Subject Specialist Librarian
Serena Vaquilar
Contact:
134 Purdy/Kresge Library
Phone: (313) 577-8368
Email: serena.vaquilar@wayne.edu
Research consultations available by appointment. Please email for times outside of appointment scheduler (above).
Phone: (313) 577-8368
Email: serena.vaquilar@wayne.edu
Research consultations available by appointment. Please email for times outside of appointment scheduler (above).
Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
Other useful Research guides
Search Google Scholar
Searching Google Scholar through the library's connection provides you free access to our full-text articles.
Quicksearch
Summon
Finding a Specific Article
If you are looking for a specific article and you know its Title, the Publication it appeared in and other citation information, you can enter that information into our Citation Linker to see if Wayne State has a copy of it.
Starting Points
These databases are a good place to start your research.
- America: history and life This link opens in a new windowOnline version of: America: history and life. Includes full-text of hundreds of journals originally published in paper.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
- Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new windowA searchable, and ever-expanding, website that spotlights the day-to-day lives of average Americans, past and present A virtual library of thousands of diverse sources: award-winning reference works, primary documents, illustrations, maps A key resource supporting courses in American history and literature.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic and minority presses in the United States
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU has perpetual access to the Arts and Sciences I-XV, Hebrew Journals and Sustainability Collections.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
- Gale Primary Sources Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowNineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitized collection of primary sources related to the nineteenth century. Materials within the collection consist of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Four archives are available: "British Politics and Society;" "European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection;" "Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange;" and "British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture."
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowA searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
- Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new windowContains information on currently published as well as discontinued periodicals. Includes magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, conference proceedings, and electronic publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThis database is an online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
Search Journals
- Sex Roles--Periodicals This is an LC Subject search from the catalog for sex roles periodicals.
- Mass Media--Social Aspects--Periodicals This is an LC Subject search from the catalog for mass media social aspects periodicals.
- Feminism and Mass Media--Periodicals This is an LC subject search from the catalog for feminism and mass media periodicals.
- Feminist Theory--Periodicals This is an LC subject search for feminist theory periodicals.
You can also try the words women, and feminist as BOTH title and LC subject searches sorted by journals, magazines, and serials from the catalog yourself to review results. You may find overlap of titles. You can also try woman as a title search the same way and review those results as well.
List of Feminist Studies Journals
- ACRL List of Feminism JournalsHere is a list of journals titles in the field of feminism from ACRL (Association of College & Research Libraries Women and Gender Studies Section). Do not use the links provided from the webpage, you will have to search our catalog for each title. We have access to 99% of these. You will find overlap here from what is above.