Subject Specialist Librarian
Monique Oldfield
Contact:
Research consultation available by appointment.
134 Purdy/Kresge Library
313-577-5037 (phone)
313-577-3436 (FAX)
134 Purdy/Kresge Library
313-577-5037 (phone)
313-577-3436 (FAX)
NASW Code of Ethics
- NASW Code of Ethics
Read the NASW Code of Ethics online.
The NASW Code of Ethics is intended to serve as a guide to the everyday professional conduct of social workers.
Catalog Search
Article Databases: Find articles using theory
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,406 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1963 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Reference works that support psychodynamic theories
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology by Call Number: 4 volume e-bookISBN: 9780470170243Publication Date: 2010 (4th Ed.)Complete coverage of DSM disorders; coverage of every major area of psychology, including biological and neurological discoveries.
Help with APA Style
The School of Social Work uses the APA 6th Edition style manual for paper and citation formatting.
- Guide to Citing References Using APA StyleExamples of citations in APA style for articles, books, book chapters, and more
- Basics of APA StyleFrom the APA website, a series of short tutorials that explain how to format your paper, references, in-text citations and more in APA style.
- APA ExposedA set of tutorials from Harvard's Graduate School of Education which demonstrate how and why to use APA style, includes examples of in-text citations.
- Purdue OWL: APA Formatting & Style GuideThis resource offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Citation Style Chart:A handy side-by-side comparison of APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.