Databases for Scholarly Articles
Finding Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Articles--start with Summon
You can search almost all of the WSU Library's full-text resources at the same time using Summon. Watch this short video to get started.Summon Video Tutorial
Use Summon to locate books, articles, and more available through the Wayne State library system. The link to Summon is available from the library home page, upper right.
Disciplinary Databases
Sometimes, it is helpful to look for articles in a disciplinary database, which focus on a particular field of study. This looks at a smaller, more focused university of information.
- America: history and life This link opens in a new windowCovers topics related to North American history, and allows searching by dates of interest.
- Urban studies abstracts This link opens in a new windowArticles related to urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowArticles on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, as well as abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete contains journal articles from all disciplines of business.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of journal articles appearing in political science journals from 1975 to the present.
- Education Databases (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new windowFor research in the field of Education, use this resource to search the ERIC, Health and Psychosocial Instruments, Teacher Reference Center, and Education Source databases simultaneously.
- Research GuidesDon't see your discipline or field of study reflected in the above list? Find a Subject Guide for your discipline for resource recommendations.
Newspapers
Newspapers can be used to find information on and reactions to events in Detroit's history.
- Detroit News Historical and Current Collection This link opens in a new windowCovers 1873 to the present.
Detroit Free Press:
- Detroit Free Press (1999-Present) This link opens in a new window
- Detroit Free Press Backfile (1923-1999) This link opens in a new window
- Detroit Free Press Historical Full-Text (1831-1922) This link opens in a new window
- Michigan Chronicle 1936-2010A weekly newspaper serving Michigan's African-American community; coverage after 2010 is available via Ethnic NewsWatch or ProQuest Central.
- ProQuest Current & Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCurrent issues of major newspapers and access to historical newspapers from around the country.
- Readex Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowDiscover and explore centuries of primary sources: books, pamphlets, newspapers, and government documents. Search the African-American Newspapers 1827-1998, Hispanic-American Newspaper, Native-American Tribal Histories Series 1-4 and the Black Life in America Series 1&2.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic and minority presses in the United States
More newspaper resources are available via the guide below:
Streaming Media and Images (Video, audio, and more)
- Streaming Media@WayneThis library guide to streaming media includes deep links into the audio, video, and image collections in our streaming media platforms and subject databases. Organized by discipline.
Do you need help locating multimedia resources? Contact Veronica Bielat, the Honors College Librarian.
Primary Sources & Primary Source Collections
Subscription Collections
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowAn online collection on African American life, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.
- Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present.
- Gale Primary Sources Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowA digitized collection of primary sources related to the nineteenth century including books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps, and more.
- Digital Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new windowDigital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970. Michigan Only. The Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire maps for over 100 years, repeatedly mapping towns and cities as they changed. The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape, construction materials, height, building use, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, house numbers, and more for cities mapped in the state of Michigan.
- ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials including letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and more.
Open Collections
- Detroit Public Library Digital CollectionsSearchable Digital Collections from the Detroit Public Library, including images and documents.
- The Virtual Motor City CollectionHistorical images from the Detroit News, most of which fall between 1900 and 1980.
- Michigan MemoriesA portal for digital images, documents, and more from cultural institutions throughout Michigan.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaA nationwide portal providing access to digital images, text, and more from cultural institutions across the United States.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsMillions of digitized documents and objects from the Library of Congress.
Statistics and Demographics
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowVisualize and interact with data, create maps and charts, and explore data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, crime, and more.
- Roper iPoll This link opens in a new windowA data source for US public opinion questions and answers from polls on important issues facing the country. Coverage from 1935 to present. The Polling results include academic, commercial and media (news) survey organizations.
- Data Driven DetroitD3 offers "a comprehensive data system that includes current and historic demographic, socioeconomic, educational, environmental, and other indicators."
- SEMCOG Data and MapsData and maps from the Southeast Michigan Council of Governments.
- FBI Uniform Crime Reports - most current (2019)2019 is the most recent year for which the FBI has made crime statistics available.
State of Michigan Policy Information
Search for state agencies and organizations that deal with the problem or issue. Look for "Resources" or "News" sections, which may feature reports profiling the problem. Below are some examples:
Below are links to for information on policies and proposals at the state level:
- Michigan Department of EGLE Laws & RulesEnvironmental laws, rules and pending rules from the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy.
- Michigan Legislative SearchSearch for laws and proposed bills on this legislative website.
- Citizen's Research Council of MichiganThe CRCM provides factual, non-partisan information and analysis on state and local government issues.
Think Tanks, Policy Organizations, and Advocacy Groups
- CRS reports This link opens in a new windowThe Congressional Research Service (CRS) provides research and analysis to both the House and Senate, and is not affiliated with any political party.
Lists of think tanks
Advocacy group directories
Search for policy documents
Evaluating the advocate
- Global Go To Think Tank Index Report 2019Think Tank evaluation and ranking from the Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program from the University of Pennsylvania. Past reports are available back to 2008.