Mission Statement:

The Wayne State University Libraries advance scholarship, student learning and faculty innovation through continuous development of a library that serves as a national model for a research University with an urban teaching and service mission.

• ACCESS SERVICES: MISSION

The Access Services Area advances student success by providing access to physical and digital collections from internal and external sources. The Access Services Area helps provide study space and technology resources that contribute to achievement in academic success for students.

• DISCOVERY SERVICES: MISSION

The Library Website Area advances the academic success and personal growth of undergraduate, graduate, and professional by providing them with a website containing information about library services and resources; tools for identifying information sources across all disciplines studied at the university; tools for retrieving digital books, articles, and other resources; and the means to request resources and services from the University Libraries.

• LEARNING AND RESEARCH SUPPORT: MISSION

The Library Instruction Area advances the academic success and intellectual growth of undergraduate, graduate, and professional students by assisting them in developing the skills necessary to locate, evaluate, and use information. The Reference/Research Consultation Area, through in-person and digital interactions, advances the academic success and intellectual growth of undergraduate, graduate, and professional students through quality answers to their research questions and by offering guidance in developing their information-finding skills.

• LIBRARY COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT: MISSION

The Library Collections Area Libraries advances the academic success and personal growth of undergraduate, graduate, and professional students by providing them with information resources serials, journals, books, and media in physical and digital formats necessary for such advancement.

• LIBRARY PUBLISHING AREA: MISSION

The Library Publishing Area promotes open scholarly communication through the production, delivery, and preservation of digital research projects, and provides undergraduate, graduate, and professional students with a platform for presenting their scholarly research.

• REUTHER LIBRARY & ARCHIVE OF LABOR AND URBAN AFFAIRS: MISSION

Two assessments of learning outcomes are required annually. The University Libraries conducted the following assessments:

2. Learning and Research Support: Evaluate Information Sources* 

First-year undergraduate students in FYS1010 will report an increase in confidence in applying strategies to evaluate information sources for reliability and relevance. 

In the evaluation following the completion of the Information and Media Literacy Module, 75% of the respondents who identified in Question 2 as being “Not knowledgeable at all” or “Slightly knowledgeable” about evaluating information they have found on the internet will identify as being more knowledgeable in Question 4 by selecting moderately, very or extremely. 

3. Learning and Research Support: Locating Information for Assignments* 

Provide first-year undergraduate students in FYS 1010 with the instruction necessary to locate information for their assignments and studies. 

In the evaluation following the completion of the Information and Media Literacy Module, 75% of the respondents will identify in Question 3 at least 3 resources or services they will likely use to locate information sources for their papers and projects.  

6. Library Collection Development: Books for Learning and Growth* 

Provide students with books that contribute to learning and growth. 

On the WSU Library Resources and Access Services Survey Winter 2021, 75% of students surveyed, who identify themselves as having used ebooks, will rate their satisfaction with ebooks “satisfied” or “very satisfied” on the 5-point Likert scale. 

7. Library Collection Development: Audiovisual Media for Learning and Growth* 

Provide students with the audiovisual media that contribute to learning and growth. 

On the WSU Library Resources and Access Services Survey Winter 2021, 75% of students surveyed, who identify themselves as having used audiovisual media, will rate their satisfaction with audiovisual media “satisfied” or “very satisfied” on the 5-point Likert scale.  

8. Library Collection Development: Online Articles for Learning and Growth* 

Provide students with the Online Articles (digital journals/articles) that contribute to learning and growth. 

On the WSU Library Resources and Access Services Survey Winter 2021, 75% of students surveyed, who identify themselves as having used Online Articles, will rate their satisfaction with digital journals “satisfied” or “very satisfied” on the 5-point Likert scale. 

9. Access Services: Circulation Services for Learning and Growth* 

Provide students with circulation services that contribute to learning and growth. 

On the WSU Library Resources and Access Services Survey Winter 2021,  75% of students surveyed, who identify themselves as having used Circulation Services, will rate their satisfaction with circulation services “satisfied” or “very satisfied” on the 5-point Likert scale.

10. Access Services: Reserve Services for Learning and Growth* 

Provide students with reserve services that contribute to learning and growth. 

On the WSU Library Resources and Access Services Survey Winter 2021,  75% of students surveyed, who identify themselves as having used Course Reserve Services, will rate their satisfaction with reserve services “satisfied” or “very satisfied” on the 5-point Likert scale. 

11. Access Services: Interlibrary Loan for Learning and Growth* 

Provide interlibrary loan/document delivery services that contribute to learning and growth. 

On the WSU Library Resources and Access Services Survey Winter 2021,  75% of students surveyed, who identify themselves as having used Interlibrary Loan, will rate their satisfaction with reserve services “satisfied” or “very satisfied” on the 5-point Likert scale. 

Survey and Responses, Winter 2021 

The University Libraries conducted a survey of undergraduate students from April  13 through May 3, 2021. This survey is a reworked version of the survey we used as a method during the 2018-2019 academic year. Its questions query student use and satisfaction with a broader range of resources and services than we are formally assessing in 2020-2021. Our focus for this assessment plan will be on responses related to our collections and access services. The collection questions focus on undergraduate student satisfaction with books, audiovisual media, and online articles. The questions on undergraduate student satisfaction with access serves focus on circulation, reserves, and interlibrary loan/document delivery services.

The other data collected by the survey will be used in less formal assessment and planning. It should also contribute to the development of outcomes in the coming year.

This method will supply data for Outcomes 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11.

Results

The Survey was administered from April 13 through May 3, 2021 through the campus Qualtrics subscription.

In total Qualtrics recorded 493 responses. Of those responses, 7 record use of the survey during preview and another 132 were so incomplete they were of no value. In total, there were 354 responses complete enough for analysis.

There were, however, 93 responses submitted by students in graduate and professional school.

There are, therefore, 261 responses by undergraduate students providing usable data. About 34 of those responses (13%) are incomplete often lacking responses to the questions on satisfaction. The number of responses being analyzed will, therefore, vary from question to question.

Learning Outcome 6: Books for Learning and Growth

143 students identified themselves as having used ebooks. Of those respondents, 63 responded that they were "satisfied" and 52 that they were "very satisfied." The 115 "satisfied" or "very satisfied" respondents constitute 80.4% of the respondents. The measure exceeds the 75% response that indicates a successful achievement of Outcome 6, Satisfaction with Books for Learning and Growth.

Learning Outcome 7: Audiovisual Media for Learning and Growth

65 students identified themselves as having used audiovisual media. Of those respondents, 24 responded that they were "satisfied" and 15 that they were "very satisfied." The 39 "satisfied" or "very satisfied" respondents constitute 60.0% of the respondents. This measure falls below the 75% response that would indicate a successful achievement of Outcome 7, Audiovisual Media for Learning and Growth.

Learning Outcome 8: Online Articles for Learning and Growth.

201 students identified themselves as having used online articles. Of those respondents, 78 responded that they were "satisfied" and 95 that they were "very satisfied." The 173 "satisfied" or "very satisfied" respondents constitute 86.1% of the respondents. This measure exceeds the 75% response that indicates a successful achievement of Outcome 8, Online Articles for Learning and Growth.

Outcome 9: Circulation Services for Learning and Growth

74 students identified themselves as having used circulation services. Of those respondents, 30 responded that they were "satisfied" and 23 that they were "very satisfied." The 53 "satisfied" or "very satisfied" respondents constitute 71.6% of the respondents. This measure falls below the 75% response that would indicate a successful achievement of Outcome 9: Circulation Services for Learning and Growth.

Outcome 10: Reserve Services for Learning and Growth

45 students identified themselves as having used reserve services. Of those respondents, 8 responded that they were "satisfied" and 15 that they were "very satisfied." The 23 "satisfied" or "very satisfied" respondents constitute 51.1% of the respondents. This measure falls below the 75% response that would indicate a successful achievement of Outcome 10: Reserve Services for Learning and Growth.

Outcome 11: Interlibrary Loan Services for Learning and Growth

99 students identified themselves as having used interlibrary loan services. Of those respondents, 30 responded that they were "satisfied" and 41 that they were "very satisfied." The 71 "satisfied" or "very satisfied" respondents constitute 71.7% of the respondents. This measure falls below the 75% response that would indicate a successful achievement of Outcome 11: Interlibrary Loan Services for Learning and Growth.

Method

In Winter 2021, the FYS 1010 sections of the Wayne Experience (WE) General Education requirement had an integrated video training that introduces students to information evaluation. This segment is designed to be completed in 50 minutes (the length of a class session for this course). It aligns with the content the University Libraries focused on previously--introducing these concepts and how the library enhances access, introduction to Summon, database searching and Research Guides.

A brief (five-question) evaluation follows this training. We will use three of those questions in evaluating two of our outcomes: Evaluation of Information Sources and Locating Information for Assignments.

This method will supply data for Outcomes 2 and 3.

Results

We had 218 responses/215 were complete

(3 had no data at all recorded)

n=215

Learning Outcome 2: Evaluation of Information Sources

22 responded to Question 2, "Before you took this FYS1010 course, how knowledgeable dud you feel about evaluating information you found on the internet for reliability and credibility", with "Not knowledgeable at all" or "Slightly knowledgeable."

Of those 22 respondents, 20 responded to Question 4, "Now that you have completed the Information and Media Literacy module, how knowledgeable do you feel you are about evaluating information you find on the internet for reliability and credibility," with "Moderately knowledgeable," "Very knowledgeable," or "Extremely knowledgeable."  

(1 not knowledgeable, 1 slightly, 10 moderately, 9 very, 1 extremely)

90% gave the desired response of moderately, very, or extremely knowledgeable. The measure exceeded the 75% response that indicates a successful achievement of Outcome 2, Evaluation of Information Sources.

Learning Outcome 3: Locating Information for Assignment

126 of the 215 responses named three or more resources or services.

58.6% gave the desired response. The measure falls below the 75% response that indicates a successful achievement of Outcome 3, Locating Information for Assignments.