Job Search Tips
-
Seeking Full-time EmploymentWayne State's Career Services offers Warriors resources and tools to gain full-time employment as a new grad. Senior year is crunch time for job searching, so consider your options and keep an open mind on employment opportunities. This guide provides link to topics and services that will assist in this process.
-
Career Fairs at Wayne StateNeed a job after graduating, an internship or part-time work while in school? Meeting employers at virtual or in-person career fairs is a great way to get a foot in the door. Find out more about career fairs at WSU here.
-
Job Search Tips for 2025: Your Detailed GuideThis blogpost, delves into the specific trends shaping the 2025 job market, drawing data of 2023. It explores the skills and experiences that are most in demand, the companies that are still hiring, and the strategies you can employ to stand out from the crowd. Whether you're a seasoned professional or a recent graduate, this blog will equip you with the knowledge and guidance you need to navigate the job market with confidence.
-
How to Find a Job as a Recent Graduate in 2025This page covers some of the best strategies for finding a job for those who are recent graduates. It includes advice on:
+ Setting expectations for your job search
+ The importance of a well-crafted resume for new grads
+ How to identify job opportunities
+ Enhancing your professionalism -
Business Career ResearchThis guide provides a wealth of link to materials designed to help business students (and others) to research their way into a new job. Of particular interest is the Researching a Potential Employer and the Preparing for an Interview sections.
Job Search Books
-
HBR Guide to Your Job Search
by
The HBR Guide to Your Job Search offers advice for navigating the job hunt. You'll discover how to define what you want in a new role, find the position you want, and pitch yourself as a standout candidate; prepare for and answer common interview questions; negotiate your job offer, from benefits to salary; and start your first day on the right foot -
Ultimate Job Search
by
Finding the right job can be a job in itself - but this one-stop-shop guide will take you through every step. Covering everything from looking for jobs online to making a fantastic impression at interview, Ultimate Job Search is everything the ambitious job hunter needs. -
How to Organize My Job Search ?: A Step-By-step Guide for Job Seekers and Those Who Support Them
by
This guide aims to give young people all the keys to build effective strategies for their job searches and successfully find jobs. The guide focuses on optimal use of digital tools (websites, applications, social networks) as well as how to successfully integrate into the new place of work. -
Get Hired Now!
by
Accelerate your job search, stand out, and land your next great opportunity In Get Hired Now!, ZipRecruiter founder and CEO Ian Siegel tells you exactly how to find a new job fast. With an insider's view of how over a million employers really make hires, Ian pulls insights from the data to give you step-by-step instructions for writing a resume that works, finding the right jobs to apply to, acing a job interview, and negotiating a job offer. Debunk the conventional wisdom Break the unconscious habits that are sabotaging your success Get hired in record time Relevant for every stage of your career and for every industry, Get Hired Now! is a one-stop resource for job seekers looking to level up, stand out, and land the job.
Online Resouces
Job Boards
Tip: Find openings on these boards, then navigate to the company’s website, and apply directly from there, if possible.
Internships
Seek out internships and co-op opportunities to gain hands-on experience in your desired field.
- Visit a virtual or in-person Career fair to connect with employers looking to hire.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) provides comprehensive career information through the Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH), offering details on various occupations, work environment, education, and job outlook.
Soft Skills
According to the U.S. Department of Labor, employers view "soft" skills as even more important than the "R's" (reading, writing, and arithmetic) for work readiness.
Adapted from Skills to Pay the Bills: Mastering Soft Skills for Workplace Success
Professional Organizations
Search professional organizations to find information, jobs, and more about its respective industry.
LinkedIn Groups
LinkedIn groups provide a place for professionals in the same industry or with similar interests to share their insights and experiences, ask for guidance, and build valuable connections.
You can find groups to join by searching at the top of your homepage or viewing the groups you’ve already joined. You can also create a new group focused on a specific topic or industry.
Once you're a group member, you can join conversations, find answers, and send message requests to other group members.
Government Work
Created in February 2017 to provide one entry point into the workforce system for jobseekers and employers alike, Detroit at Work provides information on in-demand career pathways and training programs that are aligned to jobs in growing career sectors in healthcare, information technology, manufacturing, construction and transportation, energy and utilities, and small business.
See also: