Self-Paced Tutorial for Assignment
This self-paced tutorial will lead you through a detailed step-by-step process on how to find the three articles you need for your assignment for this class.
Identifying Landmark Articles
Physiology Textbooks
Winners of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.
Conduct an author search in the recommended databases to find articles written by Nobel Prize winners.
Often cited articles in review articles or in literature reviews of primary research articles.
[Review vs. Research Articles]
Highly cited articles in the biology/physiology literature, as indicated in Google Scholar.
Recommended Databases: Comparative Physiology
Web of Science
Thousands of journals covering the life sciences spectrum. The full database Biological Abstracts is included in Web of Science.
Scopus
A comprehensive scholarly database that covers the life, social, physical, and health sciences.
Google Scholar
A good option for looking up articles and seeing how many times they have been cited..
ScienceDirect
Covers more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
JSTOR
Full text access to back issues of a wide range of scholarly journals, including biological, zoology, health, and botany & plant sciences.
Empirical Articles
An empirical article reports the results of a study based on data gathered from observation or experimentation. The are written by the researchers who conducted the study. Therefore, they are primary sources.
They can be identified easily. They have the following sections: Summary/Abstract, Introduction, Methods, Results, Discussion, and References.
Examples of comparative physiology e-books
Essentials of Animal Physiology by Publication Date: 2007
Biology and Physiology of Freshwater Neotropical Fishes by Publication Date: 2020
Physiological Systems in Insects by
Physiological Systems in Insects, Fourth Edition explores why insects have become the dominant animals on the planet. Sections describe the historical investigations that have led us to our current understanding of insect systems. Integrated within a basic physiological framework are modern molecular approaches that provide a glimpse of the genetic and evolutionary frameworks that testify to the unity of life on earth. This updated edition describes advances that have occurred in our understanding of hormone action, metamorphosis, and reproduction, along with new sections on the role of microbiomes, insecticide action and its metabolism, and a chapter on genetics, genomics and epigenetic systems. The book represents a collaborative effort by two internationally known insect physiologists who have instructed graduate courses in insect physiology. As such, it is the ideal resource for entomologists and those in other fields who may require knowledge of insect systems.
Publication Date: 2022
Sturkie's Avian Physiology by Publication Date: 2022
APA Style Guides
- APA Style Guide, 7th Ed.This is the website for the 6th edition of the APA Style manual with features including:
- Excelsior OWL: APA Formatting & Style GuideThis resource offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.