What is the Walter P. Reuther Library and Archives?
The Wayne State University Walter P. Reuther Library is a repository for a variety of collections dealing with the history of organized labor and related histories. This includes extensive collections dealing with the history and inner workings of labor organizations that include the United Auto Workers, United Farm Workers, and the AFL-CIO. These materials are not only concerned with the labor organizations themselves but the broader conditions of labor and social conditions in Detroit specifically and the United States as a whole. Additionally, the materials also show how labor history is intertwined with other histories, such as women's history and African American history.
Following the Reuther Library on Social Media
- Walter P. Reuther Library YouTube Channel
This link opens in a new window
Explore the Reuther Library's YouTube channel for helpful tips on researching and more! - Walter P. Reuther Library Twitter Account
This link opens in a new window
Walter P. Reuther Library Hosted Websites
- Michigan Labor History SocietyA website offering resources on labor history specific to the state of Michigan
- Monroe County Labor History MuseumExplore the website of the only dedicated labor history museum in Michigan
Sample Collections
- Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Detroit Video CollectionThis collection of videos includes many JFMD activities and special events from the 1980s through 2013 including annual meetings, board of governors meetings, promotional pieces and interviews.
- Michigan AFL-CIO RecordsThis collection, covering 1930-1981, includes records of labor issues such as women's rights, federal wage and hours legislation, and the original merger between the AFL and the CIO
- Nat Ganley PapersMr. Ganley was active in the early days of the UAW and served in several capacities with Local 155, the tool and die local for the east side of Detroit. He was also active in the Communist Party of Michigan, serving for a time as editor of the Michigan Worker. The collection also has about 60 books and over 600 pamphlets on socialism and communism.
- UFW Michigan Boycott RecordsThis collection deals with the Michigan chapter of United Farm Workers and its participation in the 1960s grape boycott. It includes discussion of the living conditions of Michigan farm workers and correspondence between the UFW and other entities, such as universities and the UAW.
- Victor Reuther PapersCorrespondence, speeches, and clippings related to organizing auto workers in Indiana and to personnel changes in the UAW.
Kristen Chinery
Contact the Reference Archivist
To view physical collections, you can contact reference archivist Kristen Chinery at ac9538@wayne.edu to set up an appointment. Happy researching!
Other Contact Information
For more general reference questions, try reutherreference@wayne.edu. If neither of these email addresses are what you are looking for, the complete staff directory is available here.