Skip to main content
Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

Law - European Union Research: EU Implementing Legislation

Use Lexis and Westlaw

Lexis has a Eur-Lex National Provisions Implementing Directives database. (EURCOM; NATPRV)

Westlaw has the EU-LEG database where directives are followed by information about national implementing measures.

Search the Official Journal

One of the easiest methods for finding implementing legislation is to search the Official Journal of the European Communities at the Eur-Lex website.  Once you have found an entry for a particular piece of EU legislation, information about the legislation which various EU countries have passed implementing it will appear in the "bibliographic notice" near the end of the record.  The bibliographic notice includes an option to display the "national execution measures."  An example is below:

United Kingdom:

Transposition deadline: 01/01/1990

1.     The Control of Asbestos at Work Regulations 1987 S.I. n° 2115 of 1987

Legal act: Administrative measures; Official Journal: Her Majesty's Stationery Office (HMSO)

2.     The Control of Asbestos at Work Regulations, Legal Notice No. 49 of 1997 Gibraltar Gazette n° 2,976 of 15/05/1997

Legal act: Notice; Official Journal: Gibraltar Gazette, Publication date: 15/05/1997

No link to the implementing legislation is provided, but you could then engage in country research to find the referenced material.  A good general guide to finding foreign legislation is the Foreign Law Guide Database. 

Subject Guide

Use Applications of Community Law

There is also the Application of Community Law page.  Click on “National Authorities” for a map with links to law web portals for member countries. It also contains a link to N-Lex, an experimental database for national laws of EU member nations.