Education and Treatment of Children
Each group contains a link to a peer reviewed scholarly journal and a peer reviewed practitioner publication.
For the group you have been assigned, open each of the links and review the publications. Answer the following questions:
1. Which of the publications do you believe is scholarly, and which is practitioner?
2. What are two substantive similarities between the publications (if you need to refresh, watch the Scholarly vs. Popular video for some ideas).
3. What are two substantive differences between the publications (if you need to refresh, watch the Scholarly vs. Popular video for some ideas).
4. Is there a professional organization affiliated with your publication? If yes, who are they?
Summon is a library discovery search engine. Use Summon to search almost all of the library's full-text article holdings, plus books and ebooks, at one time.
Search here for articles, books, and more.
Subject Specific Database: ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Specialized Database: GALE Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This database provides access to scholarly, practitioner and popular articles, video, images, statistics and more, and specializes in covering content related controversial topics.
You can download a blank copy of the worksheets used in class.
Some keywords to consider when searching:
|"Community Attitudes"||"School Community Relationship"||Poverty|
|"Community Characteristics"||"Educational Quality"||"Low Income"|
|"Social Characteristics"||"Access to Education"||Socioeconomic|
|"Social Problems"||"Economic Factors"||"Racial Differences"|
|"Social Justice"||"Economically Disadvantaged"||"At Risk"|
Look for the in the databases or a link that says Full Text@Wayne to access Full-Text, or order items that are not available in full text for electronic delivery to your WSU e-mail address