Mission Statement:
The Wayne State University Libraries advance scholarship, student learning and faculty innovation through continuous development of a library that serves as a national model for a research University with an urban teaching and service mission.
The Access Services Area advances student success by providing access to physical and digital collections from internal and external sources. The Access Services Area helps provide study space and technology resources that contribute to achievement in academic success for students.
The Library Website Area advances the academic success and personal growth of undergraduate, graduate, and professional by providing them with a website containing information about library services and resources; tools for identifying information sources across all disciplines studied at the university; tools for retrieving digital books, articles, and other resources; and the means to request resources and services from the University Libraries.
The Library Instruction Area advances the academic success and intellectual growth of undergraduate, graduate, and professional students by assisting them in developing the skills necessary to locate, evaluate, and use information. The Reference/Research Consultation Area, through in-person and digital interactions, advances the academic success and intellectual growth of undergraduate, graduate, and professional students through quality answers to their research questions and by offering guidance in developing their information-finding skills.
The Library Collections Area Libraries advances the academic success and personal growth of undergraduate, graduate, and professional students by providing them with information resources serials, journals, books, and media in physical and digital formats necessary for such advancement.
The Library Publishing Area promotes open scholarly communication through the production, delivery, and preservation of digital research projects, and provides undergraduate, graduate, and professional students with a platform for presenting their scholarly research.
Learning and Research Support: Evaluate Information Sources*
First-year undergraduate students in FYS1010 will report an increase in confidence in applying strategies to evaluate information sources for reliability and relevance.
In the evaluation following the completion of the Information and Media Literacy Module, 75% of the respondents who identified in Question 2 as being “Not knowledgeable at all” or “Slightly knowledgeable” about evaluating information they have found on the internet will identify as being more knowledgeable in Question 4 by selecting moderately, very or extremely.
Learning and Research Support: Locating Information for Assignments*
Provide first-year undergraduate students in FYS 1010 with the instruction necessary to locate information for their assignments and studies.
In the evaluation following the completion of the Information and Media Literacy Module, 75% of the respondents will identify in Question 3 at least 3 resources or services they will likely use to locate information sources for their papers and projects.
Library Collection Development: Books for Learning and Growth*
Provide students with books that contribute to learning and growth.
On the WSU Library Resources and Access Services Survey Winter 2021, 75% of students surveyed, who identify themselves as having used ebooks, will rate their satisfaction with ebooks “satisfied” or “very satisfied” on the 5-point Likert scale.
Library Collection Development: Audiovisual Media for Learning and Growth*
Provide students with the audiovisual media that contribute to learning and growth.
On the WSU Library Resources and Access Services Survey Winter 2021, 75% of students surveyed, who identify themselves as having used audiovisual media, will rate their satisfaction with audiovisual media “satisfied” or “very satisfied” on the 5-point Likert scale.
Library Collection Development: Online Articles for Learning and Growth*
Provide students with the Online Articles (digital journals/articles) that contribute to learning and growth.
On the WSU Library Resources and Access Services Survey Winter 2021, 75% of students surveyed, who identify themselves as having used Online Articles, will rate their satisfaction with digital journals “satisfied” or “very satisfied” on the 5-point Likert scale.
Access Services: Circulation Services for Learning and Growth*
Provide students with circulation services that contribute to learning and growth.
On the WSU Library Resources and Access Services Survey Winter 2021, 75% of students surveyed, who identify themselves as having used Circulation Services, will rate their satisfaction with circulation services “satisfied” or “very satisfied” on the 5-point Likert scale.
Access Services: Reserve Services for Learning and Growth*
Provide students with reserve services that contribute to learning and growth.
On the WSU Library Resources and Access Services Survey Winter 2021, 75% of students surveyed, who identify themselves as having used Course Reserve Services, will rate their satisfaction with reserve services “satisfied” or “very satisfied” on the 5-point Likert scale.
Access Services: Interlibrary Loan for Learning and Growth*
Provide interlibrary loan/document delivery services that contribute to learning and growth.
On the WSU Library Resources and Access Services Survey Winter 2021, 75% of students surveyed, who identify themselves as having used Interlibrary Loan, will rate their satisfaction with reserve services “satisfied” or “very satisfied” on the 5-point Likert scale.
The University Libraries conducted a survey of undergraduate and graduate /professional students from April 19 through May 3, 2022. This survey is a revised version of a survey we used as a method during the 2018-2019 and 2020-2021 academic years. Its questions query student satisfaction with a broader range of resources and services than we are formally assessing in 2021-2022. Our focus for this assessment plan will be on responses related to our collections and services for students. The collection questions focus on student satisfaction with books, online articles, library databases, and audiovisual media,. The questions on student satisfaction with services focus on circulation, reserves, and interlibrary loan / document delivery services.
The other data collected by the survey will be used in less formal assessment and planning. It should also contribute to the development of outcomes in the coming year.
This method will supply data for Outcomes X, X, X, X, XX, and XX.
See “Draft WSU Library Resources and Services Student Survey” below
In consultation with the University Libraries Assessment Committee, we decided not to set target outcomes/goals for the Winter 2022 WSU Library Services and Resources Survey.
In deciding not to set target outcomes/goals for the Winter 2022 WSU Library Services and Resources Survey, the University Libraries Assessment Committee began a vigorous discussion of how we will design future assessment instruments to gather actionable data. The work to actually create such instruments will be carried out during the Fall 2022 semester. This does not directly impact our services to students; it does, however, move our assessment efforts in the direction that will have such impact.
During the Fall 2022 Semester, the University Libraries Assessment Committee will create assessment instruments to capture more actionable data. The instruments will be used for assessment in the Winter 2023 Semester.
In winter 2022, the FYS 1010 sections of the Wayne Experience (WE) General Education requirement had an integrated video training that introduces students to information evaluation. This segment is designed to be completed in 50 minutes (the length of a class session for this course). It aligns with the content the University Libraries focused on previously--introducing these concepts and how the library enhances access, introduction to Summon, database searching and Research Guides.
A brief (five-question) evaluation follows this training. We will use three of those questions in evaluating two of our outcomes: Evaluation of Information Sources and Locating Information for Assignments.
This method will supply data for Outcomes 2 and 3.
We had 191responses. All responses were complete.
n=191
Learning Outcome 2: Evaluation of Information Sources
18 responded to Question 2, "Before you took this FYS1010 course, how knowledgeable did you feel about evaluating information you found on the internet for reliability and credibility", with "Not knowledgeable at all" or "Slightly knowledgeable."
Of those 18 respondents, 15 responded to Question 4, "Now that you have completed the Information and Media Literacy module, how knowledgeable do you feel you are about evaluating information you find on the internet for reliability and credibility," with "Moderately knowledgeable," "Very knowledgeable," or "Extremely knowledgeable."
(1 not knowledgeable, 2 slightly, 7 moderately, 7 very, 1 extremely)
83.3% gave the desired response of moderately, very, or extremely knowledgeable. The measure exceeded the 75% response that indicates a successful achievement of Outcome 2, Evaluation of Information Sources.
Learning Outcome 3: Locating Information for Assignment
107 of the 191 responses named three or more resources or services.
56.0% gave the desired response. The measure falls below the 75% response that indicates a successful achievement of Outcome 3, Locating Information for Assignments.
These are the numbers of times each resource or service was named:
|
Look at an author’s credentials to better evaluate a source for credibility |
134 |
|
Use a website like Media Bias FactCheck to investigate a source |
101 |
|
Look for information in new or different places (including library databases) |
116 |
|
Use a library research guide to help get started looking for information |
103 |
|
Ask for help using the libraries using their 24X7 chat |
46 |
In consultation with the University Libraries Assessment Committee, we decided not to formulate an action plan based on the Information and Media Literacy Module Evaluation. In deciding not to formulate an action plan, the University Libraries Assessment Committee began a vigorous discussion of how we will design future assessment instruments to gather actionable data. The work to create such instruments will be carried out during the Fall 2022 Semester. This does not directly impact our services to students; it does, however, move our assessment efforts in the direction that will have such impact.
During the Fall 2022 Semester, the University Libraries Assessment Committee will create assessment instruments to capture more actionable data. The instruments will be used for assessment in the Winter 2023 Semester