06New York Fashion Week has served many purposes throughout its long history, but it has always remained at the center of the American fashion world. Now, this illustrious history is told as it's never been told before, in a book packed with designer interviews, backstage ephemera, and exclusive photographs culled from all 75 years of New York Fashion Week.
The Clothed Body in the Ancient World by ISBN: 1842171658Publication Date: 2005-06-14The recent renaissance of interest in the history of dress and its cultural importance is celebrated in this collection of interdisciplinary essays. The sixteen contributors present on-going research into the study of the clothed body in ancient Egypt and the Aegean, Classical Greece, Rome and Late Antiquity.
Fashion by ISBN: 0192840304Publication Date: 2003-06-26This lively survey of 150 years of fashion covers everything from Haute Couture to the High Street, and developing fabric technology from silk to fleece. From Coco Chanel to Armani and Alexander McQueen, Breward explores fashion as a cultural phenomenon.
Fashion: a History from the 18th to the 20th Century by ISBN: 9783822827635Publication Date: 2006-07-21Founded in 1978, the Kyoto Costume Institute holds one of the world's most extensive clothing collections and has curated many exhibitions across the globe. Showcasing a vast selection from the Institute's archives of skilled photographs depicting the clothing expertly displayed and arranged on custom-made mannequins, Fashion History is a fascinating excursion through the last three centuries of clothing trends.
Fashion History by ISBN: 9781474253635Publication Date: 2018-02-08Reversing the dominant narrative that privileges Western Europe in the history of dress, Welters and Lillethun adopt a cross-cultural approach to explore a vast array of cultures around the globe. They explore key issues affecting fashion systems, ranging from innovation, production and consumption to identity formation and the effects of colonization.
The Great Fashion Designers by ISBN: 9781350091603Publication Date: 2020-01-09Over the last 180 years designers have propelled fashion from an elite craft into a cornerstone of popular culture. This brilliantly written guide to the lives and collections of 55 iconic fashion designers draws on the latest academic research and the best of fashion journalism, including the authors' own interviews with designers.
How to Read a Suit by ISBN: 9781350071162Publication Date: 2020-02-06Fashion is ever-changing, and while some styles mark a dramatic departure from the past, many exhibit subtle differences from year to year that are not always easily identifiable. With overviews of each key period and detailed illustrations for each new style, How to Read a Suit is an authoritative visual guide to the under-explored area of men's fashion across four centuries.
Out-Of-Style by ISBN: 9780486819884Publication Date: 2018-06-13This volume of style clues for fashion detectives weaves fascinating elements of social history into tales of how, why, and when fashions evolved. Hundreds of sequential illustrations highlight the style flourishes that identify garments for men, women, and children as products of their individual periods.
Collectable Names and Designs in Womens Fashion by ISBN: 9781844680801Publication Date: 2011-12-13Although there are many books on the shelves dedicated to this subject where 'Collectable Names and Designs in Women's Fashion' differs is that it looks at why many fashion pieces have become highly regarded within collector's circles. Throughout the pages Tracy will be sharing her own personal fashion knowledge on what to look out for, where to buy and explain the origins behind those iconic vintage pieces.
ThriftStyle by ISBN: 9781623545024Publication Date: 2017-09-05A must-have guide for bargain-hunting fashionistas looking to make a statement without sabotaging their budgets. With this easy-to-use resource, savvy shoppers can cultivate upscale, upcycled wardrobes at thrift and consignment store prices. Shoppers will learn to navigate the racks of their local consignment shop, spot name brands like Versace, Dior, and Burberry, select the best quality items, and repair secondhand clothes that need some love.
Vintage Fashion by ISBN: 9780061252013Publication Date: 2007-10-23The definitive word on the most influential designers and looks of the twentieth century, Vintage Fashion is a gorgeous resource for fashionistas, vintage clothing fanatics, and designers of all ages and varieties. Whether an aspiring fashion professional or simply a lover of vintage styles, Emma Baxter Wright's acclaimed guide to wearing and collecting vintage articles is an unmatched and invaluable guide to discovering a more exciting life-of-style today.
Vintage Fashion Bible by ISBN: 9781446304419Publication Date: 2015-11-04The Vintage Fashion Bible is the go-to resource for all dedicated followers of vintage fashion. Written by the vintage fashion expert and Red or Dead co-founder, Wayne Hemingway, it is the only complete chronological look at 20th century fashion for men and women, as well as a practical guide to buying, styling and restoring vintage clothing. The "Get the Look" feature runs throughout the book offering tips and insider advice from sizing and caring, to where to buy to help you to pull off the vintage look today.
Vintage Menswear by ISBN: 1322330433Publication Date: 2012-01-01Classic workwear, sports, and military apparel Curated by connoisseurs of vintage clothing, the Vintage Showroom is a vast collection of rare 20th-century pieces that fashion designers and stylists pay to view, using the cut and detailing of individual garments as inspiration for their own work.
Retro by ISBN: 9781861892904Publication Date: 2006-11-15Bell-bottoms are in. Bell-bottoms are out. Bell-bottoms are back innbsp;again. Fads constantly cycle and recycle through popular culture, each time in a slightly new incarnation. The term “retro” has become the buzzword for describing such trends, but what does it mean? Elizabeth Guffey explores here the ambiguous cultural meanings of the term and reveals why some trends just never seem to stay dead.nbsp;
Vintage Jewelry Design by ISBN: 9781600597145Publication Date: 2011-04-05Featuring examples that epitomize the iconic styles of each decade, it offers an overview of the most influential designers (including Tiffany, Cartier, Fabergé, and Chanel), their sources of inspiration, and materials of choice. Photos display a selection of rare and remarkable pieces from museums and private owners, and a vintage shopping guide gives tips on spotting fakes, caring for purchases, and other important facts collectors should know.
A History of the Paper Pattern Industry by ISBN: 9780857858306Publication Date: 2014-04-24Sewing patterns have been the principle blueprint for making garments in the home for centuries. From their origins in the tailoring manuals of the 16th century to the widely produced pamphlets of the 18th and 19th centuries, through to the full size packet patterns of today, their history and development has reflected major changes in technology (such as the advent of the sewing machine), retailing and marketing practices (the fashion periodical), and shifts in social and cultural influences.This accessible book explores this history, outlining innovations in patternmaking by the companies who produced patterns and how these reflected the fashions and demands of the market.
Gertie Sews Vintage Casual by ISBN: 9781617690747Publication Date: 2014-09-16The mid-20th century was an amazing time for American women's fashion! Following the war, women started looking to American designers rather than French couture houses for inspiration and to demand clothing they could move in, even play in. In this follow-up to Gertie's New Book for Better Sewing, Gretchen "Gertie" Hirsch celebrates the classic casual styles that icons like Katharine Hepburn, Audrey Hepburn, and Rosie the Riveter made famous - think wide-legged trousers, fitted capri pants, beach rompers, shorts, knit tops, jeans, and day dresses. In Part I, Hirsch introduces key techniques for sportswear construction - from working with knit fabrics to the intricacies of pant-making - and in Part II, she showcases a 30-plus-piece vintage-inspired casual wardrobe.
Mend! by ISBN: 9780143135005Publication Date: 2020-09-08Sharp and incredibly timely, Mend! is a push for a slow fashion revolution in which we stop to think critically about what we buy, where it comes from, who makes it, and what it is doing to the environment, and is simultaneously a fun, crafty manual that will inspire readers to roll up their (freshly mended) sleeves and get creative, share their designs, and form radical creative communities to change closets, lives, and the world.
Dressmaking by ISBN: 9781770859388Publication Date: 2017-08-15A practical illustrated guide to techniques, tools and troubleshooting from a couture dressmaker. This book is a beautifully presented and comprehensive resource for dressmakers new to the craft and for those who want to take their skills further. It features scores of step-by-step sequences showing every kind of technique, from using and adapting paper patterns, to couture-inspired seaming techniques that will take garment-making skills to a new level.
Historical Pattern Archive by ISBN: 9781315146225Publication Date: 2019-11-19Historical Pattern Archive: Women's Clothing 1837-1969 is the first book of its kind to capture such a wide range of women's period patterns in one book, featuring 83 patterns spanning over a century of clothing. The book offers an accurate pattern of each garment on a 1/8" graph that can be used to scale the pattern up to its original size, drawings of each piece from multiple angles, and instructions about how the original garment was constructed and what materials were used.
Pattern Cutting by ISBN: 9781786276049Publication Date: 2021-01-12This practical guide explains how to take accurate measurements, introduces key tools and takes you from simple pattern-cutting ideas to more advanced creative methods. Step-by-step illustrations show how to create and then fit basic bodice, sleeve, skirt, dress, and trouser blocks, and how to adapt these to create patterns for original designs.
The Birth of Cool by ISBN: 9781859734650Publication Date: 2016-01-28It is broadly recognized that black style had a clear and profound influence on the history of dress in the twentieth century, with black culture and fashion having long been defined as 'cool'. Spanning the late nineteenth century to the modern day, the book draws on ready-made and homemade fashion, photographs, paintings and films, published and unpublished biographies and letters from Britain, Jamaica, South Africa, and the United States to consider how personal style statements reflect issues of racial and cultural difference.
Dress and Ideology by ISBN: 9781472558084Publication Date: 2014-12-18With contributions from a wide range of international scholars, this book presents the first scholarly analysis of dress and ideology through accessible case studies. Chapters are organized thematically and explore dress in relation to topics including nation, identity, religion, politics and utopias, across an impressive chronological reach from antiquity to the present day. Dress & Ideology will appeal to students and scholars of fashion, history, sociology, cultural studies, politics and gender studies.
Dressed for Freedom by ISBN: 9780252052941Publication Date: 2021-11-16Often condemned as a form of oppression, fashion could and did allow women to express modern gender identities and promote feminist ideas. Moving from 1890s shirtwaists through the miniskirts and unisex styles of the 1970s, Rabinovitch-Fox shows how the rise of mass media culture made fashion a vehicle for women to assert claims over their bodies, femininity, and social roles.
Dress History by ISBN: 9780857855411Publication Date: 2015-10-22With international case studies from a wide range of scholars, the volume encompasses work from a variety of historical periods from the late 18th century to the present day. Contributors examine, critique and expand the methodologies and sources used in fashion history, analyze how dress is collected, displayed and sold, and investigate clothing's meanings and uses in the practice of identity.
Dressing Global Bodies by ISBN: 9781351028738Publication Date: 2019-11-19Dressing Global Bodies addresses the complex politics of dress and fashion from a global perspective spanning four centuries, tying the early global to more contemporary times, to reveal clothing practice as a key cultural phenomenon and mechanism of defining one's identity. This collection of essays explores how garments reflect the hierarchies of value, collective and personal inclinations, religious norms and conversions.
Establishing Dress History by ISBN: 0719066395Publication Date: 2004-02-01This book, the sister publication to The Study of Dress History, is the first to detail the history of the collection, exhibition and museum interpretation of dress of all kinds. Lou Taylor argues that only when women were permitted to be curators of dress within museums did the collection of all kinds of dress find its proper place in our museums of decorative arts, social history and ethnography.
Fashion and Museums by ISBN: 9781472525246Publication Date: 2014-06-19Why is fashion "in fashion" in museums today? This timely volume brings together expert scholars and curators to examine the reasons behind fashion's popularity in the twenty-first century museum and the impact this has had on wider museum practice. Drawing on approaches from dress history, fashion studies, museum studies and curatorship, this engaging book will be key reading for students and scholars across a range of disciplines.
Fashion Spreads by ISBN: 1859732232Publication Date: 1999-05-01Exploring representations of the feminine and the masculine body - from super-vamp to super-waif, from buffalo boy to new man - this book considers the social, economic and aesthetic factors that have been instrumental in forging an identity for fashion photography since 1980.
Film, Fashion, and The 1960s by ISBN: 0253026415Publication Date: 2017-09-11A fascinating look at one of the most experimental, volatile, and influential decades, Film, Fashion, and the 1960s, examines the numerous ways in which film and fashion intersected and affected identity expression during the era.
Work! by ISBN: 9781478002147Publication Date: 2019-04-11From the haute couture runways of Paris and New York and editorial photo shoots for glossy fashion magazines to reality television, models have been ubiquitous staple of twentieth- and twenty-first-century American consumer culture. By outlining the paradox that queerness lies at the center of capitalist heteronormativity and telling the largely unknown story of queer models and photographers, Brown offers an out of the ordinary history of twentieth-century American culture and capitalism.
AI in Fashion Industry by ISBN: 9781802626346Publication Date: 2022-02-14Technology is rapidly invading the fashion industry, with emerging forms such as Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Artificial Neural Networks, Human-Robot Interface, making their way into this industry in recent years. AI in Fashion Industry discusses recent developments in fashion forecasting, developing a 'framework of AI-based fashion forecasting' and validates the framework with a qualitative case study of the world's first fashion intelligence company based in Bengaluru, India.
Designing Knitted Textiles : Machine Knitting for Fashion by ISBN: 1529423171Publication Date: 2021-08-24Designing Knitted Textiles guides readers through the fundamental skills of machine knitting, while encouraging them to be creative and experimental. It takes a contemporary approach, exploring the countless possibilities of machine-knitted textiles within multiple fashion contexts. Part 1 offers a practical introduction to the subject, with step-by-steps and detailed information on tools, stitch types, fibres and techniques. Part 2 covers colour, pattern, texture, structure and embellishment, highlighting a range of designs from traditional styles such as Fair Isle to the most intricate lace or unusual 3D effects. Finally, Part 3 delves into the construction elements needed to create garments and accessories.
Global Perspectives on Sustainable Fashion by ISBN: 9781350058132Publication Date: 2019-02-21Global Perspectives on Sustainable Fashion showcases the global fashion industry's efforts to reduce the negative impacts associated with fashion production and consumption. Illustrated throughout with infographics, photographs and diagrams of creative works, eighteen essays focus on six regions, examining sustainable fashion in the context of local, cultural and environmental concerns. Also included are 18 regional 'Spotlight' sections highlighting the differences and similarities across regions by concentrating on examples of best practice, design innovation and impact on the community.
Paris to New York by ISBN: 9780674259485Publication Date: 2021-05-04An innovative history of the fashion industry, focusing on the connections between Paris and New York, art and finance, and design and manufacturing. Fashion is one of the most dynamic industries in the world, with an annual retail value of $3 trillion and globally recognized icons like Coco Chanel, Christian Dior, and Yves Saint Laurent. How did this industry generate such economic and symbolic capital? Focusing on the roles of entrepreneurs, designers, and institutions in fashion's two most important twentieth-century centers, Paris to New York tells the history of the industry as a negotiation between art and commerce.
Putting on the dog : the animal origins of what we wear by ISBN: 9781595348654Melissa Kwasny explores the age-old relationship between humans and the animals that have provided us with our clothing: leather, wool, silk, feathers, pearls, and fur. From silkworms grown on plantations in Japan and mink farms off Denmark’s western coast to pearl beds in the Sea of Cortés, Kwasny offers firsthand accounts of traditions and manufacturing methods―aboriginal to modern―and descriptions of the marvel and miracle of the clothing itself. What emerges is a fresh look at the cultural history of fashion.
Textiles and Fashion by ISBN: 9781350094918Publication Date: 2020-07-16Textiles and Fashion explores the integration of textile design with fashion, showing the many ways designers use fibre, fabric construction and surface treatments within a garment and on the body. It begins with a brief history of textiles in fashion, showing the links with technical innovation and social developments. You'll then briefly learn about the processes of textile design, including ethical and environmental considerations, as well as fibre production, dyeing and finishing techniques, before moving on to making the most of different surface treatments and the ways in which colour and trend influence fashion and textiles.
The Trendmakers by ISBN: 9781474259798Publication Date: 2016-06-30Numerous tastemakers exist in and between fashion production and consumption, from designers and stylists to trend forecasters, buyers, and journalists. How and why are each of these players bound up in the creation and dispersion of trends? In what ways are consumers' relations to trends constructed by these individuals and organizations? This book explores the social significance of trends in the global fashion industry through interviews with these 'fashion intermediaries', offering new insights into their influential roles in the setting and shaping of trends.
50s Fashion by ISBN: 9783822849330Publication Date: 2007-07-01Relive the nostalgia of 1950s style with this compendium of clothing advertisements from the decade that brought us hoop skirts, sweater sets, cuff jeans, cat's eye glasses, and the classic James Dean jeans-and-T-shirt look. The era's most memorable trends are all here.
60s Fashion by ISBN: 9783822849354Publication Date: 2007-01-01This compendium of clothing advertisements brings back the most prevalent looks from the Swinging Sixties. The ubiquitous miniskirt is here in all its glory, along with mod fashions, Gidget/Beach Boys surfer looks, Correges space age clothing and such iconic items as the Rudi Gernreich topless bathing suit and Yves Saint-Laurent's Mondrian dress.
As Seen in Vogue by ISBN: 9780896725348Publication Date: 2005-01-15Daniel Hill employs a wealth of primary source material to document not only this symbiosis but also an evolution in American fashion, society, and culture, as evidenced by more than six hundred fashion ads that appeared in Vogue from the magazine's debut in 1893 through the next ten decades.
Chronorama by ISBN: 9798887071121Publication Date: 2023-03-21Organized by decade, the book opens with the 1910s and ends with the 1970s, and the backstories of each decade are told through the art and historical context of the times, firmly situating the prevalence of the works in the minds of the readers. An exclusive collection of full-color, vivid, exquisite, and memorable images, Chronorama is not only a landmark in the history of photography and illustrated books but also a pivotal time in the history of fashion, design, and the arts.
Fashion's Front Line by ISBN: 9781472596598Publication Date: 2015-11-19Before the live streaming of international fashion shows and the instant publication of runway images online, the collections were strictly 'invitation only'. It was the photographer, runway's unsung hero, who allowed us a glimpse of an exclusive and fascinating spectacle. A visual journey through three decades of photographing runway shows in Paris, Milan, London and New York, Fashion's Front Line showcases dazzling images taken by long-serving catwalk photographer Niall McInerney.
Fashion Drawing in Vogue by ISBN: 9780500275283Publication Date: 1997-11-17William Packer, painter, writer and art critic, has collected the very best drawings from over seventy years of Vogue for this inspired volume, which features the work of hundreds of artists, from Edouard Benito, René Bouché, and Pierre Brissaud, to Salvador Dali. Their brilliant drawings chronicle not only fashion but also, with wit and delicacy, the international social scene.
Fashion Illustration by Fashion Designers by ISBN: 9780811863360Publication Date: 2008-03-05For anyone who loves fashion, this is a dream book: a vast collection of original sketches by 50 of the world's most celebrated fashion designers. Style maven Laird Borrelli has brought together 250 stunning sketches, designs, and concepts by a galaxy of prominent designers from every international fashion capital.
Fashion of The 70s by ISBN: 9783836514323Publication Date: 2009-07-01From hippie to disco to punk, this look book relives 1970s fashion via clothing advertisements from the decade. In between its covers youll find bell-bottoms and feathered hair mingling with platform shoes, Diane Von Furstenberg wrap dresses and endless amounts of polyester (what were they thinking?).
How to Draw Vintage Fashion by ISBN: 9780500650370Publication Date: 2014-11-11So you want to draw vintage fashion like a real designer? Which iconic looks from fashion history do you find inspirational - 1950s rockabilly style, the 1960s mini-skirt, the 1970s punk princess? This drawing course for young fashionistas features interviews with top designers, including Anna Sui and Paul Smith. They talk about their favourite fashion looks, from the 1920s flapper to red-carpet Hollywood glamour. Step by step, you learn how to draw all kinds of vintage clothes and mix up influences and details to create your own exciting looks and collections.
Google Arts & Culture | We Wear Culture
With this project, the world of fashion joins more than a thousand institutions of art and history that share their collections on Google Arts & Culture, letting you explore even more of our culture in one place.
More than 180 museums, fashion institutions, schools, archives and other organizations from the fashion hubs of New York, London, Paris, Tokyo, São Paulo and elsewhere came together to put three millennia of fashion at your fingertips. You can browse 30,000 fashion pieces: try searching for hats and sort them by color or shoes by time. In 450+ exhibits, you can find stories from the ancient Silk Road to the ferocious fashion of the British punk. Or meet icons and trendsetters like Coco Chanel, Cristóbal Balenciaga, Yves Saint Laurent or Vivienne Westwood.
Podcasts
- The Invisible SeamHosted by fashion educator Kimberly Jenkins, this five-part series explores moments in history when Black Americans demanded respect, challenged norms, built community and imagined the future - all through what they wore.
- The Business of FashionA weekly audio episode presenting thoughtful editorial stories and fashion-oriented perspectives in a fresh way.
- UnravelUnravel aims to challenge the dominance of white Western designers in fashion history through interviews, analysis of onscreen costumes, and recurring series on Black, Indigenous, and queer designers.
- Dressed: The History of FashionCreated by fashion historians and friends, April Calahan and Cassidy Zachary, the podcast Dressed: The History of Fashion celebrates the who, what, when of why we wear throughout history and around the world.
- The Wardrobe CrisisLed by Clare Press, Vogue Australia's sustainability editor, this podcast explores fashion's environmental impact, emphasizing a non-judgmental approach to advocacy.
FIT | Fashion History Timeline
Fashion Institute of Technology's Fashion History Timeline is an open-access source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries that span the globe. The Timeline website offers well-researched, accessibly written entries on specific artworks, garments and films for those interested in fashion and dress history.
Browse by time period, explore the blog, read essays, and check out these additional resources:
- Fashion History Dictionary: Have a fashion term you don't know? Look it up!
- Designer Profiles: Our goal is to create profiles of important, lesser-known fashion designers. For resources on more contemporary designers, see our Zotero database.
Journals & Articles
Above: screenshot from the open source journal "Fashion Studies"
Journals
Articles
Credit: Sarah Rice for The New York Times
“You either have the choice of kind of trying to compete with fast fashion, which is almost impossible or try to offer something that fast fashion definitely cannot, that the customer recognizes as different than what she’s getting,” said Tracy Reese at her studio in Detroit, Mich.
Fashion in Detroit
- New York Times | A Detroit Designer Works From Home
- Detroit Metro Times | 20 fashion brands and designers with Detroit roots
- BLAC Detroit: 22 Black Detroit Luxury Fashion Brands To Know In 2023
- Forbes | From The Motor City To New York City: Detroit’s Young Designers Shine At New York Fashion Week
- Detroit Fashion News: Sustainable Fashion Brands in Detroit
Videos
YouTube is home to many videos on the history of fashion. Explore some recommended channels below.
- Karolina ŻebrowskaKarolina Żebrowska is a Polish writer, filmmaker, and YouTuber with focus on historical fashion and costume.
- The Couture CourtesanA dress historian based in Williamsburg, VA, sharing historical clothing research and creations.
- Gremlita (Mina Le)Mina Le's channel focuses on culture and fashion history. She is also known for her distinct personal style, which draws from vintage clothing throughout multiple decades.
- Fashion RoadmanFashion Roadman, a UK-based fashion journalist, talks about fashion history, analyzes runway shows and creates discussions around trending fashion topics.
Vintage Fashion Guild
The Vintage Fashion Guild (VFG) is an international organization dedicated to the promotion and preservation of vintage fashion. Founded in 2002 by a group of vintage sellers, it soon grew into a vintage-fashion knowledge base exceeding any other online resource. We then focused on collecting, organizing, and presenting that information-resulting in the first VFG website.
- Label Resource: A very popular resource indispensable to the vintage seller and buyer alike
- Fur Resource: A descriptive and visual aid to help identify fur, exotic skins, and plumage
- Lingerie Guide: Terms and examples of vintage lingerie
- Fashion Timeline: An historical look at fashion trends from the 1800s through the 1960s
- Fabric Resource: Fabrics and fabric terms in an A-Z glossary, how to determine fiber, and ways to search for a “mystery” fabric
- Hat Resource: A guide to vintage hat history and styles