Best Bets
These databases are particularly good for beginning general research in education and literacy.
Click here to view a video on how to search a library database for articles.
- ERIC - FirstSearch This link opens in a new windowCitations cover research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
- ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU has perpetual access to the Arts and Sciences I-XV, Hebrew Journals and Sustainability Collections. JSTOR invites you to explore an AI Interactive Research Tool in beta. Developed in collaboration with the academic community, this tool employs AI and other technologies to empower people to deepen and expand their research with JSTOR’s trusted corpus.
- List of Education DatabasesFor a full selections of suggested databases for Education, click the link above and select ALL.
National Data Sources
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
- NCES Common Core of DataAllows you to get a statistical profile down to the school level.
- Data.gov Open DataData, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
- Disability.govLinks to resources with statistics related to disability and education.
- Equipped for the Future Content StandardsUse the link to access Sondra Stein's work about what adults need to know in the 21st century.
- IES DatalabPost-secondary data analysis tools that can be used with data collected by the National Postsecondary Student Aid Studies (NPSAS), the Beginning Postsecondary Students Longitudinal Study (BPS), the Baccalaureate and Beyond Longitudinal Study (B&B), and the National Study of Postsecondary Faculty (NSOPF).
- Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS)Postsecondary data statistics including tuition rates, graduation rates, race/ethnicity.
- KidsCountOver 100 measures of child well-being, including the community-level data. You can also access data for any state/community in the U.S.
- National Education Association Research Reports & StatisticsResearch Reports and Statistics compiled by the NEA. Includes Rankings of the States & Estimates of School Statistics (annual).
- NCAL: National Commission on Adult LiteracyIndependent panel that studied adult education and literacy services in the US.
- NCL: National Coalition for Literacy"...advance adult education, family literacy, and English language acquisition in the U.S. by increasing public awareness for the need to increase funding and programs; promoting effective public policy; and serving as an authoritative resource on national adult education issues".
- NEGP: National Educational Goals PanelFind a list of available reports issued by the NGEP.
- Open Doors (Study Abroad)Select OPEN DOORS under RESEARCH AND PUBLICATIONS for "Information on foreign students and scholars currently in the United States and on U.S. students who sojourn abroad as part of their academic experience."
- SCANS:Secretary's Commission on Achieving Necessary SkillsUse the link to get to the What Work Requires of Schools SCANS report.
- SCANS:Secretary's Commission on Achieving Necessary SkillsUse the link to get to the Learning a Living: A Blueprint for High Performance SCANS report.
Other National Data Sources
- LINCS: Literacy information and Communication SystemThe research, programs & projects, and quick links sections are very helpful.
State Data Sources (including Michigan specific)
- Annual Reports for Detroit Public SchoolsHistorical reports on the Detroit Public School system.
- Graduate Rate Map Toolfrom edweek.org
- Graduation Rate TrendsTrack trends in graduation rates across all 50 states over a 10-year period.
- Mackinac Center for Public Policy"...nonpartisan research and educational institute dedicated to improving the quality of life for all Michigan residents by promoting sound solutions to state and local policy questions".
- Michigan Center for Educational Performance and Information (CEPI)Includes school safety, school expulsion, dual enrollment and educational technology statistics. School safety report includes statistics on bullying.
- MI School DataData about the performance of Michigan’s K-12 public schools and students. Create a report for a particular school or district, which is e-mailed to you.
- Projections of Education StatisticsFrom NCES, 20 year projections for key education statistics, including enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in K-12.
- Socioeconomic characteristics of children by Detroit subcommunityData include school enrollment, spoken language, employment status of parents, income, and poverty rates. Also includes a map of Detroit subcommunities.
- State Education Data ProfilesFrom NCES, just click to get state/national comparisons.
- Wayne County GISInteractive Maps include school district boundaries.
- Wayne State Center for Urban Studies Publications & ReportsReport titles include Arab, Chaldean, and Middle Eastern Children and Families in the Tri-County Area and Race and Ethnicity in the Tri-County Area, by Select Communities and School Districts.
Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
Universities and Literacy
Think Tanks, Foundations & Agencies
- Education Sector: Research & ReportsEducation Sector describe themselves as a nonprofit, nonpartisan, independent think tank that is committed to achieving measurable impact in education policy, by improving existing reform initiatives and by developing new, innovative solutions to our nation's most pressing education problems. Board of Directors include members of the McKenzie Group, Annie E. Casey Foundation and New Schools Venture Fund.
International Data Source
- UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural OrganizationClick on Education from the top row, then choose themes to get to literacy and adult education information.
Articles by Dr. Daphne Ntiri
- Dr. Ntiri's ArticlesJust click the link to get to a search in the database ERIC to read Dr. Ntiri's articles.
Subject Specialist Librarian
Allia McCoy
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
134 Purdy Kresge Library
Email: Allia@Wayne.edu
Email: Allia@Wayne.edu
(313) 577-8776
Subjects: Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies