Skip to Main Content
Undergraduate Library
Arthur Neef Law Library Purdy/Kresge Library Reuther Library Shiffman Medical Library Undergraduate Library
Menu

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Sign In

Help
Chat Email CallFAQ Staff Directory Appointments

Wayne State University Libraries Strategic Plan 2025-2028

Goals and Objectives

Goal 1: Cultivate an environment that empowers faculty and students to achieve academic success.

Cultivate an environment that empowers faculty and students to achieve academic success.

  • Revitalize a liaison program that advances academic success.
  • Identify and develop innovative data and feedback mechanisms to measure teaching and learning.
  • Leverage new and existing campus and community partnerships.

Goal 2: Strengthen, build, and establish library support for the research enterprise in collaboration with faculty, students, and researchers.

Strengthen, build, and establish library support for the research enterprise in collaboration with faculty, students, and researchers.

  • Develop strong research and scholarly collaborations with external and campus units and individuals.
  • Improve information and data literacy to enhance critical evaluation skills and effectively utilize libraries and archives resources.
  • Coordinate outreach for research activities, programs, and services across the university and other stakeholders.

Goal 3: Make resources more discoverable and accessible through enhanced collection management practices.

Make resources more discoverable and accessible through enhanced collection management practices.

  • Create a digital preservation program to safeguard access to physical, digitized, and born digital materials.
  • Explore and implement cutting edge technology.
  • Promote collections and resources.
  • Encourage use of unique and special collections.
  • Document and/or establish collection policies and improve collection management practices.
  • Prepare for the migration to a modern integrated library catalog system (ILS).

Goal 4: Optimize spaces to be more collaborative, secure, and technologically advanced.

Optimize spaces to be more collaborative, secure, and technologically advanced.

  • Develop and strengthen relationships with campus leadership who have decision-making authority.
  • Create a Space Master Plan for the Libraries.
  • Design Libraries’ physical and digital spaces so that all users feel welcomed and have a sense of belonging.

Goal 5: Develop an equitable, healthy organization that thrives on restorative communication, transparency, inclusive decision making, and accountability in an atmosphere of empathy.

Develop an equitable, healthy organization that thrives on restorative communication, transparency, inclusive decision making, and accountability in an atmosphere of empathy.

  • Strengthen and stabilize organizational leadership.
  • Create an Inclusive Excellence and Belonging Framework.
  • Explore growth and advancement opportunities for staff.
  • Establish and maintain a culture of transparent and multi-directional communication.