Select libraries will be open on September 1 to Wayne State students, faculty and staff. See what services we're offering online and in person

BIO 4120 - Comparative Physiology

Identifying Landmark Articles

Physiology Textbooks​
[example 1] [example 2]


Winners of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Conduct an author search in the recommended databases to find articles written by Nobel Prize winners.


Often cited articles in review articles or in literature reviews of primary research articles.
[Review vs. Research Articles]


Highly cited articles in the biology/physiology literature, as indicated in Google Scholar.

* * * * *

Recommended Databases: Comparative Physiology

Web of Science
Thousands of journals covering the life sciences spectrum. The full database Biological Abstracts is included in Web of Science.

ScienceDirect
Covers more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.

Scopus
A comprehensive scholarly database that covers the life, social, physical, and health sciences.

PubMed
Free online access to full-text life sciences articles, provided by the U.S. National Institutes of Health.

JSTOR
Full text access to back issues of a wide range of scholarly journals, including biological, zoology, health, and botany & plant sciences.

Finding Specific Articles

If you are looking for a specific article and have some or most of its citation information, use our Citation Linker form to see if Wayne State has it in print or electronic format.

You can also search for the article by title in our QuickSearch or Summon search tools. Both of these search tools are available on the library's home page.

Ida Martinez's picture
Ida Martinez
Contact:
Office: 134 Purdy/Kresge Library
Phone: (313) 577-6446
Email: ida.martinez@wayne.edu

APA Style Guides